Press

Nebula Biocides receives millions in seed funding

November 10, 2021

Great success for Nebula Biocides GmbH: Three investors decide to invest in the Greifswald-based start-up company. This brings the business a major step closer to its goal of obtaining approval for the highly effective disinfectant Sporosan® and finally placing it on the market.

Greifswald, 10.11.2021 – With a total investment of 1.6 million euros, the start-up Nebula Biocides, founded in 2019, can now really take off: The approval of the novel disinfection process Sporosan® is supported through seed financing by the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), the Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH (MBMV) and a strategic investor operating in the field of cleaning and disinfection equipment.

We are very pleased to have a strong business partner on board along with two experienced and highly networked financial investors

Dr. Jörn Winter, founder of Nebula Biocides

Together with his colleague Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker, also founder and CEO of Nebula Biocides GmbH, he had discovered the novel disinfection process in 2016. As part of their work at the Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science and Technology (INP), the physicists identified the substance peroxynitrite acid as active agent and developed the Sporosan® disinfectant on this basis. In this process, two starting components react with each other for a short time, providing a highly disinfecting effect during this period.

Sporosan® not only kills bacteria and viruses; even persistent bacterial spores have no chance of survival thanks to the new process.

Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker, founder of Nebula Biocides

In the future, this will also prevent infections with the dangerous hospital germ Clostridioides difficile, which leads to severe diarrhea and is often fatal, especially in previously ill patients. The researchers have thus achieved a breakthrough – so far there is no disinfectant with a comparably strong and rapid effect that is at the same time environmentally friendly and gentle in use.

The significance and potential of the active substance were also recognized by the three investors, whose participation enables the financing of studies required for regulatory compliance.

We are very proud to welcome Nebula Biocides with their highly disruptive chemical innovation to our portfolio. The underlying technology promises to create numerous sustainable application opportunities.

Dr. Nikolaus Raupp, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

With the help of the investors, the company, which now consists of a team of five, can pursue two paths at once: The approval of Sporosan® as a biocidal product, making it available for everyone as a hand and surface disinfectant by presumably 2028. In parallel, the Nebula team is working intensively on solutions for the sporicidal reprocessing of medical devices with the aim of marketing the disinfectant itself as a medical device. With the strategic investor, an industrial partner who is excited in using Sporosan® for his medical devices has already been found; market launch is expected in 2024. Furthermore, the start-up is already receiving inquiries from other interested companies from a wide range of industries every week, which underlines the broad significance of Nebula’s innovation in the healthcare, pharmaceutical and food sectors.

Team of Nebula Biocides: from left to right Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker, Anke Horsfield, Dr. Jörn Winter, Dr. Katja Fricke, Stefanie Schneider (Picture: Nebula Biocides)

About Nebula Biocides GmbH
Nebula Biocides GmbH was founded in 2019 as a spin-off from the Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science and Technology (INP) by the scientists Dr. Jörn Winter, Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker and the director of INP Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Weltmann. With the aim of providing comprehensive protection against infectious pathogens, the company develops application-oriented disinfection solutions that reliably kill not only bacteria and viruses but also persistent bacterial spores.  

Press contact:
Nebula Biocides GmbH
Managing Directors: Dr. Jörn Winter, Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker
Brandteichstraße 20
17489 Greifswald
Phone: 03834-550701
E-Mail: info@nebula-biocides.de
Website: www.nebula-biocides.de

About Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH
Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH (MBMV) specializes in investments for small and medium-sized enterprises. It has been supporting regional SMEs in project financing for more than 28 years. So funding gaps can be closed and at the same time the equity base of small and medium-sized companies can be put on a broader footing. As a result of that promising ideas or future-oriented business strategies can be made possible more easily. Furthermore the MBMV is a reliable partner for startups and entrepreneurs as well.

www.mbm-v.de

Contact Investor
Mario Mietsch
mario.mietsch@bbm-v.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3.5 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 140 companies.

