Health Tech Start-up Carelane Raises €800,000 in Pre-Seed Funding to Revolutionize Clinical Trial Software

June 20, 2024

Carelane founders Gustav Vella and Yannick Boerner (Photo: Carelane)
  • Carelane Secures €800,000: Carelane has successfully closed its pre-seed funding round, gathering €800,000, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds to expand its novel clinical trial software across Europe and the US.
  • Innovative Unified Platform: Addressing the inefficiencies in clinical trials, Carelane’s platform integrates multiple necessary functions into one system, digitizing study protocols and processes to reduce complexity and avoid costly amendments.
  • Proven Impact: Carelane demonstrated its platform’s effectiveness by reducing the trial management workload for its initial customer by more than 80% through enhanced collaboration features and process automation.

Carelane, a life sciences technology start-up, has announced the successful closure of its pre-seed funding round, raising €800,000. The investment, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), will fuel the expansion of its unified platform designed to streamline clinical trials, significantly reducing the operational burdens faced by pharmaceutical companies, contract research organizations, and academic researchers.

Clinical trials today face inefficiencies and high costs because they are reliant on multiple disjointed software systems for essential tasks such as data management, eConsent, tokenization, sample tracking, drug supply, and patient follow-up. The time required for integration and the challenges of process orchestration, along with regulatory compliance demands for unified audit trails, further complicate the situation.

Carelane uniquely integrates these features into a single platform, significantly reducing the complexity and expense associated with traditional clinical trial management. With Carelane, study protocols are structured, digitized documents rather than text-based, enabling seamless integration and continuous alignment of study design, conduct, and analysis. This approach avoids costly amendments that can cost millions of dollars.

The platform not only enhances security using the latest cloud technologies but also includes features for managing common trial processes such as sample shipments, site onboarding, and patient consents. All of this is achieved while maintaining a unified audit trail.

With this new capital, Carelane will broaden its reach across Europe and the United States. The start-up already demonstrated substantial traction before this funding round by reducing trial management burden by more than 80% for its initial customer through enhanced collaboration features and process automation. Looking ahead, Carelane plans to expand its platform with source data capture capabilities, including automatic data ingestion from electronic health records (EHRs) and AI features, setting the stage for a forthcoming seed funding round.

Carelane offers a one-stop-shop platform focused on real world evidence research, addressing costly and inefficient clinical trials caused by fragmented software and a lack of integration between healthcare and clinical research systems. By unifying the entire clinical trial process in one platform, Carelane provides a strong value-proposition with benefits for both patients and research stakeholders.

Dr. Natalya Baltrukovich, Investment Manager at HTGF

The study setup was highly intuitive and the time we saved on site selection and onboarding was impressive. By adapting the Carelane workflow templates and adding them to our study setup, we only needed to send out one email; everything else was automated. Our team quickly grasped how to build our case report form, which included complex fields with conditions and calculations. What really made a difference to me was the ability to invite collaborators and reviewers, it allowed them to comment on each individual item and accelerated the study setup tremendously.

Prof. Dr. Martin Hoenigl, President of European Confederation of Medical Mycology (ECMM), Medical University of Graz

The system was very easy to use. Even without training, we could follow all the processes and complete tasks with ease.

Prof. Dr. Emmanuel Roilides, Hippokration General Hospital

About Carelane
Carelane is a health tech start-up focused on addressing the inefficiencies in clinical trials by integrating multiple essential functions into a single, streamlined system, thereby digitizing study protocols and processes. After launching in 2023, it quickly gained traction and closed its first funding round successfully in the beginning of 2024. Both founders have extensive experience working in health tech, having worked with the German government, private enterprises, and renowned research hospitals. They are driven by the vision to empower researchers and healthcare professionals, ultimately saving time that can be redirected towards groundbreaking research and innovations. Carelane stands at the forefront of transforming the clinical trial process, making it intuitive, efficient, and seamlessly integrated.

