Press

Pixel Photonics, a Quantum technology spin-off from WWU Münster, raised 1.45 million euros in seed-funding from HTGF, Quantonation and business angels

March 29, 2022

Münster, 29th of March 2022 Pixel Photonics, a start-up out of the physics department of WWU Münster founded in 2020, has raised 1.45 million euros in a seed-round from German VC fund High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), French quantum-focused VC fund Quantonation as well as the photonic industry veteran Dr. Hendrik Sabert.

Pixel Photonics develops highly scalable integrated-optical single-photon detectors that enable scaling of solutions in quantum computing, QKD and imaging among others. The underlying waveguide based SNSPD approach could be used to boost performance of photonic quantum computing, quantum key distribution, microscopy, or other sensing applications, that require highly efficient detection of light at single photon level. During the incorporation, Pixel Photonics was supported by the REACH EUREGIO Start-up Center in Münster as well as an EXIST research transfer grant.

The founding team of Pixel Photonics: Christoph Seidenstücker, Fabian Beutel, Nicolai Walter, Martin Wolff and Dr. Wladick Hartmann (from left). © ESC/REACH Münster / Thomas Mohn.

The seed-funding provides us with much needed capital to expand our team and to shorten our time-to-market in the rapidly evolving market for single photon detectors. With the financial support and commitment of our investors we can leverage national and international research programs in quantum technologies effectively. We are proud as a team, that such high-profile venture funds as Quantonation and HTGF are sharing our vision.

Nicolai Walter, CEO and co-founder Pixel Photonics GmbH

Quantonation and HTGF have co-led the seed round together with serial founder, former venture capital manager and photonics industry veteran Dr. Hendrik Sabert. With this funding Pixel Photonics will further expand its international team in Germany and its facilities at the Center for Nanotechnology (CeNTech) in Münster and accelerate the commercialization of its products. In addition, Pixel Photonics will benefit from Quantonation’s outstanding international network within the quantum technology community as well as from access to HTGF’s extensive industrial technologies portfolio.

Pixel Photonic’s unique technological approach to single photon detection combines scalability with high detection efficiency at very high speed. This makes new applications feasible and helps to scale the number of channels in quantum computing or data rates in quantum cryptography without increasing technical complexity. The team of physicists turned entrepreneurs, which emerged from the groups of Prof. Pernice an Prof. Schuck, persuaded us by its vision and expertise.

Christophe Jurczak, partner at Quantonation

The idea behind Pixel’s detector design was born years ago out of research of Prof. Wolfram Pernice and Prof. Carsten Schuck. Researchers were looking for single photon detectors with multiple channels in combination with additional functionality provided by integrated optics. This resulted in the first sale of a detector with four channels for research purposes early this year. Systems with 32 or more channels will be introduced in the near future.

Impressions from the lab – multi-channel single photon detector from Pixel Photonics GmbH. © Pixel Photonics GmbH / Dr. Wladick Hartmann.

In addition to venture capital funding, Pixel Photonics and the physics department of the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität (WWU) Münster have been awarded 2.6 million euros in research funding from the Federal Ministry of Education­ and Research (BMBF) to use quantum physics to improve data security. The so-called QSAMIS project, which is funded by BMBF’s “Enabling Start-up” grant for quantum technologies and photonics, aims to develop the first gigabit Quantum key distribution (QKD) system to enable quantum-secure communication for broadband networks.

Deep-tech start-ups built on outstanding academic research are one of the focus areas for investments of HTGF. Pixel Photonics’ single photon detectors offer promising applications in the quantum technologies market and enable innovation in further industrial and biomedical applications. Additionally, we are excited about our third investment with our colleagues from Quantonation.

Dr. Gernot Berger, investment manager at HTGF


About Pixel Photonics
Pixel Photonics was founded in 2020 as a spin-off from the groups of Prof. Wolfram Pernice and Prof. Carsten Schuck at WWU Münster by Nicolai Walter, Dr. Wladick Hartmann, Fabian Beutel, Martin Wolff and Christoph Seidenstücker with the goal to commercialize highly scalable single-photon detectors based on a waveguide based SNSPD approach. Applications for Pixel Photonics’ technology range from optical quantum computing, Quantum key distribution (QKD), microscopy to metrology and sensing. The company consists of an international team with 8 FTEs and has received venture funding from Quantonation and HTGF as well as research funding from the Federal Ministry of Education¬ and Research (BMBF) in addition to the EXIST research transfer grant.

