Towards a Greener Space Economy: ISPTech Secures €2M in Pre-Seed Funding for Innovative Spacecraft Propulsion Technology

July 2, 2024

  • ISPTech is building propulsion systems for spacecraft of all sizes, from small CubeSats to large satellites, that offer the highest performance and reliability at the lowest price in the market.
  • The rapidly growing space market has a high demand for affordable, quickly available and reliable propulsion solutions.
  • ISPTech’s technology is based on a key patent and more than 10 years of R&D by the two founders at the German Aerospace Center (DLR)
  • The unique propulsion technologies will accelerate the transition to low or non-toxic propellants, delivering upon a strong market demand.
  • The €2 million round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) along with First Momentum Ventures and Possible Ventures, three renowned deep tech investors.

July 2, 2024, Lampoldshausen – InSpacePropulsion Technologies GmbH (ISPTech), a spin-off from the German Aerospace Center (DLR), announces the closing of its €2M pre-seed round. ISPTech is addressing a key challenge that satellite manufacturers and operators face, by developing innovative propulsion systems based on non-toxic, so-called “green” propellants. This approach allows significantly reduced overall costs, rapid availability and simplifies spacecraft operations. The propulsion systems offer superior performance compared to the current green propulsion market standard. With its solutions, ISPTech addresses any spacecraft, from small CubeSats to large satellites, capsules or landers.

The round is led by HTGF and backed by co-investments of First Momentum Ventures and Possible Ventures, three renowned deep-tech investors. The investment will be used to make ISPTech’s propulsion technologies ready for its first customers and spaceflight.

Current in-space propulsion systems are expensive, complex and operate with highly toxic propellants. These toxic propellants cause extensive handling efforts, which complicate and slow down the development and qualification process of propulsion systems, besides increasing the overall costs. In addition, alternative solutions currently on the market either lack performance or operational simplicity. These key challenges ISPTech has overcome: based on more than 10 years of R&D work at the German Aerospace Centre (DLR), ISPTech’s founders developed advanced propulsion technologies that work with green propellants.

HyNOx Thrusters with different thrust classes (from left): 1N, 5N, 22N, 200N (Photo: ISPTech)

The team has developed two technologies: one is space-ready (HyNOx), and one offers unique advantages (HIP_11). HyNOx runs on Ethane and Nitrous Oxide. Contrary to competitors, ISPTech’s system allows continuous operation at high performance without facing issues of overheating.

HIP_11 is a unique propulsion technology for large spacecraft like landers, capsules, and satellites. It offers less complexity and cost than other systems with similar thrust levels and will be refuellable. It also allows hybrid operation, i.e. electric and chemical propulsion simultaneously. The space market is expected to grow 7% per year and thus has a high demand for affordable, quickly available and reliable propulsion solutions. By using its advanced technologies, ISPTech will satisfy this demand and propel the whole space ecosystem. ISPTech already showed a fast pace and made significant progress: after its foundation in summer 2023 first paying customers were acquired, a paid flight into space was won and the first thrusters were qualified for space. Furthermore, major space players emphasized their interest in the technologies.

The acquired funding will be used to further develop the propulsion technology to achieve qualification for space flight and serve initial customers. ISPTech’s technology will be used on first flights at the end of 2025. These missions will demonstrate the operationality, robustness and performance of ISPTech’s propulsion systems and space qualify the propulsion system for wider market adoption.

We spent many years researching propulsion technologies, testing the products of our current competitors and working with many of our future customers. During all these times, we saw a clear and large market demand for affordable, quickly available, and robust propulsion technologies. Our mission now is to meet this demand.

Felix Lauck and Dr. Lukas Werling , Founder of ISPTech

The satellite market growth in the next decade and the increasing need for space debris avoidance manoeuvres will see a huge demand for chemical propulsion systems, especially non-toxic solutions, democratizing access to space. ISPTech is the only startup offering solutions from below 1N to 1kN with high TRL and exceptionally positioned to set a new market standard.

Dr. Koen Geurts, Investment Manager at HTGF

Over the next ten years, we anticipate an increasing demand for in-space manoeuvres that can only be facilitated by chemical propulsion. ISPTech is in a prime position to become the European leader in non-toxic chemical propulsion. Their systems are already way ahead of the competition in terms of performance, stability, and robustness

Dr. Maximilian Ochs, Investor at First Momentum Ventures

As the space economy expands, the demand for reliable, eco-friendly, and cost-effective chemical propulsion systems becomes indispensable. ISPTech’s innovative approach and European engineering excellence positions them as the frontrunner, and we are proud to support their mission.