Media Contact
Carelane GmbH
Yannick Boerner, CEO & CTO
office@carelane.io

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 750 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 6 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 180 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 
www.htgf.de/en 

Media contact 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
22. July 2024

Fitness App Reimagined: TRAIT Secures €1 Million Seed Funding for Empathetic AI Training Platform

TRAIT, the innovative training app, has raised around 1 million € in seed funding from HTGF, the angel club better ventures and other private investors. The funding will support the further development of its AI training platform, which aims to provide a more personalized and empathetic training experience for runners. The Berlin-based start-up’s mission is to help people achieve their individual training goals and lead a more sustainably active and fulfilling life. At the heart o
 
Press
17. July 2024

Sdui acquires FoxEducation and raises a further 21 million euros

The acquisition of FoxEducation strengthens Sdui’s position servicing over 22,000 schools and preschools in Europe. The company also raised a further 21 million euros from new and existing investors. New investor Summiteer and existing investor HV Capital leads the new financing round. Koblenz / Vienna, 17 July 2024 – Sdui Group (“Sdui”), one of the leading providers of education technology in Europe, today announced that it has acquired digital education solut

Health Tech Start-up Carelane erhält 800.000€ in Pre-Seed-Finanzierung zur Revolutionierung von Software für klinische Studien

20. Juni 2024

Carelane-Gründer Gustav Vella und Yannick Boerner (Foto: Carelane)
  • Carelane sichert sich 800.000€: Carelane erhält 800.000€ als Pre-Seed Finanzierungsrunde, angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds, um ihre innovative Software für klinische Forschung in Europa und den USA an den Markt zu bringen.
  • Innovative einheitliche Plattform: Um Ineffizienzen in klinischen Studien deutlich zu verringern, integriert Carelane viele Funktionen in einem System und setzt auf digitalisierte Studienprotokolle und -prozesse. Dies verringert die Komplexität und reduziert Kosten.
  • Nachgewiesene Erfolge: Carelane hat die Arbeitsbelastung des Studienmanagements für seinen ersten Kunden durch verbesserte Kollaborationsfunktionen und Prozessautomatisierung um mehr als 80 % reduziert.

Carelane, ein Technologie-Start-up im Bereich Life Sciences, gibt den erfolgreichen Abschluss der Pre-Seed-Finanzierungsrunde bekannt und erhält 800.000 €. Die Investitionsrunde, angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), wird die Expansion von Carelanes Plattform vorantreiben. Diese ist darauf ausgelegt, klinische Studien zu optimieren und die Aufwände für Pharmaunternehmen, Auftragsforschungsorganisationen und akademische Forscher erheblich zu reduzieren.

Klinische Studien sind heute durch Ineffizienzen und hohe Kosten geprägt, da sie auf mehrere, nicht miteinander verbundene Softwaresysteme für wesentliche Aufgaben wie Datenmanagement, eConsent, Tokenization, Proben-Tracking, Medikamentenversorgung und Patientenüberwachung angewiesen sind. Die erforderliche Zeit für die Integration und die Herausforderungen der Prozessorganisation sowie die regulatorischen Anforderungen an einheitliche Protokollierung (Audit Trail) erschweren die Situation zusätzlich.

Carelane integriert diese Funktionen in einer einzigen Plattform und reduziert so die Komplexität und die Kosten, die mit dem traditionellen Management klinischer Studien verbunden sind, erheblich. Mit Carelane sind Studienprotokolle strukturierte, digitalisierte Objekte anstatt textbasierter Dokumente, was eine nahtlose Integration und kontinuierliche Abstimmung von Studiendesign, Durchführung und Analyse ermöglicht. Dieser Ansatz vermeidet kostspielige Studien-Anpassungen, die Millionen von Euro betragen können.

Die Plattform erhöht nicht nur die Sicherheit durch die Nutzung modernster Cloud-Technologien, sondern umfasst auch Funktionen zur Automatisierung gängiger Studienprozesse wie Probenversand, Onboarding von Prüfzentren und Patienten-Einwilligungen. All dies wird unter Einhaltung einer einheitlichen Protokollierung (Audit Trail) erreicht.

