Press

Variolytics receives seven-figure seed funding for climate-neutral wastewater treatment plants

December 7, 2022

Proprietary measurement technology and AI-based process control to avoid greenhouse gases in wastewater treatment.

  • Seven-figure seed funding for patented measurement technology and AI-based process optimisation.
  • High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), FTTF and Dr Jörg Gebhardt as well as other angel investors are participating in the financing round.
  • Key technology for wastewater treatment plants to meet their climate targets.
  • Variolytics system (EmiCo – Emission Control) already implemented in wastewater treatment plants.

Stuttgart, 15.11.2022Germany’s almost 10,000 municipal wastewater treatment plants consume around 4,400 gigawatt hours (GWh) of electricity per year, which makes them one of the largest electricity consumers. This is equivalent to the electricity needs of 900,000 four-person households. Moreover, the greenhouse gases nitrous oxide and methane are produced during wastewater treatment and contribute significantly to the plant’s total emissions. It is estimated that wastewater treatment plants emit about as many greenhouse gases as the global aviation industry. But there is good news for this sector. With their new “Emission Control” system, the Stuttgart-based technology company Variolytics can reduce up to 50% of the total emissions of wastewater treatment plants. Furthermore, through an AI-based control system, the wastewater process is dynamically controlled and not only reduces greenhouse gases, but also energy and chemical consumption.

Plants cleaning wasted water account for approximately 2% of global CO2 emissions. Variolytics can halve this via its worldwide unique measuring method! Therefore, it was and is a no-brainer to invest in Variolytics.

Dr. Katharina Peters, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

For biological wastewater treatment using the activated sludge process, tanks are gassed with oxygen. If the bacteria in the basin receive too little oxygen, they cannot optimally decompose the dissolved organic contaminants. However, too much gassing does not lead to better degradation, but only to higher energy costs for the plant operators. Another complicating factor is that both “too little” and “too much” gassing results in nitrous oxide. This gas is particularly greenhouse-active, 273 times more compared to CO2. Finding the “golden mean” and avoiding the production of this gas is therefore critical. Variolytics’ patented measurement technology monitors the formation of climate-damaging gases in the aeration basins of the sewage treatment plant and helps to reduce them. For this purpose, the gassing, but also other “adjusting screws”, of the aeration tanks are instantly adjusted by an intelligent control system for an optimal microbial decomposition of the organic matter on the basis of the measured values.

Since our pre-seed investment, the Variolytics team has not only made excellent technical progress, but has also received and already implemented the first orders to optimise wastewater treatment in sewage plants. Another promising application is the use of the sensor system solution to increase production in single-use bioreactors in the pharmaceutical industry in combination with proprietary AI algorithms.

Tobias Schwind, Managing Partner at FTTF

The EU has set itself the goal of achieving climate neutrality by 2050. In Germany, the Bundes-Klimaschutzgesetz (Federal Climate Protection Act) of 12 December 2019 came into force (BGBl.IS.2513), which provides for a reduction in greenhouse gas emissions, by a total of 55% by 2030 compared to 1990. Wastewater treatment is included in the Waste Management and Miscellaneous sector and has to reduce its emissions to 5 million tonnes of CO2 equivalents by 2030. With its technology, Variolytics offers an effective way to achieve these goals.

The potential of our system solution for sewage treatment plants (EmiCo – Emission Control) is currently being demonstrated in pilot projects in England and Stuttgart. Our plan is to go into production in 2023 to offer our technology to customers across Europe. The fresh capital from the seed financing is essential for this and will enable us to achieve our growth targets.

Johann Barlach, CFO of Variolytics

The seed investment from HTGF, FTTF and business angels is a big step towards scaling for Variolytics. In the coming year, Variolytics wants to expand its production and grow strongly in the European market. From currently 9 employees, the team wants to grow to 12 in the next months. The start-up wants to put a special focus on the areas of production, service/maintenance and sales.

Founding team of Variolytics: from left to right Dr. Matthias Stier (CEO), Johann Barlach (CFO) and Steffen Goerner (CTO)

About Variolytics
Variolytics is a Stuttgart-based technology company focused on measurement technologies and process optimization.  Dr. Matthias Stier (CEO), Johann Barlach (CFO) and Steffen Goerner (CTO) founded the company in March 2020, with the aim of making the invisible visible through innovative measurement technologies and thus contributing to a more sustainable society. The technology is used at wastewater treatment plants to monitor greenhouse gases in the wastewater treatment process and provide recommendations for actions to avoid them.

