New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

June 12, 2024

  • Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies.
  • The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required.

Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub.

HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its inception, it has invested in over 750 start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences and chemicals. With its four early-stage funds, HTGF is already regarded as one of the most successful investors in the German venture capital market.

Through the new fund, the German government is bolstering its growth financing efforts and implementing an additional measure as part of its start-up strategy. For this purpose, it will allocate funding from the Future Fund and the ERP Special Fund. The private fund investors participating in HTGF’s four early-stage funds will be able to take part in this initiative through a separate fund. The HTGF Opportunity Fund is launching with a fund volume of €660 million.

Robert Habeck, German Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Climate Action: “Since being initiated by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action in 2005, High-Tech Gründerfonds has provided financing for over 750 start-up teams, and in doing so has played a key role in reviving German’s start-up scene. Now, with the help of the Future Fund, it will also be able to support the best start-ups in later-stage financing rounds through the HTGF Opportunity Fund, providing millions of euros in additional, targeted funding. This is a key element of our start-up strategy and will provide another big boost for the entire start-up ecosystem in Germany.”

German Finance Minister Christian Lindner: “Germany’s entrepreneurs are the engine of future growth. They shape our innovative power, and they create new jobs. So, it gives me all the more pleasure that the HTGF Opportunity Fund will now give us the ability to support selected companies in later growth stages too, by providing them with significant amounts of funding. Only if we manage to mobilise more private capital the financing conditions for start-ups in Germany will improve on a lasting basis. Now our task is to keep creating the right framework conditions, in order to achieve an economic turnaround and to ensure the long-term establishment of fast-growing and ambitious companies in Germany.”

Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Managing Director of HTGF: “The HTGF Opportunity Fund will enable us to provide the very best HTGF portfolio companies with capital to help them become much bigger and secure market-leading positions. They will then ideally reach a size that enables them to launch IPOs and continue to grow as independent companies. The highly successful HTGF portfolio and German start-up ecosystem must – and in fact will – give rise to more international champions. We’d like to thank our fund investors for their confidence.”

The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds as required, since Germany is lagging far behind other countries like the United States when it comes to growth financing.

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest up to €30 million in selected portfolio companies – and up to €50 million in exceptional cases. All investments will be made together with one or multiple private investors. The HTGF Opportunity Fund is fully integrated into HTGF’s existing structure. The fund will be managed by HTGF Partner Dr. Ulrich Schmitt, and HTGF Principal Dr. Anke Caßing serving as Chief Investment Officers.

Background: The Future Fund
The German government’s Future Fund aims to significantly expand growth capital financing by 2030 and beyond – using public funding that is always invested alongside private capital. The various components of the Future Fund particularly benefit growth-stage start-ups requiring high sums of capital. The additional funding from the ERP Special Fund, the EIF, KfW/KfW Capital and private investors in particular will help leverage a substantial volume of additional capital. KfW coordinates the Future Fund on behalf of the German government, in close cooperation with the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action and the Federal Ministry of Finance. To date, ten components of the Future Fund have been implemented (including the HTGF Opportunity Fund), with a total volume of over €10 billion. Additional components amounting to €1.75 billion are also being prepared.

More information on the Future Fund and its components is available here:
https://www.bmwk.de/Redaktion/EN/Artikel/Economy/future-fund.html
https://www.bundesfinanzministerium.de/Content/DE/Standardartikel/Themen/Internationales_Finanzmarkt/zukunftsfonds.html
https://www.kfw-capital.de/Investment-focus/Zukunftsfonds-(Future-Fund)

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 6 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 180 companies. Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
22. July 2024

Fitness App Reimagined: TRAIT Secures €1 Million Seed Funding for Empathetic AI Training Platform

TRAIT, the innovative training app, has raised around 1 million € in seed funding from HTGF, the angel club better ventures and other private investors. The funding will support the further development of its AI training platform, which aims to provide a more personalized and empathetic training experience for runners. The Berlin-based start-up’s mission is to help people achieve their individual training goals and lead a more sustainably active and fulfilling life. At the heart o
 