Mit dem neuen Kapital wird Carelane seine Reichweite in Europa und den USA erweitern. Das Start-up hat bereits vor dieser Finanzierungsrunde erhebliche Erfolge vorgewiesen, indem es die Arbeitsbelastung von vielen Studienprozessen für seinen ersten Kunden durch Kollaborationsfunktionen und Prozessautomatisierung um mehr als 80 % reduziert hat. In der Zukunft plant Carelane, seine Plattform mit Funktionen zur Erfassung von Quelldaten zu erweitern, einschließlich der automatischen Datenaufnahme aus elektronischen Gesundheitsakten (EHRs) und KI-Funktionen, um die Basis für eine bevorstehende Seed-Finanzierungsrunde zu schaffen.

Carelane bietet eine All-in-One-Plattform, die sich auf die Forschung zu Real World Evidence konzentriert. Hierdurch werden teure und ineffiziente klinische Studien, die durch fragmentierte Software und fehlende Integration zwischen Gesundheits- und Forschungssystemen verursacht werden, effizienter durchgeführt. Durch die Vereinheitlichung des gesamten klinischen Studienprozesses auf einer Plattform bietet Carelane einen starken Mehrwert mit Vorteilen sowohl für Patienten als auch für Forschungspartner.

Dr. Natalya Baltrukovich, Investment Manager beim HTGF

Über Carelane
Carelane ist ein Health-Tech-Start-up, das sich darauf konzentriert, die Ineffizienzen in klinischen Studien zu beseitigen, indem es mehrere wesentliche Funktionen in einem einzigen System integriert und dadurch Studienprotokolle und -prozesse digitalisiert. Nach dem Start im Jahr 2023 gewann es schnell Kunden und schloss Anfang 2024 seine erste Finanzierungsrunde erfolgreich ab. Beide Gründer haben umfangreiche Erfahrung im Bereich Health Tech und haben mit der deutschen Regierung, privaten Unternehmen und renommierten Forschungskrankenhäusern zusammengearbeitet. Ihre Vision ist es, Forscher und Gesundheitsfachkräfte zu unterstützen, um medizinische Forschung und Innovation zu beschleunigen. Carelane steht an der Spitze der Transformation des klinischen Studienprozesses und macht ihn intuitiv, effizient und nahtlos integriert.

Medienkontakt
Carelane GmbH
Yannick Boerner, CEO & CTO
office@carelane.io

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds   
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 750 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 6 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 180 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.  
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. 
https://www.htgf.de/de/  

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
22. Juli 2024

Fitness-App neu gedacht: TRAIT erhält 1 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung für empathische KI-Trainingsplattform

TRAIT, die innovative Trainings-App, hat in einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde rund 1 Million € von HTGF, dem Angelclub better ventures und weiteren Privatinvestoren erhalten. Das Funding unterstützt die weitere Entwicklung ihrer KI-Trainingsplattform, die ein personalisiertes und empathisches Trainingserlebnis für Laufsportler:innen bietet. Das in Berlin ansässige Start-up hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Menschen dabei zu helfen, ihre individuellen Trainingsziele zu erreichen und ei
 
Presse
17. Juli 2024

Sdui kauft FoxEducation und sammelt weitere 21 Millionen Euro ein

Mit dem Erwerb von FoxEducation stärkt Sdui seine Position als führender Anbieter von Bildungstechnologie in Europa und bedient nun über 22.000 Schulen und Kitas. Zudem hat Sdui weitere 21 Millionen Euro von bestehenden und neuen Investoren eingesammelt. Summiteer und HV Capital führen die neue Finanzierungsrunde an. Koblenz / Wien, 17. Juli 2024 – Die Koblenzer Sdui Gruppe, einer der führenden Anbieter von Bildungstechnologien in Europa, hat die Bildungsplattform FoxEducation