Contact
Dr. Matthias Stier, CEO
T: +49 711 2525 9620
info@variolytics.com

About Jörg Gebhardt
Cologne-based physicist Dr. Jörg Gebhardt looks back on a professional career spanning more than 30 years. He gained his first experience with AI in the early 1990s as part of the fuzzy wave that was sweeping across Europe at the time. In 2005, he founded aquatune, a company that develops optimization systems for the water and wastewater industry based on Artificial Neural Networks and Genetic Optimizers. After more than 40 successfully implemented projects, he sold aquatune GmbH to the American company Xylem, for which he subsequently worked as managing director for another 3 years. In the meantime, he is again self-employed as a consultant for AI applications. In 2021, he invested in the startup company Variolytics as a business angel and actively accompanies the business development by means of consulting and training.

Contact
KI-Beratung Dr. Gebhardt
T.: +49 6430 927-8613
joerg.gebhardt@variolytics.com

About FTTF – Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) GmbH
FTTF finances start-ups that use Fraunhofer technology. As a strong entrepreneurial partner, up to 250 TEUR are invested in the pre-seed phase and up to 5 MEUR in further financing rounds. In addition, the fund supports with extensive start-up experience and a broad investor network. The fund has a volume of 60 MEUR, already more than 30 portfolio companies and is supported by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and the European Investment Fund (EIF). 

Contact
Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) GmbH
www.fttf.eu
tobias.schwind@fttf.eu

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 680 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Contact Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Katharina Peters, Investment Manager
k.peters@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
Team GlassDollar
31. May 2023

GlassDollar connects leading corporations to cutting-edge startups to build the world of tomorrow

GlassDollar raises €2M (led by HTGF) to match startup solutions to corporate challenges and design the world of tomorrow. Through data, software and operational support, GlassDollar provides a Venture Clienting OS that helps corporate innovators use startup solutions to achieve tangible impact — on their organization and the world. Customers include leading innovation units at Bosch Siemens home-appliances, Volkswagen, A2A, LG, MTU and Infineon. In March, GlassDollar closed a
 
Press
30. May 2023

A European champion for fusion: Proxima Fusion spins out of the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics

Munich, May 30th 2023 - Proxima Fusion, a fusion start-up that is designing fusion power plants based on the stellarator concept, completed its pre-seed fundraising of €7m. The fundraising is co-led by Plural and UVC Partners, and joined by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and the Wilbe Group. Proxima Fusion is the first spin-out from the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP). The startup was founded by former scientists and engineers from the Max Planck IPP, MIT, and Google-X. Th
 
Press
23. May 2023

smartbax Announces Seed Financing of €1.2 Million to Develop Next-generation Antibiotics

Munich, Germany, May 23, 2023 – smartbax, a biotech company developing next-generation antibiotics against multi-drug resistant bacteria, today announced the close of its seed financing round of €1.2 million from Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), bringing smartbax’s total capital raised to €1.9 million. The funds will be used to advance smartbax’s small molecule antibiotics through preclinical studies, expand the company’s scientific tea

Presse

Variolytics erhält siebenstellige Seed-Finanzierung für klimaneutrale Kläranlagen

7. Dezember 2022

Patentierte Messtechnik und KI-basierte Prozesssteuerung zur Vermeidung von Treibhausgasen in der Abwasseraufbereitung an Kläranlagen.

  • Siebenstellige Seed-Finanzierung für patentierte Messtechnik und KI-basierte Prozessoptimierung
  • High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), FTTF und Dr. Jörg Gebhardt, sowie weitere Angel Investoren sind Teil der Finanzierungsrunde
  • Schlüsseltechnologie für Kläranlagen zur Erreichung ihrer Klimaziele
  • Variolytics System (EmiCo – Emission Control) bereits in Kläranlagen implementiert

Stuttgart, 15.11.2022 – Die knapp 10.000 kommunalen Kläranlagen in Deutschland verbrauchen jährlich etwa 4.400 Gigawattstunden (GWh) Strom und gehören damit zu den elektrischen Großverbrauchern. Das entspricht etwa dem Strombedarf von 900.000 Vier-Personen-Haushalten. Hinzu kommen die Treibhausgase Lachgas und Methan, die im Prozess der Abwasserbehandlung entstehen und maßgeblich zu den Emissionen einer Kläranlage beitragen. Jüngste Schätzungen gehen davon aus, dass Kläranlagen weltweit etwa so viele Treibhausgase emittieren wie die globale Luftfahrtindustrie. Es gibt jedoch gute Nachrichten für diesen Sektor. Das Stuttgarter Technologie-Unternehmen Variolytics kann mit ihrem neuen „Emission Control“-System bis zu 50% der gesamten Emissionen von Kläranlagen einsparen. Mehr noch: Durch eine KI-basierte Steuerung wird der Abwasserprozess dynamisch gesteuert und reduziert nicht nur Treibhausgase, sondern auch den Energie- und Chemikalienverbrauch.

