HepaRegeniX raises €15 million Series C round to advance clinical development of HRX-215 for liver regeneration

July 10, 2024

  • Funds to support Phase Ib clinical trial of HRX-215 in the US and an international multicenter Phase IIa clinical trial in liver regeneration
  • Elias Papatheodorou moves from Chair of the Board to CEO of HepaRegeniX
  • Dr. Linda Greenbaum joins HepaRegeniX as CMO

Tuebingen (Germany), July 10, 2024 – HepaRegeniX GmbH, a clinical stage company developing novel regenerative therapies for the treatment of acute and chronic liver diseases, today announced the closing of a Series C round led by Vesalius Biocapital IV with participation of existing investors Novo Holdings, Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF), and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF). The new funds of €15 million will be used to advance the clinical development of the company’s clinical candidate HRX-215.

As part of the financing, Fabienne Roussel, Partner at Vesalius Biocapital, joins the Non-Executive Board of Directors. Elias Papatheodorou will become Chief Executive Officer, moving from Chair of the Board.

Elias Papatheodorou (Image: HepaRegeniX)

We are thrilled to secure this significant financing, which underscores the confidence our investors have in our science and our capabilities to bring effective treatments to patients suffering from liver diseases. With the new funds, HepaRegeniX will advance with its clinical plans for a Phase Ib study in the US and an international Phase IIa study to enhance liver recovery and prevent liver failure.

Elias Papatheodorou, Chair of the Board

HRX-215 is a small molecule inhibitor of Mitogen-Activated Protein (MAP) Kinase Kinase 4 (MKK4). Inhibition of MKK4 unlocks the regenerative capacity of hepatocytes and can strongly boost liver regeneration in patients. This is highly relevant for patients with liver metastases or primary liver tumors, as resection of the tumors is the only curative therapeutic approach. Liver regeneration is also key in liver transplant and especially in enabling left liver lobe living donor transplant. This strategy could significantly reduce waiting list for liver transplant candidates. Promising preclinical data have confirmed HRX-215’s capacity for liver regeneration, and HepaRegeniX has successfully completed a Phase I trial. These results have been published in the prestigious journal Cell.

Vesalius Biocapital is excited to support HepaRegeniX as it progresses into the next phase of clinical development for HRX-215. There is an immense need for a treatment that can induce liver regeneration in patients suffering from liver damage, liver tumors, as well as in transplant settings. HRX-215 has potential to help these patients and make a meaningful impact on their lives. I look forward to working with HepaRegeniX’ excellent leadership team to advance this promising treatment candidate.

Fabienne Roussel, Partner at Vesalius Biocapital IV

Importantly, to take HepaRegeniX through the next stages of clinical development and value creation, Dr. Linda Greenbaum is joining HepaRegeniX as Chief Medical Officer (CMO). She brings extensive expertise and experience in clinical development and translational medicine. She recently served as Executive Director, Translational Medicine at Novartis in the US. Before joining Novartis, she held the position of Director of Clinical Development at Janssen R&D and served on the faculty of Thomas Jefferson University and University of Pennsylvania where she led a research laboratory investigating liver regeneration and fibrosis. Dr. Greenbaum holds an MD from the Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons.

I am honored to join HepaRegeniX at such a critical juncture in its development. MKK4 is a key regulator of liver regeneration, and MKK4 inhibition has been shown to induce liver regeneration after a partial hepatectomy. With this mode of action, HRX-215 has an immense potential to improve outcomes for patients who are currently not able to undergo potentially curative surgical resections due to liver tumors, and other patient groups affected by liver failure. I look forward to working with the talented team at HepaRegeniX to advance the clinical development of HRX-215 through Phase II trials and beyond, with the ultimate goal of improving outcomes for patients with liver diseases worldwide.

Dr. Linda Greenbaum, newly appointed Chief Medical Officer

It is a pleasure to welcome Dr. Linda Greenbaum to our leadership team. With her extensive knowledge and expertise, she will guide the future clinical development of HRX-215. With our new funding and the extension to our experienced leadership team, we hope to bring a much-need therapy to patients suffering from liver diseases.