Pixel Photonics GmbH
CeNTech – Center for Nanotechnology
Heisenbergstraße 11
48149 Münster, Germany
Tel: +49 251 83 63 835
info@pixelphotonics.com
https://pixelphotonics.com

About Quantonation
Quantonation is the first venture capital fund dedicated to quantum technologies and innovative physics. Areas such as material design, high-performance computing, cybersecurity or ultra-precise detection are now driven by innovation based on these disruptive technologies. Quantonation aims to support their transition to marketable products for the industry. Quantonation is headquartered in Paris, France, and invests worldwide.
Learn more: https://www.quantonation.com

About REACH
The North Rhine-Westphalian Ministry for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy has been funding the establishment and work of a start-up center under the leadership of the WWU with a total of around 20 million euros since 2019. This has resulted in the REACH EUREGIO Start-up Center with the participation of the cooperation partners Münster University of Applied Sciences, Digital Hub münsterLAND and the University of Twente. The Start-up Center provides the necessary infrastructure and resources to support those interested in founding their own start-ups in the universities. As a university start-up center, REACH is committed to the transfer of scientific knowledge into start-up practice.
Learn more: https://www.reach-euregio.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas.

To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies. Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de
Investor contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Gernot Berger, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 139
g.berger@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
18. May 2022

Ventech, HTGF and Renown Business Angels Invest More than €4 Million in the Retail Tech Startup 7Learnings

7Learnings has secured more than €4 Million from Ventech (lead investor), HTGF and Celonis managers in its latest funding roundSince 2019, 7Learnings offers retailers a SaaS solution for machine learning-based pricing & marketing optimizationThe software increases profits for its clients by >10% on averageThe company targets to make its software the leading platform for retail optimization of tomorrow Berlin, May 18, 2022 - The start-up was founded in 2019 by Martin Nowak, Ei
 
Press
12. May 2022

Very successful exit for HTGF: AMCS to acquire Quentic – strong partners for a green future

With its modular SaaS solution, Quentic simplifies management and reporting in the fields of environmental, health, safety and quality (EHSQ) management and environment, social and governance (ESG).The acquisition by AMCS will further strengthen Quentic GmbH’s position as one of the leading providers of integrated software solutions in EHSQ and ESG.Together with a business angel, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) was the first investor in the company back in 2008 and has closely supported its
 
Press
3. May 2022

Tubulis Closes €60 Million Series B Financing to Accelerate its ADC Pipeline and Expand its Breadth of Platform Technologies

MUNICH, GERMANY, May 3, 2022 – Tubulis today announced the successful completion of a €60 million (USD $63 million) Series B financing led by Andera Partners with participation from new investors Evotec and Fund+. All existing investors also participated in the round, including Bayern Kapital (with Wachstumsfonds Bayern 2), BioMedPartners, coparion, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), OCCIDENT and Seventure Partners. The new capital will be used to advance Tubulis’ proprietary pipeline of

Presse

Pixel Photonics, ein Quantentechnologie Spin-off der WWU Münster, erhält 1,45 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung vom HTGF, Quantonation und Branchenexperten

29. März 2022

Münster, 29. März 2022 – Pixel Photonics, ein 2020 gegründetes Spin-off aus dem Fachbereich Physik der WWU Münster, hat in einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde 1,45 Millionen Euro vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), dem auf Quantentechnologie spezialisierten französischen VC-Fonds Quantonation sowie von Dr. Hendrik Sabert, einem ausgewiesenen Kenner der Photonik-Branche, erhalten.

Pixel Photonics entwickelt hochskalierbare Einzelphotonen-Detektoren mit integrierter Photonik, die eine Skalierung von Lösungen u.a. in den Bereichen Quantencomputing, QKD und Bildgebung ermöglicht. Der zugrundeliegende wellenleiterintegrierte SNSPD-Ansatz kann für photonisches Quantencomputing, Quantenschlüsselverteilung, Mikroskopie oder andere Sensoranwendungen eingesetzt werden, die eine hocheffektive Detektion von Licht bis auf Einzelphotonenebene erfordern. Während der Gründungsphase wurde Pixel Photonics vom REACH EUREGIO Start-up Center in Münster sowie EXIST unterstützt.

Das Gründerteam von “Pixel Photonics”: v. l. n. r. Christoph Seidenstücker, Fabian Beutel, Nicolai Walter, Martin Wolff und Dr. Wladick Hartmann. © ESC/REACH Münster / Thomas Mohn.