Kläranlagen verursachen 2% vom globalen CO2 Ausstoß. Und das kann Variolytics durch Prozessoptimierung halbieren! Deswegen war es für mich als Chemieingenieurin ein no-brainer in die Variolytics zu investieren.

Dr. Katharina Peters, Investment Managerin beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Für die biologische Abwasserreinigung im Belebtschlammverfahren werden Becken mit Sauerstoff begast. Erhalten die Bakterien im Becken zu wenig Sauerstoff, können sie die gelösten organischen Verunreinigungen nicht optimal abbauen. Ein Zuviel an Begasung führt jedoch nicht zu einem besseren Abbau, sondern nur zu höheren Energiekosten für die Kläranlagenbetreiber. Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass sowohl bei einem „Zuwenig“ als auch bei „Zuviel“ Begasung Lachgas entsteht. Lachgas ist besonders Treibhausaktiv, nämlich 273-mal mehr im Vergleich zu CO2. Eine wesentliche Aufgabe besteht also darin die „Goldene Mitte“ für die Begasung zu finden und die Bildung des, auch als Distickstoffmonoxid bezeichneten, Gases zu vermeiden. Die patentierte Messtechnik von Variolytics überwacht in der Kläranlage die Entstehung der klimaschädlichen Gase in den Belebungsbecken und hilft, diese zu reduzieren. Dazu wird auf Basis der Messwerte die Begasung, aber auch andere „Stellschrauben“, der Belebungsbecken über eine intelligente Steuerung umgehend für einen optimalen mikrobiellen Abbau der Organik angepasst.

Seit unserem Pre-Seed Investment hat das Team von Variolytics nicht nur hervorragende technische Fortschritte erzielt, sondern auch erste Aufträge zur Optimierung der Wasseraufbereitung bei Kläranlagen erhalten und bereits umgesetzt. Vielversprechend ist auch der Einsatz der Sensor-Systemlösung zur Produktionssteigerung bei Einmal-Bio-Reaktoren in der Pharma-Branche kombiniert mit eigenen AI-Algorithmen.

Tobias Schwind, Managing Partner beim FTTF

Die EU hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, bis 2050 Klimaneutralität zu erreichen. In Deutschland trat das Bundes-Klimaschutzgesetz vom 12. Dezember 2019 in Kraft (BGBl.IS.2513), das bis 2030 eine Verringerung der Treibhausgasemissionen, um insgesamt 55 % im Vergleich zu 1990 vorsieht. Die Abwasserbehandlung ist dem Sektor Abfallwirtschaft und Sonstiges zugeordnet und muss seine Emissionen bis 2030 auf 5 Millionen t CO2-Äquivalente senken. Variolytics bietet mit seiner Technologie einen effektiven Weg zur Erreichung dieser Ziele.

Das Potenzial unserer Systemlösung für Kläranlagen (EmiCo – Emission Control) wird derzeit im Rahmen von Pilotprojekten in England und in Stuttgart demonstriert. Für 2023 planen wir eine Produktion, um Kunden in ganz Europa unsere Technologie anbieten zu können. Das frische Kapital aus der Seed-Finanzierung ist hierfür essenziell wichtig und wird uns helfen, unsere Wachstumsziele zu erreichen.

Johann Barlach, CFO von Variolytics

Das Seed-Investment durch den HTGF, FTTF und Business Angels bedeutet für Variolytics einen großen Schritt in Richtung Skalierung. Im nächsten Jahr plant Variolytics einen Ausbau seiner Produktion und starkes Wachstum im europäischen Markt. Von aktuell 9 Mitarbeitenden möchte das Team in den kommenden Monaten auf 12 wachsen. Einen besonderen Fokus will das Start-Up dabei auf Produktion, Service/Wartung und den Vertrieb legen.