Elias Papatheodorou, Chair of the Board


About HepaRegeniX
Since 2017, HepaRegeniX has successfully discovered and developed several drug candidates for the treatment of acute and chronic liver diseases based on a novel proprietary molecular target Mitogen-Activated Protein (MAP) Kinase Kinase 4 (MKK4). The first MKK4 inhibitor HRX-215 recently completed Phase 1 clinical testing. MKK4 is a key regulator of liver regeneration and suppression of MKK4 unlocks the regenerative capacity of hepatocytes even in severely diseased livers. This new and unique therapeutic concept was discovered by Prof. Lars Zender and his research group at the University Hospital Tuebingen, Germany. Investors in HepaRegeniX include Vesalius Biocapital IV, the Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF), Novo Holdings A/S, Coparion, High-Tech Gruenderfonds and Ascenion GmbH.

www.heparegenix.com

For further information please contact:
HepaRegeniX GmbH
Elias Papatheodorou
Chair of the Board
info@heparegenix.com

For media inquiries:
MC Services AG
Katja Arnold, Dr. Regina Lutz
+49 89 210 228-0
UK: Shaun Brown
M: +44 7867 515 918
heparegenix@mc-services.eu 

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 750 start-ups since 2005. In its four seed funds, HTGF has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 6 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 180 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
22. July 2024

Fitness App Reimagined: TRAIT Secures €1 Million Seed Funding for Empathetic AI Training Platform

TRAIT, the innovative training app, has raised around 1 million € in seed funding from HTGF, the angel club better ventures and other private investors. The funding will support the further development of its AI training platform, which aims to provide a more personalized and empathetic training experience for runners. The Berlin-based start-up’s mission is to help people achieve their individual training goals and lead a more sustainably active and fulfilling life. At the heart o
 
Press
17. July 2024

Sdui acquires FoxEducation and raises a further 21 million euros

The acquisition of FoxEducation strengthens Sdui’s position servicing over 22,000 schools and preschools in Europe. The company also raised a further 21 million euros from new and existing investors. New investor Summiteer and existing investor HV Capital leads the new financing round. Koblenz / Vienna, 17 July 2024 – Sdui Group (“Sdui”), one of the leading providers of education technology in Europe, today announced that it has acquired digital education solut

HepaRegeniX wirbt 15 Millionen Euro in einer Serie C-Runde für die klinische Weiterentwicklung von HRX-215 zur Leberregeneration ein

10. Juli 2024

  • Liquide Mittel zur Unterstützung der klinischen Phase Ib-Studie von HRX-215 in den USA und einer internationalen multizentrischen klinischen Phase IIa-Studie zur Leberregeneration
  • Elias Papatheodorou wechselt aus dem Beirat und wird CEO von HepaRegeniX
  • Dr. Linda Greenbaum tritt HepaRegeniX als CMO bei

Tübingen, 10. Juli 2024 – HepaRegeniX GmbH, ein Unternehmen, das einen neuen regenerativen Therapieansatz für die Behandlung akuter und chronischer Lebererkrankungen entwickelt, gab heute den Abschluss einer Serie C-Finanzierungsrunde, angeführt von Vesalius Biocapital IV und mit Beteiligung der bestehenden Investoren Novo Holdings, Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) und High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), bekannt. Die neuen Finanzmittel in Höhe von 15 Millionen Euro sollen dazu verwendet werden, die klinische Entwicklung des Kandidaten HRX-215 des Unternehmens voranzutreiben.

Im Rahmen der Finanzierung wird Fabienne Roussel, Partnerin bei Vesalius Biocapital, Mitglied des Beirats. Elias Papatheodorou wird in die Geschäftsführung wechseln und zum Chief Executive Officer ernannt; er gibt dann den Vorsitz des Beirats ab.