 
Dr. Christoph Baumeister, Principal at Possible Ventures

Founders of ISPTech: from left Felix Lauck and Lukas Werling – Photo: ISPTech

About ISPTech
InSpacePropulsion Technologies GmbH (ISPTech) offers propulsion solutions to allow uncompromised mobility in space – suitable for every spacecraft from small CubeSats to large capsules and landers. The products are based on non-toxic propellants, combine high performance and robustness with affordability and good availability. ISPTech is a spin-off of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and was founded in 2023 by Dr. Lukas Werling and Felix Lauck. The first propulsion systems will be demonstrated in space in 2025.
isptech.space

Contact
Dr.-Ing. Lukas Werling (CEO)
InSpacePropulsion Technologies GmbH
c/o DLR
Im Langen Grund
74239 Hardhausen
Germany
Email: contact@isptech.space
Web: www.isptech.space

About First Momentum
First Momentum, a pre-seed VC fund based in Germany, is a trusted partner for technical B2B and Deep Tech startups in Europe, investing between €200k and €1m. The team, mainly consisting of engineers and scientists, brings a unique understanding of technical products and teams, providing comprehensive support from fundraising to recruiting to sales and marketing. With a successful track record of around 40 investments, many of First Momentum’s portfolio companies secured follow-on rounds from top international VCs like Khosla, Insight, and Co.
firstmomentum.vc

About Possible Ventures
Possible Ventures is a Munich-based international venture capital firm investing in frontier technologies to tackle humanity’s biggest challenges. Specializing in deep tech sectors like climate, energy, quantum, AI, cyber, space tech, and synthetic biology, the firm focuses on early-stage investments at the pre-seed and seed levels. Led by a team with extensive entrepreneurial experience, Possible Ventures has earned the trust of co-investors such as Accel, Benchmark, Bessemer, Insight Partners, and General Atlantic. For more information, visit www.possibleventures.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances technology start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 750 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of the fourth fund, HTGF has approximately 1.4 billion euros under management. The team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts supports the young companies with know-how, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. The focus is on high-tech start-ups in the areas of digital technology, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related fields. To date, external investors have invested around €5 billion in the HTGF portfolio in more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, the fund has successfully sold stakes in more than 180 companies.
Investors in the public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Protection, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a variety of industries.

Press Contact
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
10. July 2024

HepaRegeniX raises €15 million Series C round to advance clinical development of HRX-215 for liver regeneration

Funds to support Phase Ib clinical trial of HRX-215 in the US and an international multicenter Phase IIa clinical trial in liver regeneration Elias Papatheodorou moves from Chair of the Board to CEO of HepaRegeniX Dr. Linda Greenbaum joins HepaRegeniX as CMO Tuebingen (Germany), July 10, 2024 – HepaRegeniX GmbH, a clinical stage company developing novel regenerative therapies for the treatment of acute and chronic liver diseases, today announced the closing of a Series C rou
 
Press
9. July 2024

SciRhom Secures EUR 63 Million Series A Financing Round to Accelerate iRhom2-targeting Therapies in Autoimmune Diseases.

The upsized and oversubscribed Series A financing round will be used to drive the lead development program toward clinical proof-of-concept and to broaden the therapeutic value of the proprietary iRhom2 strategy. Munich, Germany, July 9, 2024 – SciRhom GmbH, a biopharmaceutical company pioneering the development of first-in-class therapeutic iRhom2 antibodies, announced today the closing of a EUR 63 million (USD 70 million) Series A financing round. The round was co-led by Andera Pa

Für eine nachhaltigere Raumfahrt: ISPTech sichert sich 2 Mio. Euro Pre-Seed-Finanzierung für innovative Antriebstechnologie für Weltraumfahrzeuge.

2. Juli 2024

  • ISPTechs Antriebssysteme für Raumfahrzeuge aller Größen (von kleinen CubeSats bis hin zu großen Satelliten) bieten höchste Leistung und Zuverlässigkeit zu den niedrigsten Preisen auf dem Markt.
  • Die Technologie von ISPTech basiert auf einem Schlüsselpatent und mehr als 10 Jahren Forschung und Entwicklung der beiden Gründer am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).
  • Der schnell wachsende Raumfahrtmarkt hat einen hohen Bedarf an erschwinglichen, schnell verfügbaren und zuverlässigen Antriebslösungen.
  • Die einzigartigen Antriebstechnologien werden den Übergang zu ungiftigen Treibstoffen in der Raumfahrt beschleunigen und damit die starke Marktnachfrage befriedigen.
  • Renommierte Deep-Tech-Investoren: Die 2-Millionen-Euro-Runde wird vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) angeführt, weiterhin investieren First Momentum Ventures und Possible Ventures.

