Press

SKY ENGINE AI completes $1.2M in funding to launch Data Science industry’s first Machine Learning in Virtual Reality Platform

August 24, 2021

London, UK — August 24, 2021 — SKY ENGINE AI today announced it has closed a $1.2M financing round in July 2021 led by Movens Capital and High-Tech Gründerfonds. The funding will be used to accelerate its growth and product innovation and to expand engineering to enable SKY ENGINE to further capitalize on its position as a leader in Machine Learning for Computer Vision and synthetic data platforms.

SKY ENGINE AI is a UK-based data science technology vendor that builds the industry’s first Evolutionary Platform for Machine Learning in Virtual Reality that solves massive business problems of an acquisition of balanced datasets, data labeling and AI models accuracy in computer vision. SKY ENGINE is targeting the AI in computer vision market which is estimated to be valued at USD 15.9 billion in 2021 and reach USD 51.3 billion by 2026, at a CAGR of 26.3%.

SKY ENGINE is bringing high value to the Enterprises in several industries including telecommunication, oil & gas, energy, healthcare, automotive, drones & robotics, manufacturing and many more as it is largely limiting data acquisition needs for deep learning and human-based data labelling is no longer required significantly decreasing the costs but bringing customer applications to the market faster. Most importantly SKY ENGINE AI platform enables machine learning for computer vision at scale ensuring high AI models accuracy. SKY ENGINE AI’s technology has yet gained market recognition and the company acquired several blue-chip partners and a strong pipeline of global names including Nvidia and Microsoft.

SKY ENGINE disrupts AI models training by leveraging its Software-as-a-Service (SAAS) platform for Deep Learning in Virtual Reality designed for developers building and deploying computer vision applications. The SKY ENGINE AI platform accelerates a deep learning models production process by creating a digital twin of the sensors, the drone, the UAV or any other type of robot and puts it through testing and AI training in a virtual environment prior to real-world deployment.

The SKY ENGINE AI simulation system enables physics-driven sensor simulations (cameras, thermal vision, IR, lidars, radars, and more) and sensor data fusion. Moreover, SKY ENGINE delivers a garden of deep neural networks fully implemented, tested, and optimized. Provided models are dedicated to popular computer vision tasks like object detection and semantic segmentation. They can also serve as more sophisticated topologies designed and implemented for 3D position and pose estimation, geometry reasoning (6D) or representation learning and are designed for the training on the synthetic data samples.

The SKY ENGINE AI data-centric platform can generate balanced synthetic imagery datasets using a proprietary, dedicated simulation system where images come already annotated and ready for machine learning. SKY ENGINE AI also includes advanced domain adaptation algorithms that can understand the characteristics of real data examples. They assure the high-quality performance of any trained AI model during the inference.

Businesses worldwide are investing in AI digital transformation initiatives with data-centric solutions. Our unique innovation technology enables unprecedented agility and accuracy when building, deploying and managing AI models and Computer Vision applications. We’re delivering on AI business transformation’s requirements for accelerated AI models training, empowering organizations to accurately analyse data in complex applications, also effectively covering edge cases. This is a massive market opportunity for SKY ENGINE and we look forward to working hand-in-hand with our new investors as we drive accuracy and intelligence to the AI-based business transformation.

Dr. Bartek Wlodarczyk, SKY ENGINE co-founder and CEO

At Movens VC, we are looking for “tech diamonds”, companies that are advancing AI/ML and have the potential to become global leaders. SKY ENGINE overcomes one of the biggest challenges the AI training for computer vision is facing nowadays – low accuracy of the AI models and slow go to market. Globally, companies are already spending much above 1 billion dollars (and this number will grow 4x by 2027) to generate high-quality data sets improving cost-effectiveness of AI training. We are convinced that the technological advancements of the data-driven SKY ENGINE AI platform will allow it to dominate this market.

Artur Banach, Partner in Movens Capital

With its platform, SKY ENGINE addresses the rapidly growing need for high quality training data for various computer vision applications. In addition to the technology used and the technically experienced founding team, we were particularly impressed and convinced by the sheer number of use cases and value creation potential in a wide range of industries.

Dominik Lohle, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

About SKY ENGINE AI

SKY ENGINEis an advanced Data Science technology and research company incorporated in 2018, that develops innovative software solutions to improve AI and Computer Vision. The company markets the Sky Engine AI platform for Deep Learning in Virtual Reality, which is the next-generation Active Learning AI system for image and video analysis applications. The company was founded as a research and scientific spin-off in London, UK (with its subsidiary in Poland).