Die Seed-Finanzierung verschafft uns die notwendigen Kapitalressourcen, um unser Team erheblich zu erweitern und unsere Zeit bis zur Markteinführung auf dem rapide wachsenden Markt für Einzelphotonen-Detektoren zu verkürzen. Mit der Finanzierung und dem Einsatz unserer Investoren sind wir in der Lage, nationale und internationale Forschungsprogramme zu Quantentechnologien optimal zu nutzen. Als Team sind wir sehr stolz darauf, dass so renommierte Investmentfonds wie Quantonation und der HTGF unsere Vision teilen.

Nicolai Walter, CEO und Mitgründer Pixel Photonics GmbH

Quantonation und der HTGF haben gemeinsam mit dem Seriengründer, ehemaligen Venture Capital Manager und Photonik-Branchenkenner Dr. Hendrik Sabert die Seed-Finanzierungsrunde angeführt. Mit dieser Finanzierung wird Pixel Photonics sein internationales Team in Deutschland weiter ausbauen, seine Räumlichkeiten im Center for Nanotechnology (CeNTech) in Münster erweitern und die Kommerzialisierung seiner Produkte beschleunigen. Dabei profitiert Pixel Photonics vom hervorragenden internationalen Netzwerk innerhalb der Quantentechnologie-Community von Quantonation sowie vom großen Industrietechnologie-Portfolio des HTGF.

Pixel Photonics einzigartiger technologischer Ansatz zur Einzelphotonendetektion verbindet Skalierbarkeit mit einer hohen Detektionseffizienz bei sehr hoher Geschwindigkeit. Dies ermöglicht neue Anwendungen sowie eine Skalierung der Anzahl der verwendeten Photonen im Quantencomputing oder der Datenraten in der Quantenkryptographie ohne Erhöhung der technischen Komplexität. Das Team aus Physikern und Unternehmern, das aus den Gruppen von Prof. Pernice und Prof. Schuck hervorgegangen ist, hat uns mit seiner Vision und seinem Fachwissen überzeugt.

Christophe Jurczak, Partner bei Quantonation

Impressionen aus dem Labor – mehrkanaliger Einzelphotonendetektor der Pixel Photonics GmbH. © Pixel Photonics GmbH / Dr. Wladick Hartmann.

Neben dieser wichtigen Finanzierung durch die Investoren wurden Pixel Photonics und dem Fachbereich Physik der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität (WWU) Münster 2,6 Millionen Euro an Forschungsgeldern vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) bewilligt, um mit Hilfe der Quantenphysik die Datensicherheit zu verbessern. Ziel des so genannten QSAMIS-Projekts, das im Rahmen des BMBF-Programms „Enabling Start-up – Unternehmensgründungen in den Quantentechnologien und der Photonik“ gefördert wird, ist die Entwicklung des ersten Gigabit-QKD-Systems (QKD – Quantum Key Distribution) mit einer deutlich erhöhten Übertragungsrate, um eine quantensichere Kommunikation für Breitbandnetze zu ermöglichen.

Deep-Tech-Start-ups, die auf herausragender akademischer Forschung aufsetzen, sind einer der Investmentschwerpunkte des HTGF. Die Einzelphotonendetektoren von Pixel Photonics bieten vielversprechende Einsatzmöglichkeiten im Markt der Quantentechnologien und ermöglichen darüber hinaus Innovationen in weiteren industriellen und biomedizinischen Anwendungen. Wir freuen uns zudem sehr über die dritte Investition mit unseren Kollegen von Quantonation.

Dr. Gernot Berger, Investment Manager beim HTGF

Die Idee für das Detektordesign von Pixel Photonics entstand vor Jahren aus der Forschung von Prof. Wolfram Pernice und Prof. Carsten Schuck. Wissenschaftler äußerten auf Konferenzen wiederholt den Bedarf nach Einzelphotonendetektoren mit zahlreichen Kanälen in Kombination mit zusätzlichen Funktionalitäten aus der integrierten Optik. Diese Nachfrage führte zum ersten Verkauf und zur Auslieferung eines Vierkanaldetektors für Forschungszwecke Anfang dieses Jahres und es ist geplant, zeitnah Detektorsysteme mit 32 oder mehr Kanälen anzubieten.


