Press

GS Bavaria closes seven-figure seed round for scaling tungsten particles as sustainable additive in composites

September 28, 2022

GS Bavaria aims to support the composites industry on its way to sustainability. The startup enables users to dramatically improve mechanical properties and resource use through biologically produced tungsten-based additives. With the seven-figure financing round, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and with the participation of renowned business angels, GS Bavaria is setting up industrial production of the nanomaterials and investing in sales and R&D.


Nürnberg, 27.09.2022- GS Bavaria uses hard metal scrap to produce tungsten and tungsten carbide in the form of nanoparticles with the help of bacteria. The process can later be used for other metals as well. The nanopowders of tungsten, tungsten carbide and – after oxidation – also tungsten oxide are made available to the plastics industry in the form of additives as masterbatches. By adding small amounts of nanomaterial, mechanical properties of composites such as strength, toughness and abrasion can be drastically improved. As a result, up to 30% of material can be saved in the production of composite components.

Both due to its production with the help of bacteria and the very significant material savings, and finally due to the recyclability of the modified composites, the tungsten-based nanomaterials are extremely sustainable. They therefore contribute to greatly improved resource efficiency and reduced carbon footprint. Other material-improving properties such as UV resistance, ionizing radiation absorption and thermal properties are added.

The startup was founded in 2020 in Nürnberg by Sergej Schmitke, who has already been working intensively on the production and application of nanomaterials since 2016. This was preceded by many years of research and development work. The current team combines many years of experience in sales to the composite industry with profound R&D, production, and management know-how.

Financing round enables establishment of production
GS Bavaria has developed the production of nanopowders and masterbatches on a laboratory scale over many years. Part of the investment will enable the establishment of industrial production in the Nuremberg area and the development of further products.

Tungsten-containing nanopowders – that’s our specialty. And a speciality to boot. Because we obtain our nanopowders from hard metal scrap in a unique recycling process. Based on these powders, we develop functional additives in the form of masterbatches, which you can use to drastically influence the mechanical, chemical or thermal properties of your plastics. Without the compromises that come with using conventional additives.

Sergej Schmitke, Founder at GS Bavaria

The addition of tungsten particles significantly improves the properties of polymer composites relevant to all aspects of our daily lives from drinking water to transportation. GS Bavaria was the first in the world to develop a sustainable and scalable process to produce tungsten particles. We look forward to supporting the management team in this exciting journey.

Dr. Maximilian Bock, Investment Mananger at HTGF

Visuals and background information
Detailed background information on technology, products and applications can be found at www.gs-bavaria.com.

GS-Bavaria-Foto-Team
Team of GS Bavaria – ©GS Bavaria

About GS Bavaria
GS Bavaria is the world’s first supplier of nano-sized carbide powders on an industrial scale. The production of the nanomaterials is extremely cost-efficient, sustainable and with minimal energy consumption due to the revolutionary bioleaching extraction process for tungsten, tungsten carbide and other metals. Nano-additives to produce high-performance nanocomposites are derived from the nanomaterials.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
HighTech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 670 start-ups since 2005. With the start of HTGF IV, more than EUR 400 million in fund volume will be added in the fall of 2022. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 160 companies.

Fund Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and many companies from a wide range of industries.

Press Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Maximilian Bock, Investment Manager
T.: +49 28 82300 124
m.bock@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs closes a seven-figure seed investment round to build energy efficient lights designed for horticulture

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Crocus Labs' vision is to spark life into spaces. The team achieves this by producing the most energy-efficient full-light spectrum lighting solutions that enable a sustainable future for vertical farms and greenhouses. With the seven-figure investment round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Brandenburg Kapital, the company will focus on R&D and bring the next generation of luminaires to the market. The round is also supported by BACB Bet. GmbH, the invest
 
Press
ESy-Labs Founders
17. November 2022

ESy-Labs receives seed funding to advance its automated and AI-powered platform for sustainable electrosynthesis processes