Gründerteam von Variolytics: v. l. n. r. Dr. Matthias Stier (CEO), Johann Barlach (CFO) und Steffen Goerner (CTO)

Über Variolytics
Variolytics ist ein Stuttgarter Technologie-Unternehmen, das sich auf Messtechnik und Prozessoptimierung fokussiert. Dr. Matthias Stier (CEO), Johann Barlach (CFO) und Steffen Goerner (CTO) haben die Firma im März 2020 mit dem Ziel gegründet, durch innovative Messtechnik das Unsichtbare sichtbar zu machen und so einen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft zu leisten. Eingesetzt wird die Technologie an Kläranlagen, um Treibhausgase im Abwasserreinigungsprozess zu überwachen und Handlungsempfehlung zur Vermeidung bereitzustellen.

Kontakt:
Dr. Matthias Stier, CEO
T: +49 711 2525 9620
info@variolytics.com

Über Jörg Gebhardt
Der Kölner Physiker Dr. Jörg Gebhardt blickt auf eine mehr als 30-jährige Berufslaufbahn zurück. Seine ersten Erfahrungen mit KI sammelte er zu Beginn der 90er Jahre im Rahmen der Fuzzy-Welle, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt über ganz Europa schwappte. 2005 gründete er die Firma aquatune, welche Optimierungssysteme für die Wasser- und Abwasserbranche auf der Basis von Künstlichen Neuronalen Netzen und Genetischen Optimierern entwickelt. Nach mehr als 40 erfolgreich implementierten Projekten verkaufte er die aquatune GmbH an das amerikanische Unternehmen Xylem, für welches er in der Folge noch 3 Jahre als Geschäftsführer tätig war. Inzwischen ist er wieder selbständig als Berater für KI-Anwendungen. Im Jahr 2021 hat er als Business Angel in das Startup-Unternehmen Variolytics investiert und begleitet die Geschäftsentwicklung aktiv mittels Beratung und Training.

Kontakt
KI-Beratung Dr. Gebhardt
T.: +49 6430 927-8613
joerg.gebhardt@variolytics.com

Über den FTTF – Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) GmbH
Der FTTF finanziert Start-Ups die Fraunhofer Technologie nutzen. Als starker unternehmerischer Partner werden in der Pre-Seed-Phase bis zu 250 TEUR und in weiteren Finanzierungsrunden bis zu 5 MEUR investiert. Darüber hinaus unterstützt der Fonds mit umfassender Gründungserfahrung und einem breiten Investorennetzwerk. Der Fonds hat ein Volumen von 60 MEUR, bereits über 30 Portfolio-Unternehmen und wird von der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und dem Europäischen Investitionsfonds (EIF) unterstützt.

Kontakt
Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) GmbH
www.fttf.eu
tobias.schwind@fttf.eu

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 680 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Katharina Peters, Investment Managerin
k.peters@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
Team GlassDollar
31. Mai 2023

GlassDollar bringt führende Unternehmen mit innovativen Start-ups zusammen, um die Welt von morgen zu gestalten

GlassDollar sammelt 2 Millionen Euro in einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde (angeführt vom HTGF) ein, um die Lösungen von Start-ups an die Herausforderungen von Unternehmen anzupassen und die Welt von morgen zu gestalten. Durch die Bereitstellung von Daten, Software und operativer Unterstützung bietet GlassDollar ein Venture-Clienting-Betriebssystem, das Innovatoren in Unternehmen dabei unterstützt mit Start-up-Lösungen einen messbaren Impact auf ihre Organisation und die Welt zu schaffen
 
Presse
30. Mai 2023

Ein neuer EU-Vorreiter für Fusion: Proxima Fusion wird von ehemaligen Forschern des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik gegründet

München, 30. Mai 2023 – Proxima Fusion, ein Start-up, das Fusionskraftwerke auf der Grundlage des Stellarator-Konzepts entwickelt, hat sein Pre-Seed-Fundraising in Höhe von 7 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen. Das Fundraising wird gemeinsam von Plural und UVC Partners geleitet und vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und der Wilbe Gruppe unterstützt. Proxima Fusion ist das erste Spin-out aus dem Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP): Das Start-up wurde von ehemaligen Wissenschaftlern
 
Presse
23. Mai 2023

smartbax schließt Seed-Finanzierung über 1,2 Millionen Euro ab zur Entwicklung innovativer Antibiotika gegen multi-resistente Bakterien

München, 23. Mai 2023 – smartbax, ein Biotech-Unternehmen, das Antibiotika der nächsten Generation entwickelt, gab heute den Abschluss einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 1,2 Millionen Euro mit dem Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) und dem High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) bekannt. Damit hat smartbax bisher insgesamt 1,9 Millionen Euro eingeworben. Mit dem neuen Kapital wird das Unternehmen seine präklinischen Studien zur Erforschung von niedermolekularen („small molecules