Press

Improving ARDS treatment with digital twins: Ebenbuild secures seed financing round led by Bayern Kapital and High-Tech Gründerfonds

March 31, 2022

Munich/Bonn/Landshut, 31 March 2022 – Software start-up Ebenbuild has secured seven-figure funding as part of a seed financing round. Alongside lead investors High-Tech Gründerfonds and Bayern Kapital, the venture and growth capital organisation of the state of Bavaria, a number of well-known business angels also invested in the Munich-based HealthTech start-up, with the funding amounting to €2.5 million. Ebenbuild develops personalised lung simulation models based on patient data. These “digital twins” are then used to improve treatment outcomes for ICU patients suffering from ARDS, or acute respiratory distress syndrome, who are on ventilators.

ARDS (“Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome“) is a serious, often fatal lung condition that patients usually develop as a result of other illnesses. It affects one in ten ICU patients and some 23 percent of patients on ventilators – and more than three million people worldwide each year. Despite advances in diagnosis and intensive medical treatment, around 40 percent of patients still die due to respiratory failure. Since the start of the Covid pandemic, these figures have risen even higher, with over 80 percent of deaths following a Covid infection attributable to acute respiratory failure. However, ARDS is still detected too rarely around the world and is therefore undertreated, representing a major problem. Adequate treatment is vitally important.

A breakthrough now appears to be on the horizon owing Ebenbuild GmbH and its software. The company was founded in April 2019 by Dr. Kei Müller, Dr. Jonas Biehler, Prof. Wolfgang Wall and Dr. Karl-Robert Wichmann following many years of research at the Technical University of Munich. With its product, the company aims to fundamentally improve the mechanical ventilation of ICU patients with ARDS and drive significant, long-term improvements in treatment outcomes. As part of this endeavour, the company uses patient data, such as medical images, to develop personalised simulation models of patients’ lungs. These digital twins, as they are known, can make it significantly easier to pinpoint the best therapy solution for patients. Ebenbuild’s virtual models are able to predict airflow, pressure and tissue strain within the lungs and use this data to evaluate digital biomarkers. This gives doctors an accurate picture of how mechanical ventilation will affect individual patients, allowing them to make sound treatment decisions.

We strongly believe that our product is ready for clinical application after many years of preparation and over 15 years of international, cutting-edge research. Our job now is to utilise this new funding to advance the further development of our prototype so that we’re ultimately ready to launch on the market and are able to gain medicinal product approval. We’d like to thank our investors for the trust they’ve placed in us, and we look forward to working together.

Ebenbuild CEO Dr. Kei Müller

Ebenbuild is developing an incredible piece of technology that combines physics-based simulation with AI methods. The many years of experience that the founders have amassed in the fields of biomechanics, artificial intelligence, software engineering and research make Ebenbuild an attractive partner for a growing number of renowned clinical institutions and biotech companies. And for us, too. We share the company’s long-term vision and are delighted to support Ebenbuild as it continues its journey.

Dr. Georg Ried, one of the two managing directors at Bayern Kapital

Ebenbuild addresses a very relevant problem in mechanical ventilation in intensive care units. Not only patients can benefit from the solution, but also doctors and clinics, as it is intended to reduce lung damage, shorten hospital stays and thus also reduce costs. We look forward to supporting the team on its further journey.

Niels Sharman, investment manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Ebenbuild founders

About Ebenbuild
Ebenbuild is a health tech pioneer that creates personalized treatment recommendations for mechanical ventilation and ICU patient care for clinical users. Founded in Munich in 2019, the company develops software tools that generate precise patient-specific simulation models of lungs based on patient data, so-called digital twins of the lungs. These enable pinpoint individual medical decisions for intensive care patients with acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). In this way, Ebenbuild aims to make a significant contribution to improving treatment as well as reducing mortality.
www.ebenbuild.com