Press
17. July 2024

Sdui acquires FoxEducation and raises a further 21 million euros

The acquisition of FoxEducation strengthens Sdui’s position servicing over 22,000 schools and preschools in Europe. The company also raised a further 21 million euros from new and existing investors. New investor Summiteer and existing investor HV Capital leads the new financing round. Koblenz / Vienna, 17 July 2024 – Sdui Group (“Sdui”), one of the leading providers of education technology in Europe, today announced that it has acquired digital education solut

Neuer Baustein des Zukunftsfonds: HTGF Opportunity Fonds startet mit 660 Millionen Euro für die Wachstumsphase

12. Juni 2024

  • Der HTGF kann mit dem neuen Fonds in ausgewählte HTGF-Portfolio-Unternehmen investieren.
  • Ziel des HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist es, das Volumen von Later-Stage-Finanzierungsrunden im HTGF-Portfolio bedarfsgerecht zu vergrößern.

Mit dem zehnten Baustein des Zukunftsfonds setzt die Bundesregierung eine weitere Maßnahme ihrer Start-up-Strategie um und stärkt so den Start-up-Standort Deutschland.

Als einer der aktivsten Frühphaseninvestoren Deutschlands hat der HTGF (High-Tech Gründerfonds) seit Bestehen bereits in mehr als 750 Start-ups aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial Tech, Life Sciences und Chemie investiert. Schon heute gilt der HTGF mit seinen vier Frühphasenfonds als einer der erfolgreichsten Investoren im deutschen Venture-Capital-Markt.

Die deutsche Bundesregierung verstärkt so ihr Engagement im Bereich der Wachstumsfinanzierung und setzt eine weitere Maßnahme der Start-up-Strategie um. Sie stellt dafür Mittel aus dem Zukunftsfonds sowie dem ERP-Sondervermögen zur Verfügung. Die privaten Fonds-Investoren der vier Frühphasenfonds des HTGF werden die Möglichkeit erhalten, sich über einen separaten Fonds an dieser Initiative zu beteiligen. Der HTGF Opportunity Fonds startet mit einem Fondsvolumen von 660 Millionen Euro.

Robert Habeck, Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz: „Seit der Initiierung durch das BMWK im Jahr 2005 hat der High-Tech Gründerfonds über 750 Gründungsteams finanziert und so einen erheblichen Beitrag zur Belebung der deutschen Start-up-Szene geleistet. Nun wird ihm mit Hilfe des Zukunftsfonds ermöglicht, die Besten auch in späteren Finanzierungsrunden über den HTGF Opportunity mit zusätzlichen Millionen Euro zielgerichtet zu unterstützen. Dies ist ein zentraler Baustein unserer Start-up-Strategie und ein weiterer wichtiger Impuls für den gesamten Start-up Standort Deutschland.“

Christian Lindner, Bundesminister der Finanzen: „Deutschlands Gründerinnen und Gründer sind der Motor für künftiges Wachstum. Sie prägen unsere Innovationskraft und schaffen neue Arbeitsplätze. Umso mehr freue ich mich, dass es uns mit dem HTGF Opportunity Fonds gelingt, ausgewählte Unternehmen nun auch in späteren Wachstumsphasen mit großen Finanzierungssummen zu unterstützen. Nur wenn wir es schaffen, vermehrt privates Kapital zu mobilisieren, verbessern sich die Finanzierungsbedingungen für Start-ups in Deutschland nachhaltig. Es liegt an uns, die richtigen Rahmenbedingungen zu setzen, um die Wirtschaftswende zu schaffen und sicherzustellen, dass wachsende und aufstrebende Unternehmen sich langfristig in Deutschland ansiedeln.“

Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Geschäftsführer des HTGF: „Mit dem HTGF Opportunity Fonds wird es uns gelingen, den allerbesten HTGF-Portfoliounternehmen die Mittel zur Verfügung zu stellen, um deutlich größer zu werden und marktführende Positionen zu erreichen. Idealerweise erreichen sie dann eine Größe, die es ihnen ermöglicht, über Börsengänge als neue unabhängige Unternehmen weiter zu wachsen. Aus dem sehr erfolgreichen HTGF-Portfolio und deutschen Start-up-Ökosystem müssen und werden mehr internationale Champions entstehen. Wir danken unseren Fondsinvestoren für das Vertrauen.“

Ziel des HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist es, das Volumen von Later-Stage-Finanzierungsrunden bedarfsgerecht zu vergrößern; denn gerade bei Wachstumsfinanzierungen besteht in Deutschland im Vergleich zu anderen Nationen wie etwa den USA ein erheblicher Rückstand.

