Press

High-Tech Gründerfonds invests in Synthara, targeting breakthrough edge-AI chips with participation from a global coalition of investors and R&D partners

Synthara AG, a spin-off from the UZH-ETH Institute of Neuroinformatics (INI) in Zurich, has secured seed funding and research partnerships to develop the next generation of adaptive AI processors for edge applications. The seed financing round was led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF).

Edge AI chips are a specialized and rapidly growing multi-billion dollar market. Our algorithm-aware chips are designed to deliver up to 500 times better performance for the next generation of smart sensor applications that use inertial measurement units, audio and image sensors.

Manu V. Nair, Founder and CEO

We are building Synthara on top of years of ground-breaking research at INI. Our solution integrates, for the first time, sparsity-aware processing with in-memory computation. Our product development efforts are supported by a number of partners, including CSEM, a research and technology organization, and Multicoreware. Given our strong ecosystem, we are excited about creating fit-for-purpose AI chip solutions together with our early adopter clients.

Alessandro Aimar, Founder and CTO

We are delighted to collaborate with Kreskado and support Synthara in their quest to become a global leader in AI chip solutions. Having validated their technology with our industry and research partners, we expect them to emerge as a strong contender in the vibrant AI-on-the-edge startup ecosystem.

Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

I regard edge AI chips as a key building block to enable the next generation Augmented Reality systems for the mass market. I am excited to back Manu and Ale, a highly talented founding team, in developing this unique technology rooted in the European ecosystem.

Alexander Ilic, former head of Magic Leap Switzerland and Co-founder of the ETH AI Center

Synthara’s IP has breakthrough potential and the founders have carefully assembled a powerful ecosystem of investors, advisors and research partners. I am excited to team up with Kreskado to kick this off as a collaboration pilot across the Swiss and Silicon Valley ecosystems.

AGK Karunakaran, President and CEO at MulticoreWare Inc.

Alongside HTGF, MulticoreWare and Alex, we are thrilled to welcome Zürcher Kantonalbank, University of Zürich, Kumar Ganapathy, Peter Gleissner, Iulia-Alexandra Lungu, Scott Mason, Ali Pourkeramati, Balz Roth and Sankalp Saxena to our board and shareholder ecosystem. We deeply value the tremendous technology product management, company building, and investment lifecycle experience they bring to us and are thrilled to be building Synthara with their participation.

Sandeep Raju, Founding Chairman at Synthara and Kreskado

Synthara is expanding rapidly and is on track to create double-digit high-tech jobs in Switzerland and Germany. It is supported by the Swiss Innovation Agency, the Swiss National Science Foundation, the European Space Agency BIC Switzerland, the European Union Horizon 2020 program, Venturelab, and the IMD Business School.


About Synthara
Synthara is a semiconductor AI company working on a new breed of edge-AI chips that eliminate the trade-off between performance and energy efficiency. Its technology is a result of years of interdisciplinary R&D in system architecture, neuroscience and neural networks at the Institute of Neuroinformatics (University of Zürich and ETH Zürich). Synthara’s designs are hand-crafted for smart sensor applications whose computational workload is highly dynamic, such as wearables, IoT, and monitoring. The company has concluded an oversubscribed seed funding round and rallied a team of ambitious engineers, investors and ecosystem partners with deep roots in the industry. Synthara’s early adopter program is already seeing interest from a number of market leaders towards a first set of products in 2022.

Contact
contact-us@synthara.ai

About Kreskado
Kreskado is an association of entrepreneurs, investors and advisors anchored by Kreskado AG, a private venture development studio in the Basel area. With an “Entrepreneurs for Entrepreneurs” open-architecture ecosystem, Kreskado offers founders a platform to build companies from concept to scale in a multi-year partnership with a vibrant global network of early-stage investors and advisors.

Contact
hello@kreskado.com

About MulticoreWare
MulticoreWare is a software company with products in Broadcast, OTT, Autonomous Vehicles and Video analytics such as x265, UHDkit for Video encoding, UHDcode and VP9 for video decoding, LipSync and TextSync for Video Quality analysis.

MulticoreWare has a worldwide team of computer scientists and experts in high performance and heterogeneous computing to accelerate video, machine learning, neural networks, computer vision, compiler technologies, and more.

Contact:
info@multicorewareinc.com

About Zürcher Kantonalbank
Zürcher Kantonalbank is a leading universal bank in the Greater Zurich Area, with national roots and international reach. It is an independent public-law institution of the Canton of Zurich and has received top ratings from the rating agencies Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s and Fitch (AAA or Aaa). With more than 5,000 employees, Zürcher Kantonalbank offers its clients a comprehensive range of products and services. The bank’s core activities include financing businesses, asset and wealth management, trading, capital market transactions, deposits, payment transactions and card business. Zürcher Kantonalbank provides customers and distribution

Contact
Media Relations Zürcher Kantonalbank
T.: +41 44 292 29 79
medien@zkb.ch

About CSEM
CSEM: technologies that make the difference
CSEM, founded in 1984, is a Swiss research and development center (public-private partnership) specializing in microtechnology, nanotechnology, microelectronics, system engineering, photovoltaics and communications technologies. Around 500 highly qualified specialists from various scientific and technical disciplines work for CSEM in Neuchâtel, Zurich, Muttenz, Alpnach, and Landquart.