Contact
SKY ENGINE AI Limited
Dr. Bartek Wlodarczyk, CEO & President
contact@skyengine.ai
www.skyengine.ai

About Movens Capital

Movens VC is an early-stage, Warsaw-based fund investing in tech companies with global potential. The fund’s capitalization is EUR 14M with the ticket in one company up to EUR1 M. We support the most ambitious Polish/CEE founders in the first stages of building European and global technology diamonds on a partnership basis.
We focus on startups that will revolutionize traditionally large industries, mainly through machine learning and artificial intelligence (AI/ML). Our preferred sectors are fintech, e-commerce & customer support solutions, martech, logistics, health, industry 4.0, and deep tech.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds 

High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,700 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 130 companies.

Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry For Economic Affairs and Energy, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dominik Lohle, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300 – 182
d.lohle@htgf.de

More Press posts

26. November 2021

ZE ENERGY raises €40m in a new funding round

Paris, France, 26 November 2021 - Less than two years after its creation and following the completion of a first seed round of funding worth €5.2M, ZE ENERGY, a French independent renewable energy producer operating hybrid solar power plants (photovoltaic and storage), announces the completion of a €40M Series B round of funding that will help bring the company to new heights. Backed by its initial investors, DEMETER, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), EverWatt and Ze Way Invest, the co
 
24. November 2021

Capital for Quantum cooling – kiutra closes another financing round

Munich, November 24th 2021 - To calculate and solve complex problems faster than currently possible with supercomputers, to exchange information securely against eavesdropping and to determine physical quantities such as pressure, time, position, speed and magnetic fields with unprecedented accuracy: These promises and more combined with an immense economic potential are some of the possibilities of the second generation of quantum technologies. As extremely low temperatures, close to th
 
18. November 2021

Operaize receives €1.5 million in seed capital to increase production efficiency and sustainability by leveraging AI

Cologne, November, 18th 2021 – Cologne-based start-up Operaize has successfully closed a seed financing round with three investors: High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) and NRW.BANK invest a total of 1.5 million euros in Operaize to accelerate the development of the AI-based product, drive the product market fit and to acquire new customers. Operaize provides AI-based production planning that enables manufacturers to better manage the increasing c

Presse

SKY ENGINE AI schließt eine 1,2 Millionen Dollar Finanzierungsrunde für den Start der ersten Plattform für maschinelles Lernen in der virtuellen Realität ab

24. August 2021

London, UK – 24. August 2021 – SKY ENGINE AI gab heute bekannt, dass das Unternehmen im Juli 2021 eine Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 1,2 Millionen US-Dollar abgeschlossen hat, angeführt von Movens Capital und dem High-Tech Gründerfonds. Mit der Finanzierung sollen das Wachstum und die Produktinnovation beschleunigt und das Engineering ausgebaut werden, um die Position von SKY ENGINE als führendes Unternehmen im Bereich des maschinellen Lernens für Computer Vision und synthetische Datenplattformen zu stärken.

SKY ENGINE AI ist ein in Großbritannien ansässiges Data-Science Unternehmen, das die branchenweit erste Machine-Learning-Plattform für virtuelle Realität entwickelt, die die erheblichen Herausforderungen der Erfassung ausgewogener Datensätze, der Datenbeschriftung und der Genauigkeit von KI-Modellen im Bereich Computer Vision löst. SKY ENGINE zielt auf den Markt für künstliche Intelligenz im Bereich der Computer Vision ab, der im Jahr 2021 auf 15,9 Milliarden US-Dollar geschätzt wird und bis 2026 voraussichtlich 51,3 Milliarden US-Dollar erreichen wird, was einer jährlichen Wachstumsrate von 26,3 % entspricht.

SKY ENGINE bietet Unternehmen in verschiedenen Branchen wie Telekommunikation, Öl und Gas, Energie, Gesundheitswesen, Automobilbau, Drohnen und Robotik, Fertigung und vielen anderen einen hohen Mehrwert, indem es den für Deep Learning erforderlichen Aufwand für die Datenerfassung erheblich reduziert und die menschliche Kennzeichnung von Daten überflüssig macht, was die Kosten erheblich senkt und zu einer schnelleren Markteinführung von Kundenanwendungen führt. Auf diese Weise ermöglicht die SKY ENGINE AI-Plattform maschinelles Lernen für Computer Vision in großem Maßstab unter Gewährleistung einer hohen Genauigkeit der KI-Modelle. Die Technologie von SKY ENGINE AI hat bereits eine hohe Marktakzeptanz erlangt, und das Unternehmen hat mehrere erstklassige Partner und eine starke Pipeline globaler Namen wie Nvidia und Microsoft gewinnen können.

