Wirelane Secures 18 Million Euros In Growth Investment

August 6, 2021

Berlin and Munich, 3rd August 2021 Wirelane is getting ready for the dramatic rise in electromobility and the expansion of charging infrastructure. The full-service provider for charging solutions has received 18 million euros in growth capital as part of a B financing round led by ABACON CAPITAL, the investment arm of the Büll Family Office, along with other private investors.

The company’s second financing round was oversubscribed by several times and consisted of 12.1 million euros of fresh capital as weil as the conversion of 5.9 million euros of existing loans into equity. In addition to the current investors, like High-Tech Gründerfonds, the Büll Family Office was added to the group via its investment vehicle ABACON CAPITAL. With this new additional support, Wirelane can continue its growth trajectory to become one of the leading providers of charging infrastructure solutions in Germany and neighbouring countries, while further developing its e-mobility platform to help customers manage, operate and bill their charging transactions. Carlsquare acted as Wirelane’s financial advisor in this financing round.

Until recently, electromobility was a niche market. Now, electric cars have hit the mainstream. Thanks to strong state support and purchasing incentives from manufacturers, millions of electric cars are expected to be on the roads in the next few years. But this change also requires charging infrastructure to be rapidly expanded, so that people can charge their cars at home, at work, at their destination or quickly on the motorway. By 2030, a million public charging stations will be built in Germany alone, in order to meet the target of a 40% reduction in C02 emissions. Wirelane are specialists in the field of public and private charging infrastructure and their charging solutions are aimed particularly at the target markets of hospitality and property, as weil as companies wanting to provide charging infrastructure on their car parks.

The company and its employees have a strong purpose and we are very happy to contribute our investment and network to help build charging infrastructure where people need it. Wirelane provides powerful technology and they are already well on their way to achieving exponential growth and increasing their market share in their target segments of hospitality and commercial property in the coming years.

Tobias Krauss, CEO of the main investor ABACON CAPITAL

In order to revolutionise mobility and achieve net zero climate neutrality, access to charging infrastructure must become a basic right, just like access to the internet. With this capital investment round, we are now able to grow aggressively and systematically expand our e-mobility and charging infrastructure platform, providing comprehensive charging options for the drivers of electric cars. In addition, we will greatly expand our teams in product development, sales and operations, to prepare ourselves for the current and future growth of e-mobility – hundreds of new B2B customers will be going live on our platform in the next few months.

Wirelane CEO Constantin Schwaab

This now complete finance round will allow us to build a five-figure number of charging stations in the next three years. This will enable us to significantly accelerate our market penetration.

Wirelane CFO Bernhard Seidl


About Wirelane
Wirelane provides its customers with full-service solutions for the installation, operation and marketing of charging infrastructure the entire spectrum of e-mobility and charging infrastructure on a single platform. Since its founding in 2016, the company has been constantlyworking towards its vision of a simple, readily available charging experience for electric vehicles, under the motto “Charge. Pay. Done.” The company’s cloud-based ‘WirelaneOS” software currently manages over 13,000 charging stations, independent of the manufacturer. As an Electric Mobility Provider (EMP), Wirelane offers access to over 95,000 public charging stations across Europe and provides public authorities, suppliers and business customers with charging infrastructure software for  their end customers. They carry out more than 60,000 charging transactions for their customers every month. From its offices in Munich and Berlin, Wirelane works with clients in different sectors, including large corporations such as BMW and Vattenfall, businesses in the hotel and tourism industry, and regional councils like the district of Munich.
More information can be found at www.wirelane.com

Contact
Sebastian Bott
VP Sales & Marketing Wirelane GmbH
sebastian.bott@wirelane.com
+49 (0) 171 934 70 25

About ABACON CAPITAL
Based in Hamburg, ABACON CAPITAL GmbH is the active, purpose-driven investment arm of the Büll Family Office, focusing on exponential technologies. This fast-growing area ofventure capital revolves around anchor investments in venture capital funds and the intensive utilisation of chance and co-investments. In 2021 alone, the company has already implemented over 25 transactions in these two areas.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,700 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 130 companies.

Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and 32 companies. The Fund Investors
www.htgf.de/en

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Schulz, Senior Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300 130
t.schulz@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
12. June 2024

New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies. The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required. Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub. HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its i
 
Press
6. June 2024

SmartLoC secures 1.8 million Euros seed funding to revolutionize international trade payments

Hamburg, Germany – 6 June 2024 – SmartLoC, a pioneering startup focused on developing a cutting-edge, fully digital B2B payment solution based on the monitoring of shipments and specifically tailored for international trade, today announces the successful closure of its seed round, raising a total of 1.8 million euros. The round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the leading seed investors in Europe. Other investors include Loggerhead -Ventures, an early stage climatech VC

Presse

Wirelane sichert sich 18 Millionen Euro Wachstumsfinanzierung

6. August 2021

Berlin und München, 3. August 2021 Wirelane bereitet sich für das rasante Wachstum der Elektromobilität und den flächendeckenden Ausbau von Ladeinfrastruktur vor. Der Komplettanbieter für Ladelösungen erhält im Rahmen einer B-Finanzierungsrunde 18 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital, angeführt von ABACON CAPITAL, dem Investment-Vehikel des Büll Family Offices sowie weiteren Privatinvestoren.

Die zweite Finanzierungsrunde des Unternehmens war mehrfach überzeichnet und setzt sich aus 12,1 Millionen Euro frischem Kapital sowie der Wandlung von bestehenden 5,9 Millionen Euro Darlehen in Eigenkapital zusammen. Neben den Bestandsinvestoren, wie dem High-Tech Gründerfonds, kam das Büll Family Office über sein Investment-Vehikel ABACON CAPITAL neu hinzu. Mit der neu gewonnenen Unterstützung wird Wirelane seinen Wachstumskurs zu einem der führenden Anbieter von Ladeinfrastrukturlösungen in Deutschland und dem umgrenzenden Ausland fortsetzen sowie die Weiterentwicklung seiner E-Mobilitäts-Plattform für den Betrieb, das Management und die Abrechnung von Ladetransaktionen vorantreiben. Carlsquare agierte für Wirelane als Financial Advisor dieser Finanzierungsrunde.

Bis vor kurzem fristete Elektromobilität noch ein Nischendasein. Mittlerweile sind Elektroautos in der Mitte der Gesellschaft angekommen. Dank starker finanzieller staatlicher Förderung und Kaufanreize seitens der Hersteller werden in den kommenden Jahren Millionen von Elektrofahrzeugen auf den Straßen erwartet. Der Schwenk zum Elektroantrieb erfordert parallel einen rasanten Ausbau der Ladeinfrastruktur für das Laden zu Hause, am Arbeitsplatz, am Zielort oder das Schnellladen an Autobahnen. Bis 2030 sollen allein in Deutschland eine Million öffentliche Ladepunkte errichtet werden, um die Reduktionsziele für C02- Emissionen von 40 Prozent zu erreichen. Wirelane ist bereits heute auf den Bereich öffentliches und gewerbliches Laden spezialisiert und adressiert mit seinen Ladelösungen vor allem die Zielgruppen Hospitality, Immobilienwirtschaft sowie Unternehmen, die ihre Park- und Stellflächen für Elektroautos zum Laden zur Verfügung stellen wollen.

Das Unternehmen und seine Mitarbeiter*innen verfolgen einen starken Purpose und wir freuen uns, mit unserem Investment und Netzwerk unseren Beitrag dazu zu leisten, Ladeinfrastruktur dort zu errichten, wo sie von den Menschen gebraucht wird. Wirelane verfügt über eine starke Technologie und ist auf dem besten Weg, in den kommenden Jahren ein exponentielles Wachstum zu erreichen und die bestehende Marktführerschaft in den Zielsegmenten Hospitality und Gewerbeimmobilien weiter auszubauen.

Tobias Krauss, CEO des Hauptinvestors ABACON CAPITAL

Um das Ziel der Klimaneutralität in Kombination mit der Mobilitätswende erreichen zu können, muss das Laden von Elektrofahrzeugen ein Grundrecht sein, wie der uneingeschränkte Zugang zum Internet. Mit dieser Kapitalrunde können wir weiter aggressiv wachsen und unsere Plattform für Ladeinfrastruktur und E­ Mobility gezielt ausbauen, um flächendeckend Lademöglichkeiten für Elektromobilist*innen zu schaffen. Darüber hinaus verstärken wir unsere Teams in den Bereichen Produktentwicklung, Vertrieb und Operations massiv, um für das aktuelle und künftige Wachstum der Elektromobilität gewappnet zu sein – in den kommenden Monaten werden wir mehrere hundert neue B2B-Kunden auf unserer Plattform live schalten.