2. Juli 2024, Lampoldshausen – Die InSpacePropulsion Technologies GmbH (ISPTech), ein Spin-off des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), hat erfolgreich eine Pre-Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 2 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen. ISPTech entwickelt innovative Antriebssysteme für Raumfahrzeuge, die auf ungiftigen „grünen“ Treibstoffen basieren und bietet damit kostengünstige, schnell verfügbare und zuverlässige Lösungen für die Raumfahrtindustrie. Die Antriebe bieten eine überlegene Leistung im Vergleich zu derzeit am Markt erhältlichen grünen Treibstoffsystemen. ISPTech richtet sich an alle Raumfahrzeuge, von kleinen CubeSats bis hin zu großen Satelliten, Kapseln oder Landeeinheiten.

Renommierte Deep-Tech-Investoren beteiligen sich an der Finanzierungsrunde.  Angeführt vom HTGF investieren First Momentum Ventures und Possible Ventures. Mit den Geldern wird ISPTech seine Antriebstechnologien für die ersten Kunden und die ersten Raumfahrtmissionen bereit machen.

Derzeitige Antriebssysteme sind oft teuer und nutzen hochgiftige Treibstoffe, was die Handhabung und den Entwicklungsprozess erschwert und die Gesamtkosten erhöht. ISPTech hat diese Probleme gelöst und bietet Antriebssysteme an, die nicht nur umweltfreundlich, sondern auch leistungsstark und kosteneffizient sind. Auf der Grundlage von mehr als 10 Jahren Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) haben die Gründer von ISPTech zwei Technologien entwickelt: Eine ist bereits weltraumtauglich (HyNOx), die zweite bietet einzigartige Vorteile (HIP_11). Die HyNOx Systeme werden mit Ethan und Distickstoffoxid betrieben. Diese Technologie ermöglicht einen kontinuierlichen Betrieb bei hoher Leistung ohne Überhitzungsprobleme.

HyNOx Triebwerke in unterschiedlichen Schubklassen (von links): 1N, 5N, 22N, 200N (Bild: ISPTech)

HIP_11 ist eine einzigartige Antriebstechnologie für große Raumfahrzeuge wie Lander, Kapseln und Satelliten. Sie reduziert die Komplexität und Kosten vergleichen mit anderen Systemen und ist wiederbetankbar. HIP_11 ermöglicht einen hybriden Betrieb von elektrischen und chemischen Triebwerken. Der Weltraummarkt wächst jährlich um etwa 7% und erfordert daher innovative Antriebslösungen. Durch seine erschwinglichen und zuverlässigen Technologien wird ISPTech diese Nachfrage bedienen und das gesamte Raumfahrt-Ökosystem vorantreiben. ISPTech hat bereits bemerkenswerte Fortschritte erzielt: Seit der Gründung im Sommer 2023 konnte das Unternehmen erste zahlende Kunden gewinnen und den Vertrag für einen Flug ins All abschließen. Zudem wurden die ersten Antriebssysteme für den Einsatz im Weltraum qualifiziert. Bedeutende Akteure der Raumfahrtbranche haben ebenfalls ihr Interesse an den Technologien von ISPTech bekundet.

Die eingeworbenen Mittel werden zur Weiterentwicklung der Antriebstechnologie verwendet, um die Qualifikation für den Weltraumflug zu erreichen und erste Kunden zu bedienen. Die Technologie von ISPTech wird in ersten Missionen Ende 2025 zum Einsatz kommen. Diese Flüge werden die Funktionsfähigkeit, Robustheit und Leistung der ISPTech-Antriebssysteme demonstrieren und die Grundlage für eine breitere Markteinführung schaffen.

Wir haben viele Jahre damit verbracht, Antriebstechnologien zu erforschen, Produkte unserer derzeitigen Wettbewerber zu testen und mit vielen unserer zukünftigen Kunden zusammenzuarbeiten. In all dieser Zeit haben wir eine klare und große Marktnachfrage nach kostengünstigen, schnell verfügbaren und robusten Antriebstechnologien erlebt. Unsere Aufgabe ist es nun, diese Nachfrage zu bedienen.

Felix Lauck und Dr. Lukas Werling , Gründer von ISPTech

Das Wachstum des Satellitenmarktes im nächsten Jahrzehnt und der zunehmende Bedarf an Manövern zur Vermeidung von Weltraummüll werden zu einer enormen Nachfrage nach chemischen Antriebssystemen führen, insbesondere nach ungiftigen Lösungen, die den Zugang zum Weltraum demokratisieren. ISPTech ist das einzige Startup-Unternehmen, das Lösungen von unter 1N bis 1kN mit hohem TRL anbietet und hervorragend positioniert ist, um einen neuen Marktstandard zu setzen. 

Dr. Koen Geurts, Investment Manager beim HTGF

In den nächsten zehn Jahren erwarten wir eine steigende Nachfrage nach Manövern im Weltraum, die nur durch chemische Antriebe ermöglicht werden können. ISPTech ist in einer erstklassigen Position, um der europäische Marktführer für ungiftige chemische Antriebe zu werden. Ihre Systeme sind der Konkurrenz in Bezug auf Leistung, Stabilität und Robustheit bereits weit voraus.