Further information is available at www.csem.ch

About High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF)
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge almost 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected over EUR 2.7 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,600 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 100 companies.

Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and 32 companies. The Fund Investors
www.htgf.de/en

Media Contact
Stefanie Grüter
T: +49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Investment Manager
T: +49 228 82300 157
o.joeressen@htgf.de

Presse

High-Tech Gründerfonds investiert in Synthara mit Beteiligung einer globalen Koalition von Investoren und F&E-Partnern und zielt dabei auf bahnbrechende KI-Chips

3. Dezember 2020

Die Synthara AG, ein Spinn-off aus dem Institut für Neuroinformatik (INI) der UZH-ETH in Zürich, hat sich eine Frühphasenfinanzierung und Forschungspartnerschaften zur Entwicklung der nächsten Generation von adaptiven KI-Prozessoren für Edge-Anwendungen gesichert. Die Seed-Finanzierungsrunde wurde vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) angeführt.

Edge-KI-Chips sind ein spezialisierter und schnell wachsender Multimilliarden-Dollar-Markt. Unsere Chips nutzen Eigenschaften der KI-Algorithmen so, dass sie für die nächste Generation intelligenter Sensoranwendungen, bei denen Trägheits-, Audio- und Bildsensoren zum Einsatz kommen, eine bis zu 500 Mal bessere Leistung erbringen.

Manu V. Nair, Gründer und CEO bei Synthara

Wir bauen Synthara auf der Grundlage jahrelanger bahnbrechender Forschung am INI auf. Unsere Lösung kombiniert zum ersten Mal die architekturelle Ausnutzung von gering belegten KI-Berechnungsmatrizen mit In-Memory-Berechnungen. Unsere Produktentwicklungsbemühungen werden von einer Reihe von Partnern unterstützt, darunter CSEM, eine Forschungs- und Technologieorganisation, und Multicoreware. Angesichts unseres starken Ökosystems freuen wir uns darauf, gemeinsam mit unseren “Early Adopter” Kunden anwendungsoptimierte KI-Chiplösungen zu entwickeln.

Alessandro Aimar, Gründer und CTO

Wir freuen uns, mit Kreskado zusammenzuarbeiten und Synthara in ihrem Bestreben zu unterstützen, ein weltweit führender Anbieter von KI-Chiplösungen zu werden. Nachdem wir ihre Technologie mit unseren Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung validiert haben, erwarten wir, dass sie sich als starke Konkurrenten im dynamischen KI-on-the-edge Startup-Ökosystem erweisen werden.

Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Ich betrachte Edge-KI-Chips als einen Schlüsselbaustein, um die nächste Generation von Augmented-Reality-Systemen für den Massenmarkt zu ermöglichen. Ich freue mich mit Manu und Ale ein hochtalentiertes Gründerteam bei der Entwicklung dieser einzigartigen, im europäischen Ökosystem verwurzelten Technologie zu unterstützen.

Alexander Ilic, ehemaliger Leiter von Magic Leap Schweiz und Mitbegründer des ETH AI Centers

Das IP von Synthara hat bahnbrechendes Potenzial, und die Gründer haben sorgfältig ein leistungsfähiges Ökosystem aus Investoren, Beratern und Forschungspartnern zusammengestellt. Ich freue mich darauf, mit Kreskado zusammenzuarbeiten, um dieses Projekt als Pilotprojekt für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Schweiz und des Silicon Valley auf den Weg zu bringen.

AGK Karunakaran, Präsident und CEO von MulticoreWare Inc.

Neben HTGF, MulticoreWare und Alex freuen wir uns, die Zürcher Kantonalbank, die Universität Zürich, Kumar Ganapathy, Peter Gleissner, Iulia-Alexandra Lungu, Scott Mason, Ali Pourkeramati, Balz Roth und Sankalp Saxena in unserem Board- und Aktionärs-Ökosystem willkommen zu heißen. Wir schätzen die enorme Erfahrung in den Bereichen Technologie-Produktmanagement, Firmenaufbau und Investitions-Lebenszyklus, die sie einbringen sehr und sind begeistert, mit ihrer Beteiligung Synthara aufzubauen.

Sandeep Raju, Vorsitzender des Verwaltungsratesvon Synthara und Gründer von Kreskado

Synthara expandiert rasch und ist auf dem besten Weg, High-Tech-Arbeitsplätze in der Schweiz und in Deutschland in zweistelligem Umfang zu schaffen. Unterstützt wird es von der Schweizer Innovationsagentur, dem Schweizerischen Nationalfonds, dem ESA Business Incubation Center (BIC), dem Horizont 2020-Programm der Europäischen Union, Venturelab und der IMD Business School.