About Bayern Kapital
Bayern Kapital GmbH, based in Landshut, was founded on the initiative of the Bavarian government in 1995. It is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Bavarian LfA Förderbank. As the venture/growth capital organisation of the State of Bavaria, Bayern Kapital provides equity capital financing (ticket size 0,25 – 25 Mio. €) for the founders and their innovative technology companies in Bavaria. Bayern Kapital manages specialized investment funds with a total volume of around €700m. So far, it has invested more than €370m in about 300 innovative companies in the fields of technology in various sectors including life science, software & IT, medical technology, materials and new materials, nanotechnology and environmental technology. Some of the early financed startups realized an IPO (e.G. MorphoSys, voxeljet, Immunic) or gets market leader like EOS Electro Optical Systems, congatec, parcelLab, SimScale and many others. In this way, more than 8000 long-term jobs in sustainable companies have been created in Bavaria.
www.bayernkapital.de/en

Press contact Bayern Kapital
IWK Communication Partner
Christoph Meinersmann
Ohmstraße 1, 80802 München
+49 89 200030-36
bayernkapital@iwk-cp.com
www.iwk-cp.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.

Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de
Investor contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Niels Sharman, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 187
n.sharman@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
18. May 2022

Ventech, HTGF and Renown Business Angels Invest More than €4 Million in the Retail Tech Startup 7Learnings

7Learnings has secured more than €4 Million from Ventech (lead investor), HTGF and Celonis managers in its latest funding roundSince 2019, 7Learnings offers retailers a SaaS solution for machine learning-based pricing & marketing optimizationThe software increases profits for its clients by >10% on averageThe company targets to make its software the leading platform for retail optimization of tomorrow Berlin, May 18, 2022 - The start-up was founded in 2019 by Martin Nowak, Ei
 
Press
12. May 2022

Very successful exit for HTGF: AMCS to acquire Quentic – strong partners for a green future

With its modular SaaS solution, Quentic simplifies management and reporting in the fields of environmental, health, safety and quality (EHSQ) management and environment, social and governance (ESG).The acquisition by AMCS will further strengthen Quentic GmbH’s position as one of the leading providers of integrated software solutions in EHSQ and ESG.Together with a business angel, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) was the first investor in the company back in 2008 and has closely supported its
 
Press
3. May 2022

Tubulis Closes €60 Million Series B Financing to Accelerate its ADC Pipeline and Expand its Breadth of Platform Technologies

MUNICH, GERMANY, May 3, 2022 – Tubulis today announced the successful completion of a €60 million (USD $63 million) Series B financing led by Andera Partners with participation from new investors Evotec and Fund+. All existing investors also participated in the round, including Bayern Kapital (with Wachstumsfonds Bayern 2), BioMedPartners, coparion, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), OCCIDENT and Seventure Partners. The new capital will be used to advance Tubulis’ proprietary pipeline of

Presse

Digitale Lungenzwillinge zur besseren ARDS-Behandlung: Ebenbuild erhält Seed-Finanzierung, angeführt durch Bayern Kapital und High-Tech Gründerfonds

31. März 2022

München/Bonn/Landshut, 31. März 2022 – Das Software-Start-up Ebenbuild aus dem Health-Tech-Bereich hat eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde im siebenstelligen Bereich abgeschlossen. Neben dem High-Tech Gründerfonds und Bayern Kapital, der Venture- und Growth-Capital-Gesellschaft des Freistaats, als Lead-Investoren beteiligten sich mehrere renommierte Business Angels am Münchner Start-up. Insgesamt umfasst die Finanzierung 2,5 Mio. Euro. Ebenbuild entwickelt auf Basis von Patientendaten personalisierte Simulationsmodelle von Lungen, sogenannte digitale Zwillinge, um die Behandlungsergebnisse bei künstlicher Beatmung von Intensivpatienten mit akutem Atemnotsyndrom (ARDS) zu verbessern.

Das akute Atemnotsyndrom, kurz ARDS („Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome“), ist eine schwere und oft tödlich verlaufende Komplikation der Lunge, die in der Regel als Folge anderer Erkrankungen auftritt. Jeder zehnte Intensivpatient und rund 23 Prozent aller Beatmungspatienten sind betroffen – weltweit pro Jahr mehr als 3 Millionen Menschen. Trotz der Fortschritte in Diagnose sowie intensiver medizinischer Behandlung versterben auch heute noch rund 40 Prozent der erkrankten Personen an Lungenversagen. Seit Beginn der Coronapandemie sind die Zahlen sogar noch gestiegen: Mehr als 80 Prozent aller Sterbefälle nach einer Corona-Infektion lassen sich auf akutes Lungenversagen zurückführen. Das große Problem: ARDS wird weltweit noch immer zu selten erkannt und unterbehandelt. Im Falle einer Erkrankung sind adäquate Behandlungsmethoden entscheidend.