Elias Papatheodorou (Bild: HepaRegeniX)

Wir freuen uns sehr über diese bedeutende Finanzierung, die bestätigt, dass unsere Investoren von unserem Therapiekonzept überzeugt sind und uns vertrauen, die Entwicklung zur Behandlung von Patientinnen und Patienten mit Lebererkrankungen erfolgreich voranzutreiben. Mit den neuen finanziellen Mitteln werden wir bei HepaRegeniX unsere klinischen Entwicklungspläne für eine Phase-Ib-Studie in den USA sowie eine internationale Phase-IIa-Studie zur Verbesserung der Leberheilung und zur Vorbeugung von Leberversagen umsetzen.

Elias Papatheodorou, Vorsitzender des Beirats

HRX-215 ist ein niedermolekularer Inhibitor der Mitogen-Activated Protein (MAP) Kinase Kinase 4 (MKK4). Die Hemmung von durch Stress aktivierter MKK4 in Hepatozyten unterstützt die Leberregeneration bei Patienten und kann diese signifikant verstärken. Dies ist für Patienten mit Lebermetastasen oder primären Lebertumoren von großer Bedeutung, da die Resektion der Tumore die einzige kurative Behandlungsmöglichkeit darstellt. Auch für die Lebertransplantation kann die Wirkweise von HRX-215 von entscheidender Bedeutung werden, insbesondere bei der Transplantation einer Teilleber, z.B. des kleineren, linken Leberlappens eines lebenden Spenders, bei der eine rasche Leberregeneration beim Empfänger von großer Relevanz ist. Von dieser Strategie könnten viele Patienten profitieren und so die Transplantations-Warteliste erheblich verkürzen. Vielversprechende präklinische Daten haben die Fähigkeit von HRX-215 zur Leberregeneration bestätigt. Diese Daten sowie die Ergebnisse der ersten, erfolgreich durchgeführten Phase I-Studie zur Untersuchung der Sicherheit und Pharmakokinetik von HRX215 wurden kürzlich in der renommierten Fachzeitschrift Cell publiziert.

Vesalius Biocapital freut sich, HepaRegeniX beim Eintritt in die nächste Phase der klinischen Entwicklung von HRX-215 zu unterstützen. Es besteht ein immenser Bedarf an einer Behandlung, die die Regeneration der Leber bei Patienten mit Leberschäden, Lebertumoren sowie bei Transplantationen aktivieren kann. HRX-215 hat das Potenzial, diesen Patienten zu helfen und ihr Leben entscheidend zu verbessern. Ich freue mich darauf, mit dem hervorragenden Führungsteam von HepaRegeniX zusammenzuarbeiten, um diesen vielversprechenden Behandlungskandidaten voranzubringen.

Fabienne Roussel, Partnerin bei Vesalius Biocapital IV

Um HepaRegeniX durch die nächsten Phasen der klinischen Entwicklung und Wertschöpfung zu führen, wird Dr. Linda Greenbaum zum Chief Medical Officer (CMO) von HepaRegeniX berufen. Sie bringt umfangreiche Fachkenntnisse und Erfahrungen in der klinischen Entwicklung und der translationalen Medizin mit. Zuletzt war sie als Executive Director Translational Medicine bei Novartis in den USA tätig. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei Novartis war sie Director of Clinical Development bei Janssen R&D sowie Fakultätsmitglied der Thomas Jefferson University und der University of Pennsylvania, wo sie ein Forschungslabor zur Untersuchung von Leberregeneration und Fibrose leitete. Dr. Greenbaum besitzt einen Doktortitel des Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons.

