Press

PreComb Therapeutics AG secures CHF 2.2 Mio seed financing to advance personalized medicine for cancer patients

April 26, 2021

PreComb develops the next generation point-of-care technology for patient-specific profiling of cancer therapies

PreComb Therapeutics today announced the successful completion of the seed financing round led by Kinled Austria, the High-Tech Gründerfonds and FiveT capital, in addition to participations from other investors. Patrick Aisher, managing partner at Kinled Austria, joined the company’s board of directors. The seed funding will help advance the proprietary 3D3 Technology for patient-specific drug response analysis and position PreComb as a leader in point-of-care solutions to enable functional patient-specific drug testing directly in the clinic.

Despite recent advances in the development of novel cancer therapies, cancer remains the second largest cause of death after cardiac disease. Due to its inherent individual characteristics, personalized therapies have become a prime focus to provide patients with an optimal therapy. However, current patient-specific molecular and histopathological information is not sufficient to enable personalized medicine for most patients. PreComb is developing the first point-of-care technology that enables clinical institutions to test a large number of therapies directly on 3D microtumors generated form patient tumors complementing molecular and histopathological tumor classification.

In recent years, we have seen a change of dogma in the treatment of cancer away from empirically and statistics driven treatment decisions towards individualized therapy guidance. Molecular technologies have already paved the way in this direction. However, to achieve the full benefit of personalized medicine decisions for most patients, we need fully translatable testing platforms that directly assess individual drug sensitivity and resistance and can be implemented on-site in the clinic. This is a huge market opportunity for PreComb and we look forward to working with our new investors to begin a new chapter in the fight against cancer.

Jens M. Kelm, co-founder and CEO of PreComb

PreComb has built an exciting technology platform for personalized medicine that addresses important challenges for biopharmaceutical companies, but also aims to help physicians make better treatment decisions. We look forward to supporting PreComb to help cancer patients receive the most promising therapies and take advantage of the immense opportunities ahead.

Patrick Aisher, Kinled Austria

The founder team combines expertise in biomedicine, cell biology, bioinformatic and automation, and thus is ideally set-up to bring the promise of functional precision medicine to practice. We are excited to work with the team towards the realisation of Precomb’s goals.

Anke Cassing, Principal at High-Tech Gründerfonds

About PreComb
PreComb Therapeutics AG is a privately held Swiss biotech company founded in 2018 by Jens M. Kelm, Peter Steiner and Olivier Mauti with the aim of developing technologies that bring precision medicine benefits to all cancer patients. PreComb is pioneering breakthrough technologies to directly test the drug response of individual cancer patients, based on patient-derived 3D microtumors. For the first time, a fully automated point-of-care solution for determining drug sensitivity or resistance directly in the clinic is being developed. This offers the unique ability to routinely test entire portfolios of cancer drugs and drug combinations in large-scale, making the technology a universal tool from drug discovery to guiding therapies.

PreComb Media Contact
Jens M. Kelm, CEO
info@precomb.com

About Kinled
Kinled is a privately owned investment holding company in the life sciences, digital and financial technology industries. The Vienna-based company has sister offices in London, Shanghai, Hong Kong, and Berne and has direct investments in over 100 companies, as well as being a founder shareholder in the Central European Biotechnology Incubator & Accelerator at the University of Vienna.

About FiveT Capital
FiveT Capital is a privately held Swiss investment management and holding company specializing in equity linked investment strategies in life sciences and renewable energy. Through its subsidiaries, FiveT Capital offers a wide range of asset management products and tailored financing solutions.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected almost EUR 3 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,700 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 120 companies.

Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and 32 companies (The Fund Investors).

www.htgf.de/en

HTGF Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

HTGF Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Anke Caßing, Prokurist
T.:  +4922882300148
a.cassing@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
27. February 2024

Successful Exit for HTGF: Valispace Joins Forces with Altium in a Strategic Acquisition 

Altium and Valispace are joining forces to accelerate the execution of a shared vision for empowering engineers.  HTGF was the first institutional investor and led the seed round in 2018 and has closely supported Valispace throughout all phases of their growth journey. As part of the deal HTGF will sell its shares.  Louise Lindblad, co-founder of Valispace: “We’re now excited to, together with Altium, continue our mission of empowering engineers to build great products,
 
Press
toolify founders
22. February 2024

€1.6 million investment for XITO: Seed funding for easily accessible robotics

With the completed seed financing, XITO now has €1.6 million to expand sales and product development. Toolify Robotics GmbH enables companies to implement robots independently with its XITO solution platform. Thanks to their product XITO, especially SMEs can get started with automation at low cost – without programming knowledge and without external specialists. Ulm, 22. February 2024 – The start-up Toolify Robotics, founded by the three robotics experts Dr. Dennis S
 
Press
21. February 2024

ClimateTech startup Cyclize secures €5 Million in Seed Funding for revolutionary plastic recycling technology

Stuttgart, February 21, 2024 – Cyclize, the ClimateTech startup from Stuttgart, is forging ahead with €4.75 million in startup capital to initiate a revolution in the chemical industry – the goal: To replace fossil resources using innovative carbon recycling of plastic waste and CO2. The funding round is led by UVC Partners, with complementary investments from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators, and high-profile business angels, includin

Presse

PreComb Therapeutics AG schließt 2.2 Mio CHF Seed-Finanzierung ab, um personalisierte Medizin für Krebspatienten zu verbessern

PreComb entwickelt Point-of-Care-Technologien der nächsten Generation für die patientenspezifische Profilierung von Krebstherapien

PreComb Therapeutics gab heute den erfolgreichen Abschluss der Seed-Finanzierungsrunde bekannt, die von Kinled Austria, dem High-Tech Gründerfonds und FiveT Capital Holding sowie von weiteren Investoren getragen wurde. Patrick Aisher, Geschäftsführer von Kinled Austria, wurde in den Aufsichtsrat des Unternehmens berufen. Die Seed-Finanzierung wird dazu verwendet, um die firmeneigene 3D3-Technologie für patientenspezifische Medikamenten-Profilierung weiter zu beschleunigen und PreComb als führenden Anbieter von Point-of-Care-Lösungen zu positionieren, um funktionale Medikamententests direkt in der Klinik zu ermöglichen.

Trotz der jüngsten Fortschritte bei der Entwicklung neuartiger Krebstherapien bleibt Krebs nach Herzerkrankungen die zweithäufigste Todesursache. Aufgrund der inhärenten individuellen Eigenschaften sind personalisierte Therapien in den Fokus gerückt, um Patienten eine optimale Therapie zu ermöglichen. Die derzeitigen patientenspezifischen molekularen und histopathologischen Informationen reichen jedoch nicht aus, um personalisierte Medizin für einen Großteil der Patienten zu ermöglichen. PreComb entwickelt die erste Point-of-Care-Technologie, die es klinischen Einrichtungen ermöglicht, eine große Anzahl von Therapien direkt an 3D-Mikrotumoren zu testen, die aus Patiententumoren gewonnen wurden, um die molekulare und histopathologische Tumorklassifizierung zu ergänzen.

In den letzten Jahren haben wir einen Dogmenwechsel in der Behandlung von Krebs erlebt, weg von empirisch und statistisch getriebenen Behandlungsentscheidungen hin zu einer individualisierten Therapieführung. Molekulare Technologien haben bereits den Weg in diese Richtung geebnet. Um jedoch den vollen Nutzen personalisierter Therapieentscheidungen für die meisten Patienten zu erreichen, benötigen wir Testplattformen, die die individuelle Medikamentensensitivität und -resistenz direkt bewerten und vor Ort in der Klinik implementiert werden können. Dies ist eine riesige Marktchance für PreComb und wir freuen uns auf die Zusammenarbeit mit unseren neuen Investoren, um ein neues Kapitel im Kampf gegen Krebs zu beginnen.