Fund Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and 32 companies.

www.htgf.de/en

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Nikolaus Raupp
T.: +49 228 82300 -185
n.raupp@htgf.de

More Press posts

26. November 2021

ZE ENERGY raises €40m in a new funding round

Paris, France, 26 November 2021 - Less than two years after its creation and following the completion of a first seed round of funding worth €5.2M, ZE ENERGY, a French independent renewable energy producer operating hybrid solar power plants (photovoltaic and storage), announces the completion of a €40M Series B round of funding that will help bring the company to new heights. Backed by its initial investors, DEMETER, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), EverWatt and Ze Way Invest, the co
 
24. November 2021

Capital for Quantum cooling – kiutra closes another financing round

Munich, November 24th 2021 - To calculate and solve complex problems faster than currently possible with supercomputers, to exchange information securely against eavesdropping and to determine physical quantities such as pressure, time, position, speed and magnetic fields with unprecedented accuracy: These promises and more combined with an immense economic potential are some of the possibilities of the second generation of quantum technologies. As extremely low temperatures, close to th
 
18. November 2021

Operaize receives €1.5 million in seed capital to increase production efficiency and sustainability by leveraging AI

Cologne, November, 18th 2021 – Cologne-based start-up Operaize has successfully closed a seed financing round with three investors: High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) and NRW.BANK invest a total of 1.5 million euros in Operaize to accelerate the development of the AI-based product, drive the product market fit and to acquire new customers. Operaize provides AI-based production planning that enables manufacturers to better manage the increasing c

Presse

Nebula Biocides erhält Seed-Finanzierung in Millionenhöhe

10. November 2021

Großer Erfolg für die Nebula Biocides GmbH: Gleich drei Investoren entscheiden sich für die Beteiligung an dem Greifswalder Jungunternehmen. Damit kommt das Start-up seinem Ziel, der Zulassung und Markteinführung des hochwirksamen Desinfektionsmittels Sporosan®, einen bedeutenden Schritt näher.

Greifswald, 11.11.2021 – Mit einer Investition von insgesamt 1,6 Millionen Euro kann das 2019 gegründete Start-up Nebula Biocides nun so richtig durchstarten: Die Zulassung des neuartigen Desinfektionsprozesses Sporosan® wird im Rahmen einer Seed-Finanzierung durch den High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), die Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH (MBMV) und einen strategischen Investor aus dem Bereich Reinigungs- und Desinfektionsgeräte unterstützt.

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir einen starken Wirtschaftspartner und mit dem HTGF und der MBMV zwei erfahrene und netzwerkstarke Finanzinvestoren an Bord haben.

Dr. Jörn Winter, Geschäftsführer der Nebula Biocides

Gemeinsam mit seinem Kollegen Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker, ebenfalls Gründer und Geschäftsführer der Nebula Biocides GmbH, hatte er 2016 das neuartige Desinfektionsverfahren entdeckt. Im Rahmen ihrer Tätigkeit am Leibniz-Institut für Plasmaforschung und Technologie e.V. (INP) identifizierten die Physiker den Stoff Peroxinitritsäure als wirksames Agens und entwickelten auf dieser Grundlage den Sporosan®-Prozess. Hierbei reagieren zwei Ausgangskomponenten kurzzeitig miteinander und wirken in diesem Zeitraum hoch desinfizierend.

Sporosan® tötet nicht nur Bakterien und Viren; auch hartnäckige Bakteriensporen haben dank des neuen Verfahrens keine Überlebenschancen“, betont Schmidt-Bleker die breite Wirksamkeit des Desinfektionsmittels.

Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker, Geschäftsführer der Nebula Biocides

Damit können zukünftig auch Infektionen mit dem gefährlichen Krankenhauskeim Clostridioides difficile verhindert werden, welche zu starkem Durchfall führen und gerade bei vorerkrankten Patienten oftmals tödlich enden. Den Greifswalder Forschern gelang damit ein Durchbruch – weltweit gibt es bisher kein Desinfektionsmittel mit vergleichbar starker und schneller Wirkung, das gleichzeitig umweltfreundlich und schonend in der Anwendung ist.

Die Bedeutung und das Potenzial des Wirkstoffes erkannten auch die drei Investoren, mit deren Beteiligung die für die Zulassung notwendigen Studien nun finanziert werden können.

Wir sind sehr stolz darauf, Nebula Biocides mit ihrer ausgesprochen disruptiven Chemie-Innovation in unserem Portfolio begrüßen zu dürfen. Die zugrunde liegende Technologie verspricht zahlreiche nachhaltige Anwendungsmöglichkeiten zu schaffen.