Wirelane CEO Constantin Schwaab

Die nun abgeschlossene Finanzierungsrunde ermöglicht uns den Aufbau einer fünfstelligen Zahl von Ladepunkten in den kommenden drei Jahren. Zudem erreichen wir damit eine erhebliche Beschleunigung der Marktpenetration.

Wirelane CFO Bernhard Seidl


Über Wirelane
Wirelane bietet seinen Kunden Komplettlösungen für die Errichtung, den Betrieb und die Vermarktung von Ladeinfrastruktur – die komplette Welt der E-Mobilität und Ladeinfrastruktur auf einer Plattform. Unter dem Motto ,Charge. Pay. Done.’ treibt das 2016 gegründete Unternehmen die Vision vom einfachen, überall verfügbaren Ladeerlebnis von Elektrofahrzeugen konsequent voran. Gegenwärtig werden über die cloudbasierte Software-Lösung ,WirelaneOS’ mehr als 13.000 Ladestationen herstellerunabhängig verwaltet und gesteuert. Als Elektro-Mobilitäts­ Provider (EMP) bietet Wirelane den Zugang zu europaweit mehr als 95.000 öffentlichen Ladepunkten und gestattet Stadtwerken, Versorgern und Geschäftskunden die Nutzung der Ladeinfrastruktur-Software für ihr eigenes Endkundenangebot. Monatlich rechnet Wirelane mehr als 60.000 Ladetransaktionen für seine Kunden ab. Das in München und Berlin ansässige Unternehmen arbeitet mit Kunden aus verschiedenen Sektoren zusammen, darunter Großkonzerne wie BMW und Vattenfall, aber auch Betriebe aus der Hotellerie und Tourismusbranche sowie Kommunen wie dem Landkreis München.
Mehr Informationen: www.wirelane.com

Medienkontakt
Sebastian Bott
VP Sales & Marketing Wirelane GmbH
sebastian.bott@wirelane.com
+49 (0) 171 934 70 25

Über ABACON CAPITAL
Die in Hamburg ansässige ABACON CAPITAL GmbH ist das aktive, Purpose-getriebene und auf exponentielle Technologien fokussierte Investmentvehikel des Büll Family Office. In dem schnell wachsenden Bereich Venture Capital liegt der Schwerpunkt der Aktivitäten auf Anker-Investitionen in Venture Capital Fonds und das intensive Ausschöpfen von Chancen zu Co-Investments. Im Jahre 2021 wurden bereits mehr als 25 Transaktionen in diesen beiden Bereichen umgesetzt.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 600 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.700 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 130 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die 32 Unternehmen. Die Fondsinvestoren

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investorenkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Schulz, Senior Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300 130
t.schulz@htgf.de

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

26. November 2021

ZE ENERGY sammelt 40 Millionen Euro in einer neuen Finanzierungsrunde ein

Paris, Frankreich, 26 November 2021 - Weniger als zwei Jahre nach ihrer Gründung und nach Abschluss einer ersten Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 5,2 Mio. Euro gibt ZE ENERGY, ein unabhängiger französischer Hersteller von erneuerbaren Energien, der hybride Solarkraftwerke (Photovoltaik und Speicherung) betreibt, den Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 40 Mio. Euro bekannt. Neben den Altinvestoren DEMETER, HTGF, EverWatt und Ze Way Invest kann das Unternehmen nun
 
24. November 2021

Kapital für Quantenkühlung – kiutra schließt weitere Finanzierungsrunde ab

München, 24. November 2021 - Komplexe Probleme viel schneller zu berechnen als es heute mit den besten Supercomputern möglich ist, Information abhörsicher auszutauschen und physikalische Größen wie Druck, Zeit, Position, Geschwindigkeit und magnetische Felder mit nie dagewesener Genauigkeit zu bestimmen. Das und mehr versprechen Quantentechnologien der zweiten Generation – und bieten damit zugleich ein riesiges wirtschaftliches Potenzial. Weil für ihre technische Nutzung fast imm
 
18. November 2021

Operaize erhält 1,5 Millionen Euro Seed-Finanzierung zur Steigerung der Produktionseffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit durch den Einsatz von KI

Köln, 18. November 2021 - Das Kölner Start-up Operaize hat erfolgreich eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde mit drei Investoren abgeschlossen: Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), der Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) und die NRW.BANK investieren insgesamt 1,5 Millionen Euro in Operaize, um die Entwicklung des KI-basierten Produkts zu beschleunigen, die Marktfähigkeit des Produkts voranzutreiben und neue Kunden zu gewinnen. Operaize bietet eine KI-basierte Produktionsplanung an, die