SKY ENGINE revolutioniert das Training von KI-Modellen durch den Einsatz seiner Software-as-a-Service (SAAS)-Plattform für Deep Learning in der virtuellen Realität, die sich an Entwickler richtet, die Computer-Vision-Anwendungen entwickeln und einsetzen. Die SKY ENGINE KI-Plattform beschleunigt den Entwicklungsprozess von Deep-Learning-Modellen, indem sie einen digitalen Zwilling der Sensoren, der Drohne, des unbemannten Luftfahrzeugs oder jeder anderen Art von Robotern erstellt und diesen vor dem Einsatz in der realen Welt in einer virtuellen Umgebung testet und trainiert.

Das SKY ENGINE KI-Simulationssystem ermöglicht physikbasierte Sensorsimulationen wie Kameras, Wärmebildkameras, Lidar oder Radar sowie die Fusion der Sensordaten. Darüber hinaus liefert SKY ENGINE eine Vielzahl von vollständig implementierten, getesteten und optimierten tiefen neuronalen Netzen. Die bereitgestellten Modelle sind für gängige Computer-Vision-Aufgaben wie Objekterkennung und semantische Segmentierung geeignet. Sie können auch als anspruchsvollere Topologien dienen, die für 3D-Positions- und Lageschätzung, geometrische Schlussfolgerungen (6D) oder Repräsentationslernen entwickelt und implementiert wurden, und sind für das Training auf synthetischen Datenproben ausgelegt.

Die datenzentrierte Plattform SKY ENGINE AI kann mithilfe eines proprietären, speziellen Simulationssystems ausgewogene synthetische Bilddatensätze generieren, wobei die Bilder bereits mit Anmerkungen versehen und für das maschinelle Lernen aufbereitet sind. SKY ENGINE AI umfasst auch fortschrittliche Algorithmen zur Domänenanpassung, die in der Lage sind, die Eigenschaften von realen Datenbeispielen zu verstehen. Sie gewährleisten eine hohe Performance jedes trainierten KI-Modells während der Inferenz.

Unternehmen weltweit investieren in KI-Initiativen zur digitalen Transformation mit datenzentrierten Lösungen. Unsere einzigartige innovative Technologie ermöglicht eine noch nie dagewesene Agilität und Genauigkeit bei der Erstellung, Bereitstellung und Verwaltung von KI-Modellen und Computer-Vision-Anwendungen. Wir erfüllen die Anforderungen der KI Business Transformation an ein beschleunigtes Training von KI-Modellen und versetzen Unternehmen in die Lage, Daten in komplexen Anwendungen präzise zu analysieren und auch Edge Cases effektiv abzudecken. Dies ist eine enorme Chance für SKY ENGINE und wir freuen uns darauf, Hand in Hand mit unseren neuen Investoren zu arbeiten, während wir Genauigkeit und Intelligenz für die KI-basierte Business Transformation vorantreiben.

Dr. Bartek Wlodarczyk, Mitgründer und CEO von SKY ENGINE

Bei Movens VC suchen wir nach “Tech Diamonds”, Unternehmen, die KI/ML vorantreiben und das Potenzial haben, weltweit führend zu werden. SKY ENGINE überwindet eine der größten Herausforderungen, mit denen KI-Training für Computer Vision heute konfrontiert ist – die geringe Genauigkeit der KI-Modelle und die langsame Markteinführung. Weltweit geben Unternehmen bereits weit über 1 Milliarde Dollar aus (und diese Zahl wird sich bis 2027 vervierfachen), um hochwertige Datensätze zu generieren und die Kosteneffizienz des KI-Trainings zu verbessern. Wir glauben, dass die technologischen Fortschritte der datengesteuerten KI-Plattform SKY ENGINE es ihr ermöglichen werden, diesen Markt zu dominieren..