Ich fühle mich geehrt, zu einem so entscheidenden Zeitpunkt in der Entwicklung zu HepaRegeniX zu kommen. MKK4 ist ein zentraler Regulator der Leberregeneration und es konnte gezeigt werden, dass die Hemmung von MKK4 nach einer partiellen Hepatektomie Leberregeneration induziert. Mit diesem Wirkprinzip hat HRX-215 ein immenses Potenzial, die Behandlungsergebnisse für Patienten zu verbessern, die sich derzeit aufgrund von Lebertumoren keiner potenziell kurativen chirurgischen Resektion unterziehen können, sowie für andere Patientengruppen, die von Leberversagen bedroht sind. Ich freue mich auf die Zusammenarbeit mit dem talentierten Team von HepaRegeniX, um die klinische Entwicklung von HRX-215 durch Phase-II-Studien und darüber hinaus voranzutreiben, mit dem letztendlichen Ziel, die Behandlungsergebnisse für Patientinnen und Patienten mit Lebererkrankungen weltweit zu verbessern.

Dr. Linda Greenbaum, Chief Medical Officer von HepaRegeniX

Wir freuen uns sehr, Dr. Linda Greenbaum in unserem Führungsteam willkommen zu heißen. Mit ihrem umfangreichen Wissen und ihrer Erfahrung wird sie zukünftig die klinische Entwicklung von HRX-215 leiten. Wir hoffen, dass wir mit unserer neuen Finanzierung und der Erweiterung unseres erfahrenen Führungsteams eine dringend benötigte Therapie für Patienten mit Lebererkrankungen zur Verfügung stellen können.

Elias Papatheodorou, Chair of the Board


Über HepaRegeniX
Seit dem Firmenstart 2017 hat HepaRegeniX erfolgreich mehrere präklinische Entwicklungskandidaten für die Behandlung akuter und chronischer Lebererkrankungen auf Basis der neuartigen und proprietären molekularen Zielstruktur Mitogen-Activated Protein (MAP) Kinase Kinase 4 (MKK4) erforscht und entwickelt. HRX-0215 hat kürzlich als erster MKK4-Inhibitor die klinische Phase 1 erfolgreich abgeschlossen. MKK4 ist ein wesentlicher regulierender Schalter bei der Leberregeneration. Die Hemmung von MKK4 stellt die regenerative Kapazität von Leberzellen sogar bei schwerwiegenden Leberschäden wieder her. Dieses neuartige und einzigartige Therapiekonzept wurde von Prof. Lars Zender und seiner Forschungsgruppe am Universitätsklinikum Tübingen entdeckt. Die Investoren der HepaRegeniX umfassen Vesalius Biocapital IV, den Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF), Novo Holdings A/S, Coparion, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Ascenion GmbH.
www.heparegenix.com

Kontakt
HepaRegeniX GmbH
Elias Papatheodorou
Chair of the Board
info@heparegenix.com

Für Medienanfragen
MC Services AG
Katja Arnold, Dr. Regina Lutz
+49 89 210 228-0
UK: Shaun Brown
M: +44 7867 515 918
heparegenix@mc-services.eu 

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds  
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 750 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 6 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 180 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Pressekontakt
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
22. Juli 2024

Fitness-App neu gedacht: TRAIT erhält 1 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung für empathische KI-Trainingsplattform

TRAIT, die innovative Trainings-App, hat in einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde rund 1 Million € von HTGF, dem Angelclub better ventures und weiteren Privatinvestoren erhalten. Das Funding unterstützt die weitere Entwicklung ihrer KI-Trainingsplattform, die ein personalisiertes und empathisches Trainingserlebnis für Laufsportler:innen bietet. Das in Berlin ansässige Start-up hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Menschen dabei zu helfen, ihre individuellen Trainingsziele zu erreichen und ei
 
Presse
17. Juli 2024

Sdui kauft FoxEducation und sammelt weitere 21 Millionen Euro ein

Mit dem Erwerb von FoxEducation stärkt Sdui seine Position als führender Anbieter von Bildungstechnologie in Europa und bedient nun über 22.000 Schulen und Kitas. Zudem hat Sdui weitere 21 Millionen Euro von bestehenden und neuen Investoren eingesammelt. Summiteer und HV Capital führen die neue Finanzierungsrunde an. Koblenz / Wien, 17. Juli 2024 – Die Koblenzer Sdui Gruppe, einer der führenden Anbieter von Bildungstechnologien in Europa, hat die Bildungsplattform FoxEducation