Einen Durchbruch verspricht hier die Software der Ebenbuild GmbH. Das Unternehmen wurde im April 2019 von Dr. Kei Müller, Dr. Jonas Biehler, Prof. Wolfgang Wall und Dr. Karl-Robert Wichmann nach langjähriger Forschung an der Technischen Universität München gegründet. Das Unternehmen schickt sich mit seinem Produkt an, die künstliche Beatmung von Intensivpatienten mit akutem Atemnotsyndrom von Grund auf zu verbessern und die Behandlungsergebnisse dauerhaft und deutlich zu verbessern. Dafür entwickelt das Unternehmen auf Grundlage von Patientendaten wie medizinischen Bildern personalisierte Simulationsmodelle der Patientenlungen. Diese „digitalen Zwillinge“ können die Suche nach der optimalen Therapielösung für den Erkrankten erheblich erleichtern. Die virtuellen Modelle von Ebenbuild sind in der Lage, Luftströme, einwirkende Kräfte und Gewebedehnungen innerhalb der Lunge vorherzusagen und daraus digitale Biomarker zu berechnen. Das hilft Ärzten, die Auswirkungen der Beatmung auf den einzelnen Patienten genau abzuwägen und fundierte Behandlungsentscheidungen zu treffen.  

Wir sind überzeugt, dass wir nun mit unserem Produkt nach jahrelanger Vorbereitung und mehr als 15 Jahren internationaler Spitzenforschung den klinischen Einsatz ins Auge fassen können. Jetzt gilt es, mit den neuen finanziellen Mitteln die Weiterentwicklung unseres Prototypen voranzutreiben, um schließlich die Marktreife und Zulassung als Medizinprodukt zu erhalten. Wir bedanken uns herzlich bei unseren Investoren für ihr Vertrauen und freuen uns auf eine gute Zusammenarbeit.

Ebenbuild-Geschäftsführer und CEO Dr. Kei Müller

Ebenbuild entwickelt eine herausragende Technologie, die physikbasierte Simulation und KI-Methoden miteinander kombiniert. Die jahrelange Expertise der Gründer in den Bereichen Biomechanik, Künstliche Intelligenz, Software-Engineering und Forschung macht Ebenbuild zu einem attraktiven Partner für eine stetig wachsende Zahl namhafter klinischer Einrichtungen und Biotech-Unternehmen als auch für uns. Wir teilen die langfristige Vision des Unternehmens und freuen uns, Ebenbuild auf dem weiteren Weg zu unterstützen.

Dr. Georg Ried, einer der beiden Geschäftsführer von Bayern Kapital

Ebenbuild adressiert ein sehr relevantes Problem in der künstlichen Beatmung auf Intensivstationen. Von der Lösung würden nicht nur Patienten profitieren, sondern auch Ärzte und Kliniken, da so Lungenschäden reduziert, Liegezeiten verkürzt und dadurch auch Kosten gesenkt werden würden. Wir freuen uns darauf, das Team auf seinem weiteren Weg zu unterstützen.

Niels Sharman, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Ebenbuild Gründer

Über die Ebenbuild GmbH
Ebenbuild ist ein Vorreiter im Bereich Health Tech, der für klinische Anwender personalisierte Behandlungsempfehlungen für die mechanische Beatmung und die Pflege von Intensivpatienten erstellt. Das 2019 in München gegründete Unternehmen entwickelt Softwarewerkzeuge, die auf Basis von Patientendaten präzise individuelle Simulationsmodelle von Lungen erzeugen, sogenannte digitale Zwillinge der Lunge, die punktgenaue patientenspezifische medizinische Entscheidungen bei Intensivpatienten mit akutem Atemnotsyndrom (ARDS) ermöglichen. Dadurch will Ebenbuild einen erheblichen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Behandlung sowie zur Senkung der Mortalität leisten.
www.ebenbuild.com