Regensburg, November 17th 2022 –In a seed financing round, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) invests EUR 600,000 in ESy-Labs' proprietary platform technology. The fresh capital raised will be used to expand the technical equipment and employ additional staff to further advance the ESy screening technology. Through the electrosynthesis of organic fine chemicals and electrolytic recycling processes it is possible to develop significantly more efficient and also new processes to make bett
 
Blog
17. November 2022

FundaMental Pharma launches with EUR 10 million in Seed financing led by BGV and Thuja Capital to advance a First-in-Class neuroprotectant

Heidelberg, Germany – 17 November 2022 – FundaMental Pharma GmbH (“FundaMental”), a preclinical neuroscience company spun out of Heidelberg University, today announces that it has launched with EUR 10 million in seed financing led by BioGeneration Ventures (BGV) and Thuja Capital, with participation from other investors, including coparion and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF). Built on the pioneering research of Professor Hilmar Bading and Dr. Jing Yan published in Science[1],

Presse

GS Bavaria schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde für die Skalierung von Wolframpartikeln als nachhaltiges Additiv in Verbundwerkstoffen ab

28. September 2022

GS Bavaria hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Industrie der Kompositwerkstoffe auf ihrem Weg zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu unterstützen. Das Startup ermöglicht es Anwendern, insbesondere mechanische Eigenschaften und Ressourceneinsatz durch die Verwendung von biologisch erzeugten Wolfram-basierten Additiven drastisch zu verbessern. Mit der siebenstelligen Finanzierungsrunde, angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und unter Beteiligung renommierter Business Angels, baut GS Bavaria die industrielle Produktion der Nanomaterialien auf und investiert in Vertrieb und R&D.


Nürnberg, 26.09.2022 -GS Bavaria nutzt Hartmetallschrott, um daraus mit Hilfe von Bakterien Wolfram und Wolframcarbid in Form von Nanopartikeln zu erzeugen. Das Verfahren kann später auch für weitere Metalle genutzt werden. Die Nanopulver aus Wolfram, Wolframcarbid und – nach Oxidation – auch Wolframoxid werden der Kunststoffindustrie in Form von Additiven (Masterbatches) zur Verfügung gestellt. Durch Zugabe geringer Mengen von Nanomaterial können mechanische Eigenschaften von Kompositen wie Festigkeit, Zähigkeit und Abrieb drastisch verbessert werden. Dadurch können bei der Produktion von Kompositbauteilen bis zu 30% Material eingespart werden.

Sowohl durch seine Herstellung mit Hilfe von Bakterien als auch durch die sehr signifikanten Materialeinsparungen und nicht zuletzt durch die Recyclebarkeit der modifizierten Komposite, sind die Wolfram-basierten Nanomaterialen äußerst nachhaltig. Sie tragen daher zu stark verbesserter Ressourceneffizienz und reduziertem CO2-Fußabdruck bei. Weitere materialverbessernde Eigenschaften wie UV-Beständigkeit, Absorption ionisierender Strahlung und thermische Eigenschaften kommen hinzu.

Das Startup wurde 2020 in Nürnberg von Sergej Schmitke gegründet, der sich bereits seit 2016 intensiv mit Herstellung und Anwendung der Nanomaterialien beschäftigt. Vorausgegangen waren viele Jahre Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit. Das aktuelle Team vereint langjährige Erfahrung im Vertrieb in die Kompositindustrie mit profundem R&D-, Produktions- und Management- Knowhow.

Finanzierungsrunde ermöglicht Aufbau der Produktion
GS Bavaria hat die Herstellung der Nanopulver und der Masterbatches über viele Jahre im Labormaßstab entwickelt. Ein Teil des Investments ermöglicht den Aufbau der industriellen Produktion im Nürnberger Umland sowie die Entwicklung weiterer Produkte.