Dr. Nikolaus Raupp, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Mithilfe der Investoren kann das Unternehmen, das mittlerweile aus einem fünfköpfigen Team besteht, gleich zwei Wege einschlagen: Zum einen wird die Zulassung als Biozid angestrebt, sodass Sporosan ab 2028 für jedermann als Hände- und Flächendesinfektion zugänglich ist. Parallel arbeitet das Nebula Team intensiv an Lösungen zur sporiziden Aufbereitung von Medizinprodukten mit dem Ziel, das Desinfektionsmittel selbst als Medizinprodukt in Verkehr zu bringen. Mit dem strategischen Investor ist bereits ein Industriepartner gefunden, der Sporosan® für seine Produkte verwenden möchte; mit der Markteinführung wird 2024 gerechnet. Doch schon jetzt erreichen das Start-up im Wochentakt Anfragen weiterer interessierter Unternehmen aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen, welche die Tragweite der Greifswalder Innovation in der Gesundheits-, Pharma- und Lebensmittelindustrie nur noch mehr unterstreichen.

Das Nebula Biocides Team: v. l. n. r. Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker, Anke Horsfield, Dr. Jörn Winter, Dr. Katja Fricke, Stefanie Schneider (Bild: Nebula Biocides)

Über die Nebula Biocides GmbH
Die Nebula Biocides GmbH wurde 2019 als Spin-off aus dem Leibniz-Institut für Plasmaforschung und Technologie e.V. (INP) von den Wissenschaftlern Dr. Jörn Winter, Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker und dem Direktor des INP Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Weltmann in Greifswald gegründet. Mit dem Ziel umfassenden Schutz vor Infektionserregern zu bieten, entwickelt das Unternehmen anwendungsorientierte Desinfektionslösungen, die neben Bakterien und Viren auch hartnäckige Bakteriensporen zuverlässig abtöten.  

Pressekontakt:
Nebula Biocides GmbH
Geschäftsführer: Dr. Jörn Winter, Dr. Ansgar Schmidt-Bleker
Brandteichstraße 20
17489 Greifswald
Tel.: 03834-550701
E-Mail: info@nebula-biocides.de
Website: www.nebula-biocides.de

Über die Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH
Die Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH (MBMV) unterstützt seit über 28 Jahren den regionalen Mittelstand bei der Vorhabenfinanzierung. Sie schließt Finanzierungslücken und stellt zugleich die Eigenkapitalbasis kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen auf eine breitere Grundlage und ermöglicht es, Erfolg versprechende Ideen oder zukunftsträchtige Geschäftsstrategien zu realisieren. Auch Startups und Existenzgründern steht die MBMV als zuverlässiger Partner zur Seite.

www.mbm-v.de

Kontakt Investor
Mario Mietsch
mario.mietsch@bbm-v.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.800 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 140 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie 32 Unternehmen.

https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Nikolaus Raupp
T.: +49 228 82300 -185
n.raupp@htgf.de

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

26. November 2021

ZE ENERGY sammelt 40 Millionen Euro in einer neuen Finanzierungsrunde ein

Paris, Frankreich, 26 November 2021 - Weniger als zwei Jahre nach ihrer Gründung und nach Abschluss einer ersten Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 5,2 Mio. Euro gibt ZE ENERGY, ein unabhängiger französischer Hersteller von erneuerbaren Energien, der hybride Solarkraftwerke (Photovoltaik und Speicherung) betreibt, den Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 40 Mio. Euro bekannt. Neben den Altinvestoren DEMETER, HTGF, EverWatt und Ze Way Invest kann das Unternehmen nun
 
24. November 2021

Kapital für Quantenkühlung – kiutra schließt weitere Finanzierungsrunde ab

München, 24. November 2021 - Komplexe Probleme viel schneller zu berechnen als es heute mit den besten Supercomputern möglich ist, Information abhörsicher auszutauschen und physikalische Größen wie Druck, Zeit, Position, Geschwindigkeit und magnetische Felder mit nie dagewesener Genauigkeit zu bestimmen. Das und mehr versprechen Quantentechnologien der zweiten Generation – und bieten damit zugleich ein riesiges wirtschaftliches Potenzial. Weil für ihre technische Nutzung fast imm
 
18. November 2021

Operaize erhält 1,5 Millionen Euro Seed-Finanzierung zur Steigerung der Produktionseffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit durch den Einsatz von KI

Köln, 18. November 2021 - Das Kölner Start-up Operaize hat erfolgreich eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde mit drei Investoren abgeschlossen: Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), der Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) und die NRW.BANK investieren insgesamt 1,5 Millionen Euro in Operaize, um die Entwicklung des KI-basierten Produkts zu beschleunigen, die Marktfähigkeit des Produkts voranzutreiben und neue Kunden zu gewinnen. Operaize bietet eine KI-basierte Produktionsplanung an, die