Über Pixel Photonics
Pixel Photonics wurde 2020 als Spin-off aus den Arbeitsgruppen von Prof. Wolfram Pernice und Prof. Carsten Schuck an der WWU Münster von Nicolai Walter, Dr. Wladick Hartmann, Fabian Beutel, Martin Wolff und Christoph Seidenstücker mit dem Ziel gegründet, hoch skalierbare Einzelphotonendetektoren auf Basis des wellenleiterintegrierten SNSPD-Ansatzes zu kommerzialisieren. Die Anwendungsgebiete für die Technologie von Pixel Photonics reichen von optischem Quantencomputing, Quantum Key Distribution (QKD), Mikroskopie bis hin zu Metrologie und Sensorik. Das Unternehmen besteht aus einem internationalen Team mit 8 Vollzeitkräften und hat neben einer EXIST-Förderung eine Risikokapitalfinanzierung von Quantonation und HTGF sowie eine Forschungsförderung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) erhalten.

Pixel Photonics GmbH
CeNTech – Center for Nanotechnology
Heisenbergstraße 11
48149 Münster, Germany
Tel: +49 251 83 63 835
info@pixelphotonics.com
https://pixelphotonics.com

Über Quantonation
Quantonation ist der erste Venture-Capital-Fonds, der sich auf Quantentechnologien und innovative Physik spezialisiert hat. Bereiche wie Materialdesign, Hochleistungs-Computing, Cybersicherheit oder ultrapräzise Detektion werden heute durch Innovationen auf der Grundlage dieser bahnbrechenden Technologien vorangetrieben. Quantonation will deren Übergang zu marktfähigen Produkten für die Industrie unterstützen. Quantonation hat seinen Hauptsitz in Paris, Frankreich, und investiert weltweit.
Erfahren Sie mehr: https://www.quantonation.com

Über REACH
Das nordrhein-westfälische Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie fördert seit 2019 den Aufbau und die Arbeit eines Start-up-Centers unter Federführung der WWU mit insgesamt rund 20 Millionen Euro. Daraus ist unter Beteiligung der Kooperationspartner FH Münster, Digital Hub münsterLAND und der Universität Twente das REACH EUREGIO Start-up Center entstanden. Das Start-up Center bietet die nötige Infrastruktur und die Ressourcen, um Gründungsinteressierte in den Hochschulen beim Aufbau ihrer Start-ups zu unterstützen. Als Hochschul-Start-up-Center setzt sich das REACH für den Transfer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in die Gründungspraxis ein.
Erfahren Sie mehr: https://www.reach-euregio.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.800 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de
Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Gernot Berger, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 139
g.berger@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
18. Mai 2022

Ventech, HTGF und Business Angels investieren mehr als 4 Mio. EUR in das Berliner Retail-Tech Unternehmen 7Learnings

Das Unternehmen hat mehr als 4 Mio. EUR an zusätzlichen Investitionen von Ventech (Lead Investor), HTGF und Celonis-Führungskräften erhaltenSeit 2019 bietet das Startup 7Learnings Händlern eine SaaS-Lösung für die auf Machine Learning basierende Preis- und MarketingoptimierungDie Lösung des Unternehmens steigert die Gewinne von Händlern im Durchschnitt um >10%.Das Unternehmen hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, seine Software zur führenden Plattform für Retail Optimization auszubauen
 
Presse
12. Mai 2022

Sehr erfolgreicher Exit für den HTGF: AMCS wird Quentic übernehmen – starke Partner für eine grüne Zukunft

Quentic vereinfacht mit seiner modular aufgebauten Software-as-a-Service-Lösung das Management und Berichtswesen in den Bereichen EHSQ (Umweltmanagement, Gesundheitsschutz, Arbeitsschutz, und Qualitätsmanagement) und ESG (Environment, Social & Governance).Mit der Übernahme durch AMCS wird die Position der Quentic GmbH als einer der führenden Anbieter für integrative Softwarelösungen für EHSQ und ESG weiter gestärkt.Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) war 2008 der erste Investor, g
 
Presse
3. Mai 2022

Tubulis schließt eine Serie-B-Finanzierung in Höhe von 60 Millionen Euro ab, um seine ADC-Produktpipeline zu beschleunigen und das Spektrum der Plattformtechnologien zu erweitern

MÜNCHEN, 3. Mai 2022 - Tubulis gibt heute den erfolgreichen Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierung in Höhe von 60 Millionen Euro (63 Millionen US-Dollar) unter der Führung von Andera Partners und mit Beteiligung der neuen Investoren Evotec und Fund+ bekannt. Alle bestehenden Investoren beteiligten sich ebenfalls an der Runde, darunter Bayern Kapital (mit Wachstumsfonds Bayern 2), BioMedPartners, coparion, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), OCCIDENT und Seventure Partners. Das neue Kapital nutz