Über Synthara
Synthara ist ein Halbleiter-KI-Unternehmen, das an einer neuen Generation von KI-Chips arbeitet, die den Kompromiss zwischen Leistung und Energieeffizienz aufheben. Die entwickelte Technologie ist das Ergebnis jahrelanger interdisziplinärer Forschung und Entwicklung in den Bereichen Systemarchitektur, Neurowissenschaften und neuronale Netzwerke am Institut für Neuroinformatik (Universität Zürich und ETH Zürich). Syntharas Designs sind massgeschneidert für Anwendungen mit intelligenten Sensoren, deren Berechnungsaufwand hochdynamisch ist, wie z.B. Wearables, IoT und Monitoring. Das Unternehmen hat eine überzeichnete Seed-Finanzierungsrunde abgeschlossen und ein Team ehrgeiziger Ingenieure, Investoren und Ökosystempartner mit tiefen Wurzeln in der Industrie zusammengebracht. Syntharas “Early Adopter”-Programm stösst bereits bei einer Reihe von Marktführern auf Interesse für eine erste Reihe von Produkten im Jahr 2022.

Kontakt:
contact-us@synthara.ai

Über Kreskado
Kreskado ist eine Vereinigung von Entrepreneuren, Investoren und Partnern, die in der Kreskado AG, einem privaten Venture-Entwicklungsstudio in der Region Basel, verankert ist. Mit einem “Entrepreneurs for Entrepreneurs”-Ökosystem mit offener Architektur bietet Kreskado Gründern eine Plattform, um Startups vom Konzept bis zur Realisierung in einer mehrjährigen Partnerschaft mit einem lebendigen globalen Netzwerk von Investoren und Partnern in der Frühphase aufzubauen.

Kontakt:
hello@kreskado.com

Über MulticoreWare
MulticoreWare ist ein Softwareunternehmen mit Produkten in den Bereichen Broadcast, OTT, Autonome Fahrzeuge und Videoanalyse wie x265, UHDkit für die Videokodierung, UHDcode und VP9 für die Videodekodierung, LipSync und TextSync für die Analyse der Videoqualität.

MulticoreWare verfügt über ein weltweites Team von Informatikern und Experten im Bereich der Hochleistungs- und heterogenen Datenverarbeitung zur Beschleunigung von Video, maschinellem Lernen, neuronalen Netzwerken, Computer Vision, Compiler-Technologien und mehr.

Kontakt:
info@multicorewareinc.com

Über die Zürcher Kantonalbank
Die Zürcher Kantonalbank ist eine führende Universalbank in der Greater Zurich Area mit nationalen Wurzeln und internationaler Reichweite. Sie ist eine unabhängige öffentlich-rechtliche Anstalt des Kantons Zürich und hat von den Rating-Agenturen Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s und Fitch Bestnoten (AAA oder Aaa) erhalten. Mit über 5’000 Mitarbeitenden bietet die Zürcher Kantonalbank ihren Kundinnen und Kunden eine umfassende Palette von Produkten und Dienstleistungen an. Zu den Kernaktivitäten der Bank gehören das Finanzierungsgeschäft, die Vermögensverwaltung, der Handel, Kapitalmarkttransaktionen, Einlagen, Zahlungsverkehr und Kartengeschäft. Die Zürcher Kantonalbank bietet Kunden und Vertriebspartnern eine umfassende Palette von Produkten und Dienstleistungen im Anlage- und Vorsorgebereich an.

Kontakt:
Medienarbeit Zürcher Kantonalbank
T.: +41 44 292 29 79
medien@zkb.ch

Über das CSEM
CSEM – Technologien, die den Unterschied machen
Das CSEM ist ein schweizerisches Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum (öffentlich-private Partnerschaft), das sich auf Mikround Nanotechnologie, Mikroelektronik, Systems Engineering, Photovoltaik und Kommunikationstechnologien spezialisiert hat. Über 500 hoch qualifizierte Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter arbeiten für das CSEM in Neuenburg, Alpnach, Muttenz, Landquart und Zürich.

Weitere Informationen auf www.csem.ch

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF)
Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) ist ein Seed-Investor, der technologieorientierte Unternehmensgründungen mit hohem Potenzial finanziert. Mit einem Gesamtinvestitionsvolumen von rund 900 Millionen Euro in drei Fonds und einem internationalen Partnernetzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 bereits fast 600 Gründungen ermöglicht. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investmentmanagern und Gründungsexperten, die sich durch ihr Fachwissen, ihren Unternehmergeist und ihre Leidenschaft auszeichnen, hilft bei der Entwicklung junger Unternehmen. Der Schwerpunkt des HTGF liegt auf Hightech-Start-ups in den Bereichen Digitaltechnik, industrielle Technologie, Biowissenschaften, Chemie und verwandten Geschäftsbereichen. Bis heute haben externe Investoren über mehr als 1.600 Anschlussfinanzierungsrunden mehr als 2,7 Milliarden Euro in das HTGF-Portfolio eingebracht. HTGF hat auch erfolgreich Beteiligungen an mehr als 100 Unternehmen verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership gehören das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und 32 Unternehmen. Die Fondsinvestoren
https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt:
Stefanie Grüter
T.:+49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor:
Dr. Olaf Joeressen
T.: +49 228 82300 157
o.joeressen@htgf.de