Dr. Maximilian Ochs, Investor bei First Momentum Ventures

Mit dem Wachstum der Weltraumwirtschaft wird die Nachfrage nach zuverlässigen, umweltfreundlichen und kostengünstigen chemischen Antriebssystemen unverzichtbar. ISPTech ist mit seinem innovativen Ansatz und seiner europäischen Ingenieurskunst führend, und wir sind stolz darauf, ihre Mission zu unterstützen.

 Dr. Christoph Baumeister, Principal bei Possible Ventures

Gründerteam von ISPTech: v. l. n. r. Felix Lauck und Lukas Werling – Bild: ISPTech

Über ISPTech
Die InSpacePropulsion Technologies GmbH (ISPTech) bietet Antriebslösungen, die kompromisslose Mobilität im Weltraum ermöglichen – geeignet für jedes Raumfahrzeug, von kleinen CubeSats bis hin zu großen Satelliten, Kapseln und Landeeinheiten. Die Produkte nutzen ungiftige Treibstoffe, kombinieren hohe Leistung und Robustheit mit Erschwinglichkeit und schneller Verfügbarkeit. ISPTech ist ein Spin-off des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und wurde 2023 von Dr. Lukas Werling und Felix Lauck gegründet. Die ersten Antriebssysteme werden im Jahr 2025 im Weltraum demonstriert.
www.isptech.space

Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Lukas Werling (CEO)
InSpacePropulsion Technologies GmbH
c/o DLR
Im Langen Grund
74239 Hardhausen
Deutschland
E-Mail: contact@isptech.space
Web: www.isptech.space

Über First Momentum Ventures
First Momentum, ein Pre-Seed-VC-Fonds mit Sitz in Deutschland, ist ein zuverlässiger Partner für technische B2B- und Deep-Tech-Startups in Europa und investiert zwischen 200.000 € und 1 Mio. €. Das Team, das hauptsächlich aus Ingenieuren und Wissenschaftlern besteht, bringt ein einzigartiges Verständnis für technische Produkte und Teams mit und bietet umfassende Unterstützung vom Fundraising über die Rekrutierung bis hin zu Vertrieb und Marketing. Mit einer erfolgreichen Bilanz von rund 40 Investitionen haben viele der Portfoliounternehmen von First Momentum Folgerunden von internationalen Top-VCs wie Khosla, Insight und Co. erhalten.
www.firstmomentum.vc

Über Possible Ventures
Possible Ventures ist ein internationales Risikokapitalunternehmen mit Sitz in München, das in Pioniertechnologien investiert, um die größten Herausforderungen der Menschheit zu bewältigen. Das Unternehmen ist auf Deep-Tech-Sektoren wie Klima, Energie, Quanten, KI, Cyber, Weltraumtechnologie und synthetische Biologie spezialisiert und konzentriert sich auf Early-Stage-Investitionen auf der Pre-Seed- und Seed-Ebene. Possible Ventures wird von einem Team mit umfassender unternehmerischer Erfahrung geleitet und hat sich das Vertrauen von Co-Investoren wie Accel, Benchmark, Bessemer, Insight Partners und General Atlantic erworben. www.possibleventures.com.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds  
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 750 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 6 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 180 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Pressekontakt
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
22. Juli 2024

Fitness-App neu gedacht: TRAIT erhält 1 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung für empathische KI-Trainingsplattform

TRAIT, die innovative Trainings-App, hat in einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde rund 1 Million € von HTGF, dem Angelclub better ventures und weiteren Privatinvestoren erhalten. Das Funding unterstützt die weitere Entwicklung ihrer KI-Trainingsplattform, die ein personalisiertes und empathisches Trainingserlebnis für Laufsportler:innen bietet. Das in Berlin ansässige Start-up hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Menschen dabei zu helfen, ihre individuellen Trainingsziele zu erreichen und ei
 
Presse
17. Juli 2024

Sdui kauft FoxEducation und sammelt weitere 21 Millionen Euro ein

Mit dem Erwerb von FoxEducation stärkt Sdui seine Position als führender Anbieter von Bildungstechnologie in Europa und bedient nun über 22.000 Schulen und Kitas. Zudem hat Sdui weitere 21 Millionen Euro von bestehenden und neuen Investoren eingesammelt. Summiteer und HV Capital führen die neue Finanzierungsrunde an. Koblenz / Wien, 17. Juli 2024 – Die Koblenzer Sdui Gruppe, einer der führenden Anbieter von Bildungstechnologien in Europa, hat die Bildungsplattform FoxEducation