Der HTGF kann mit dem neuen Fonds in der Regel bis zu 30 Millionen Euro, in Ausnahmefällen auch bis zu 50 Millionen Euro in ausgewählte Portfolio-Unternehmen investieren. Dabei finanziert er stets gemeinsam mit einem oder mehreren privaten Investoren. Der HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist dabei voll in die bestehende Struktur des HTGF integriert. Das Management übernehmen als Chief Investment Officers Dr. Ulrich Schmitt, Partner beim HTGF, und Dr. Anke Caßing, Principal beim HTGF.

Hintergrund: Der Zukunftsfonds
Der Zukunftsfonds des Bundes hat zum Ziel, die Wachstumskapitalfinanzierung bis zum Jahr 2030 und darüber hinaus deutlich auszubauen – durch öffentliche Mittel, die stets gemeinsam mit privatem Kapital investiert werden. Durch die verschiedenen Bausteine des Zukunftsfonds profitieren insbesondere Start-ups in der Wachstumsphase mit hohem Kapitalbedarf. Durch zusätzliche Mittel aus dem ERP-Sondervermögen, vom EIF, von der KfW/KfW Capital und insbesondere von privaten Investoren wird substanziell zusätzliches Kapital gehebelt. KfW Capital koordiniert im Auftrag des Bundes den Zukunftsfonds in enger Abstimmung mit dem Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz und dem Bundesministerium der Finanzen. Bislang sind bereits zehn Bausteine des Zukunftsfonds (inkl. des HTGF Opportunity-Fonds) mit einem Gesamtvolumen von mehr als 10 Mrd. Euro umgesetzt; weitere Bausteine in Höhe von 1,75 Mrd. EUR sind in Vorbereitung.

Weitere Informationen zum Zukunftsfonds und seinen Bausteinen:
https://www.bmwk.de/Redaktion/DE/Artikel/Wirtschaft/zukunftsfonds.html
https://www.bundesfinanzministerium.de/Content/DE/Standardartikel/Themen/Internationales_Finanzmarkt/zukunftsfonds.html
https://www.kfw-capital.de/Investmentfokus/Zukunftsfonds

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 750 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 6 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 180 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. ​​​

Pressekontakt
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
22. Juli 2024

Fitness-App neu gedacht: TRAIT erhält 1 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung für empathische KI-Trainingsplattform

TRAIT, die innovative Trainings-App, hat in einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde rund 1 Million € von HTGF, dem Angelclub better ventures und weiteren Privatinvestoren erhalten. Das Funding unterstützt die weitere Entwicklung ihrer KI-Trainingsplattform, die ein personalisiertes und empathisches Trainingserlebnis für Laufsportler:innen bietet. Das in Berlin ansässige Start-up hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Menschen dabei zu helfen, ihre individuellen Trainingsziele zu erreichen und ei
 
Presse
17. Juli 2024

Sdui kauft FoxEducation und sammelt weitere 21 Millionen Euro ein

Mit dem Erwerb von FoxEducation stärkt Sdui seine Position als führender Anbieter von Bildungstechnologie in Europa und bedient nun über 22.000 Schulen und Kitas. Zudem hat Sdui weitere 21 Millionen Euro von bestehenden und neuen Investoren eingesammelt. Summiteer und HV Capital führen die neue Finanzierungsrunde an. Koblenz / Wien, 17. Juli 2024 – Die Koblenzer Sdui Gruppe, einer der führenden Anbieter von Bildungstechnologien in Europa, hat die Bildungsplattform FoxEducation