Artur Banach, Partner bei Movens Capital

SKY ENGINE adressiert mit seiner Plattform den schnell wachsenden Bedarf an hochwertigen Trainingsdaten für verschiedene Computer Vision Anwendungen. Neben der eingesetzten Technologie und dem technisch versierten Gründerteam haben uns vor allem die Vielzahl an Anwendungsfällen und das Wertschöpfungspotenzial in den unterschiedlichsten Branchen beeindruckt und überzeugt.

Dominik Lohle, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Über SKY ENGINE AI
SKY ENGINE ist ein 2018 gegründetes Unternehmen für fortschrittliche Data Science-Technologie und Forschung, das innovative Softwarelösungen zur Verbesserung von KI und Computer Vision entwickelt. Das Unternehmen vermarktet die Sky Engine AI-Plattform für Deep Learning in Virtual Reality, die das Active Learning AI-System der nächsten Generation für Bild- und Videoanalyseanwendungen ist. Das Unternehmen wurde als Forschungs- und Wissenschafts-Spin-off in London, Großbritannien, gegründet (mit einer Tochtergesellschaft in Polen).

Kontakt
SKY ENGINE AI Limited
Dr. Bartek Wlodarczyk, CEO & President
contact@skyengine.ai
www.skyengine.ai

Über Movens Capital
Movens VC ist ein Frühphasenfonds mit Sitz in Warschau, der in Technologieunternehmen mit globalem Potenzial investiert. Die Kapitalisierung des Fonds beläuft sich auf 14 Mio. EUR, wobei die Beteiligung an einem Unternehmen bis zu 1 Mio. EUR betragen kann. Wir unterstützen die ehrgeizigsten polnischen/europäischen Gründer in den ersten Phasen des Aufbaus europäischer und globaler Technologiediamanten auf partnerschaftlicher Basis.
Wir konzentrieren uns auf Startups, die traditionell große Branchen revolutionieren werden, hauptsächlich durch maschinelles Lernen und künstliche Intelligenz (ML/KI). Unsere bevorzugten Sektoren sind Fintech, E-Commerce und Kundensupportlösungen, Marketing, Logistik, Gesundheit, Industrie 4.0 und Deep Tech.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 600 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.700 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 130 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investorenkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dominik Lohle, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300 – 182
d.lohle@htgf.de

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

14. Oktober 2021

BASF Venture Capital und Amathaon Capital erwerben Minderheitsbeteiligung am Bioinformatik-Unternehmen Computomics

Empfehlung für Pflanzenzüchter angepasst auf zukünftige klimatische BedingungenStark beschleunigte Markteinführung neuer Sorten mit Hilfe von Künstlicher IntelligenzInvestition fördert innovative Lösungen für eine nachhaltigere Landwirtschaft Tübingen, München und Ludwigshafen, 14. Oktober 2021 –BASF Venture Capital GmbH (BVC), die Corporate Venture Gesellschaft der BASF Gruppe, und Amathaon Capital, ein auf AgTech spezialisierter Investor, investieren in das Tübinger Bio
 
14. Oktober 2021

Abalos Therapeutics schließt erweiterte Serie-A-Finanzierung über insgesamt 43 Millionen Euro ab

Zusätzliche Gelder in Höhe von 32,5 Millionen Euro unterstützen Studienreife und beschleunigen Entwicklung des Hauptproduktkandidaten bis zur initialen klinischen Wirksamkeitsanalyse. Düsseldorf, 14. Oktober 2021 – Abalos Therapeutics gab heute eine Erweiterung seiner Serie-A-Finanzierung bekannt. Damit steigert das Unternehmen das Finanzierungsvolumen der Runde auf 43 Millionen Euro (50 Millionen US-Dollar). Die Erweiterungsrunde wurde von Seventure Partners angeführt, mit Unterst
 
12. Oktober 2021

STIHL Digital GmbH beteiligt sich am Software-Startup FlyNex

STIHL ist seit 95 Jahren Innovationstreiber rund um Forst und Garten. Um Kunden die Arbeit mit und in der Natur zu erleichtern, beschäftigt sich der Motor- und Gartengerätehersteller aus Waiblingen bei Stuttgart derzeit intensiv mit digitalen Technologien. Mit der neu gegründeten Partnerschaft zwischen STIHL und FlyNex sollen insbesondere Kunden im Forst, Garten- und Landschaftsbau mit Daten unterstützt werden, die durch Drohnen erzeugt werden. Hamburg, 12.10.2021 – Das Technologie-