Wolframhaltige Nanopulver – das ist unser Spezialgebiet. Und eine Besonderheit obendrein. Denn unsere Nanopulver gewinnen wir in einem einzigartigen Recyclingverfahren aus Hartmetallschrott. Auf Basis dieser Pulver entwickeln wir funktionale Additive in Form von Masterbatches, mit denen Sie die mechanischen, chemischen oder thermischen Eigenschaften Ihrer Kunststoffe drastisch beeinflussen können. Ohne die Kompromisse, die mit der Verwendung herkömmlicher Additive einhergehen.

Sergej Schmitke, Gründer und CEO von GS Bavaria

Der Zusatz von Wolframpartikeln verbessert signifikant die Eigenschaften von Polymer-Verbundstoffen, die für alle Aspekte unseres täglichen Lebens – vom Trinkwasser bis hin zur Verkehrswende – relevant sind. GS Bavaria hat weltweit als erster ein nachhaltiges und skalierbares Verfahren für die Produktion von Wolframpartikeln entwickelt. Wir freuen uns, das Managementteam in den kommenden Jahren zu unterstützen.

Dr. Maximilian Bock, Investment Manager beim HTGF

Bildmaterial und Hintergrundinformationen
Detaillierte Hintergrundinformationen zu Technologie, Produkten und Anwendungen finden Sie auf www.gs-bavaria.com.

GS-Bavaria-Foto-Team
Team of GS Bavaria – ©GS Bavaria

Über GS Bavaria
GS Bavaria ist der weltweit erste Anbieter von Hartmetallpulvern in Nanogröße im industriellen Maßstab. Die Produktion der Nanomaterialien ist äußerst kosteneffizient, nachhaltig und mit minimalem Energieverbrauch durch das revolutionäre Bioleaching-Extraktionsverfahren für Wolfram, Wolframcarbid und weitere Metalle. Aus den Nanomaterialien werden Nano-Additive für die Herstellung von Hochleistungs-Nanokompositen abgeleitet.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 670 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des HTGF IV kommen im Herbst 2022 mehr als 400 Mio. Euro Fondsvolumen hinzu. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie zahlreiche Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Pressekontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Maximilian Bock, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300 124
m.bock@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde ab, um energieeffiziente Leuchten für den Gartenbau zu entwickeln

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Spark life into spaces lautet die Vision von Crocus Labs. Das Team erreicht dies, indem es höchst energieeffiziente Vollspektrum-Beleuchtungslösungen entwickelt, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für vertikale Farmen und Gewächshäuser eröffnen. Mit der vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Brandenburg Kapital angeführten Finanzierungsrunde kann sich das Unternehmen auf Forschung und Entwicklung konzentrieren und die nächste Generation von Beleuchtungslösungen auf de
 
Presse
ESy-Labs Founders
17. November 2022

ESy-Labs erhält Seed-Finanzierung, um seine automatisierte und KI-gestützte Plattform für nachhaltige Elektrosyntheseprozesse voranzutreiben

Regensburg, 17. November 2022 –In einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde investiert der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) 600 Tsd. Euro in die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Plattformtechnologie. Das frische Kapital wird für den Ausbau der technischen Ausstattung und die Einstellung zusätzlicher Mitarbeiter verwendet, um die ESy-Screening-Technologie weiter voranzutreiben. Durch die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Elektrosynthese von organischen Feinchemikalien und elektrolytischen Recyclingmethoden könn
 
Presse
IPlytics Team
9. November 2022

Successful exit for HTGF: LexisNexis expands its Intellectual Property Solutions suite with the acquisition of IPlytics

November 9th 2022 - LexisNexis Legal & Professional, part of RELX, today announced that it has acquired IPlytics, a leading IP intelligence company that enables the analysis of technology landscapes and competition for industries where standards and patents matter by providing access to multiple databases connecting patents, Standard Essential Patents (SEPs), standards, and technical standards contributions. The acquisition extends the vision of LexisNexis Intellectual Property Solutions