Jens M. Kelm, Mitgründer und CEO von PreComb

PreComb hat eine spannende Technologieplattform für personalisierte Medizin aufgebaut, die wichtige Herausforderungen für biopharmazeutische Unternehmen adressiert, sowie auch Ärzten helfen soll, bessere Behandlungsentscheidungen zu treffen. Wir freuen uns darauf, PreComb zu unterstützen, damit Krebspatienten die vielversprechendsten Therapien erhalten und die immensen Chancen, die vor PreComb liegen, nutzen zu können.

Patrick Aisher, Kinled Österreich

Das Gründerteam vereint Expertise in Biomedizin, Zellbiologie, Bioinformatik und Automatisierung und ist damit ideal aufgestellt, um das Versprechen der funktionalen Präzisionsmedizin in die Praxis zu bringen. Wir freuen uns darauf, gemeinsam mit dem Team an der Verwirklichung der Ziele von Precomb zu arbeiten.

Anke Caßing, Principal des High-Tech Gründerfonds

Über PreComb
PreComb Therapeutics AG ist ein privates Schweizer Biotech-Unternehmen, das 2018 von Jens M. Kelm, Peter Steiner und Olivier Mauti mit dem Ziel gegründet wurde, Technologien zu entwickeln, um Präzisionsmedizin allen Krebspatienten zugänglich zu machen. PreComb leistet Pionierarbeit bei der Entwicklung bahnbrechender Technologien, basierend auf von Patienten abgeleiteten 3D-Mikrotumoren, um das individuelle Ansprechen auf Medikamente bei Krebspatienten direkt zu testen. Zum ersten Mal wird eine vollautomatische Point-of-Care-Lösung zur Bestimmung von Medikamentensensitivität oder -resistenz direkt in der Klinik entwickelt. Dies bietet die einzigartige Möglichkeit, ganze Portfolios von Krebsmedikamenten und Medikamentenkombinationen routinemäßig im großen Maßstab zu testen, was die Technologie zu einem universellen Werkzeug von der Medikamentenentdeckung bis hin zur Steuerung von Therapien macht.

PreComb Media Contact
Jens M. Kelm, CEO
info@precomb.com

Über Kinled
Kinled ist eine private Investment-Holding in den Bereichen Life Sciences, Digital- und Finanztechnologie. Das Unternehmen mit Sitz in Wien hat Schwesterbüros in London, Shanghai, Hongkong und Bern, hält Direktinvestitionen in über 100 Unternehmen und ist Gründungsgesellschafter des Central European Biotechnology Incubator & Accelerator an der Universität Wien.

Über FiveT Capital
FiveT Capital ist eine private Schweizer Investment Management- und Beteiligungsgesellschaft, die sich auf aktiengebundene Anlagestrategien in den Bereichen Life Sciences und erneuerbare Energien spezialisiert hat. Über ihre Tochtergesellschaften bietet FiveT Capital eine breite Palette von Vermögensverwaltungsprodukten und maßgeschneiderten Finanzierungslösungen an.

Über High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) ist ein Seed-Investor, der potenzialstarke, technologiegetriebene Start-ups finanziert. Mit einem Gesamtinvestitionsvolumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro in drei Fonds und einem internationalen Netzwerk von Partnern hat der HTGF seit 2005 bereits mehr als 600 Start-ups unterstützt. Angetrieben von ihrer Expertise, ihrem Unternehmergeist und ihrer Leidenschaft begleitet das Team aus erfahrenen Investmentmanagern und Startup-Experten die Entwicklung von jungen Unternehmen. Der Fokus des HTGF liegt auf Hightech-Start-ups in den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrietechnik, Life Sciences, Chemie und verwandten Geschäftsfeldern. Bis heute haben externe Investoren in mehr als 1.700 Anschlussfinanzierungsrunden fast 3 Mrd. Euro in das HTGF-Portfolio gesteckt. Zudem hat der HTGF Beteiligungen an mehr als 120 Unternehmen erfolgreich veräußert.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership gehören das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und 32 Unternehmen (Die Fonds Investoren). www.htgf.de/en

HTGF Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

HTGF Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Anke Caßing, Principal
T.:  +4922882300148
a.cassing@htgf.de