Über Bayern Kapital
Die Bayern Kapital GmbH mit Sitz in Landshut wurde auf Initiative der Bayerischen Staatsregierung 1995 als 100-prozentige Tochtergesellschaft der LfA Förderbank Bayern gegründet. Bayern Kapital stellt als Venture-/Growth-Capital-Gesellschaft des Freistaats Bayern den Gründern innovativer High-Tech-Unternehmen und innovativen Technologieunternehmen in Bayern Beteiligungskapital zur Verfügung. Bayern Kapital verwaltet spezialisierte Beteiligungsfonds mit einem Beteiligungsvolumen von rund 700 Millionen Euro. Bislang hat Bayern Kapital rund 370 Millionen Euro Beteiligungskapital in rund 300 innovative technologie-orientierte Unternehmen aus verschiedensten Branchen investiert, darunter Life Sciences, Software & IT, Werkstoffe & Neue Materialien, Nanotechnologie sowie Umwelttechnologie. Bayern Kapital hat die zum Teil börsennotierten und in ihren Branchen heute als Marktführer geltenden Unternehmen EOS Electro Optical Systems, congatec, MorphoSys, voxeljet, parcelLab, SimScale, proglove, Sirion Biotech und viele weitere bereits früh bei der Realisierung ihrer Projekte und auch großvolumiger Finanzierungsrunden unterstützt. So sind in Bayern über 8.000 Arbeitsplätze dauerhaft in zukunftsfähigen Unternehmen entstanden.
www.bayernkapital.de

Pressekontakt Bayern Kapital
IWK Communication Partner
Christoph Meinersmann
Ohmstraße 1, 80802 München
T.: +49 89 200030-36
bayernkapital@iwk-cp.com
www.iwk-cp.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech-Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.800 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie 32 Unternehmen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de
Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Niels Sharman, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 187
n.sharman@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
18. Mai 2022

Ventech, HTGF und Business Angels investieren mehr als 4 Mio. EUR in das Berliner Retail-Tech Unternehmen 7Learnings

Das Unternehmen hat mehr als 4 Mio. EUR an zusätzlichen Investitionen von Ventech (Lead Investor), HTGF und Celonis-Führungskräften erhaltenSeit 2019 bietet das Startup 7Learnings Händlern eine SaaS-Lösung für die auf Machine Learning basierende Preis- und MarketingoptimierungDie Lösung des Unternehmens steigert die Gewinne von Händlern im Durchschnitt um >10%.Das Unternehmen hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, seine Software zur führenden Plattform für Retail Optimization auszubauen
 
Presse
12. Mai 2022

Sehr erfolgreicher Exit für den HTGF: AMCS wird Quentic übernehmen – starke Partner für eine grüne Zukunft

Quentic vereinfacht mit seiner modular aufgebauten Software-as-a-Service-Lösung das Management und Berichtswesen in den Bereichen EHSQ (Umweltmanagement, Gesundheitsschutz, Arbeitsschutz, und Qualitätsmanagement) und ESG (Environment, Social & Governance).Mit der Übernahme durch AMCS wird die Position der Quentic GmbH als einer der führenden Anbieter für integrative Softwarelösungen für EHSQ und ESG weiter gestärkt.Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) war 2008 der erste Investor, g
 
Presse
3. Mai 2022

Tubulis schließt eine Serie-B-Finanzierung in Höhe von 60 Millionen Euro ab, um seine ADC-Produktpipeline zu beschleunigen und das Spektrum der Plattformtechnologien zu erweitern

MÜNCHEN, 3. Mai 2022 - Tubulis gibt heute den erfolgreichen Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierung in Höhe von 60 Millionen Euro (63 Millionen US-Dollar) unter der Führung von Andera Partners und mit Beteiligung der neuen Investoren Evotec und Fund+ bekannt. Alle bestehenden Investoren beteiligten sich ebenfalls an der Runde, darunter Bayern Kapital (mit Wachstumsfonds Bayern 2), BioMedPartners, coparion, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), OCCIDENT und Seventure Partners. Das neue Kapital nutz