Press

Kranus Health receives seven-figure Seed investment to revolutionize Men’s Health

February 4, 2021

Today, the digital men’s health platform Kranus Health announced a seven-figure Seed investment. HTGF, A Round Capital, Venture Basecamp and Dr. Ralph Müller are joining Kranus Health as new investors in this round. In addition to new investors, existing business angels, including Konstantin Mehl (founder Foodora + Kaia Health), have done follow-on investments in the Seed round. With the fresh capital, Kranus Health will further expand its men’s health platform and, as a next step, launch a reimbursable digital therapy as long-term solution for Erectile Dysfunction. The existing expert network of urological specialists will also be further expanded to reach even more men with Kranus Health solutions.

The digital health company Kranus Health was founded in 2020 by Jens Nörtershäuser, Thilo Kleinschmidt, Nikolay Dimolarov and Professor Kurt Miller. The goal is to rethink men’s healthcare and improve it with the help of digital solutions. Men’s life expectancy is still up to 6 years behind that of women. Thousands of men worldwide die too early due to an unhealthy lifestyle and a lack of preventive care and prevention – there is a general lack of health awareness within men.

Kranus Health has made it its mission to change this. Digital and thus easily accessible patient journeys lower men’s barriers to consult a doctor for their problems and enable a healthier lifestyle because users interact with the digital offer in an uncomplicated and frequent way. The first offer is going to be a reimbursable digital therapy for erectile dysfunction (DiGA as an “app on prescription”). This condition is closely related to serious cardiovascular diseases such as heart attacks, the risk factors of which are also to be reduced by the Kranus Health therapy. The start-up works closely with medical specialists and has already built up a broad network of experts consisting of urologists in Germany.

Kranus Health has developed an offer based on scientific findings that provides urologists with completely new and, above all, root-cause-oriented options in the treatment of their patients.

Professor Kurt Miller, Chief Medical Officer at Kranus Health

With the fresh capital and the investors’ network, the digital therapy is to be further developed this year and brought to market as a reimbursable product, and the digital platform for men’s health is also to be expanded with further offerings.

In the case of erectile dysfunction, current offers such as medications are aimed at alleviating the symptoms, but not the causes. With its digital solution, Kranus is helping to improve the quality of life of a large number of men in a long-term and goal-oriented way.

Louis Heinz, Investment Manager at HTGF

About Kranus Health
Kranus Health aims to help men lead healthier and longer lives through access to the latest medical care. Founders Thilo Kleinschmidt and Jens Nörtershäuser have known each other for many years through their time together at McKinsey & Company, and both have been passionate about the possibilities of digital transformation for years. Both also had a keen interest in the health sector. Jens is originally a bio-chemical engineer and has years of professional experience in the pharmaceutical sector. Thilo comes from a medical family, his father is a urologist. So the idea to found Kranus at the beginning of 2020 was obvious and also took place against the backdrop of regulatory changes, especially the Digital Health Care Act (DVG). Since then, it has been possible in Germany to significantly improve healthcare through digital therapies. Professor Kurt Miller, former head physician of urology at Charité Berlin, and CTO Nikolay Dimolarov (Celonis, among others) complement the founding team to jointly implement Kranus’ vision. To this end, Kranus Health develops digital therapies based on current scientific findings supported by telemedical care from specialists. The spectrum of services ranges from therapies for taboo diseases such as erectile dysfunction to early detection and prevention (e.g., cardiovascular diseases).

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge almost 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected almost EUR 3 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,700 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 120 companies.

Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry For Economic Affairs and Energy, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, Drillisch AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

www.htgf.de/en

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter
T.: +49228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Louis Heinz, Investment Manager
T.: +49 2288 2300 128
L.Heinz@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
9. August 2022

Mobile learning start-up doinstruct closes seven-figure financing from High-Tech Gründerfonds and Born2Grow

Rethinking employee training, integration, and communication: doinstruct develops a low-threshold, multilingual mobile training solution for frontline workers. The software enables companies to train their employees and service providers by smartphone, across supply chains and in any location. With its strong new partners doinstruct hopes to revolutionize in-company employee training and push ahead with product development and the expansion of the company into new sectors. doinstruct
 
Press
27. July 2022

Energy transition startup node.energy raises 7 million euros in Series A financing

A total of four new investors are joining the company, while existing investors such as High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and renowned business angels are once again contributing fresh capital. The four new Series A investors were selected consciously. The financing round is led by Cologne-based VC BitStone Capital, the leading PropTech fund with strong expertise in the real estate industry. As co-investors, the 10x Founders contributes extensive experience in the software-as-a-service secto
 
Press
12. July 2022

Embedded security startup Emproof secures €2m seed financing from European investor syndicate

Eindhoven/Bochum, July 12th, 2022 – Emproof B.V. successfully closed a € 2 million seed financing round, which enables the company to further develop its product range and serve customers in Europe and the USA. This financing round is led by the Dutch investment group TIIN Capital through its Dutch Security TechFund, alongside High-Tech Gründerfonds from Germany and the French venture capitalist Cyber Impact. Emproof has developed a unique technology which protects resource constrained

Presse

Kranus Health erhält Millionen Investment als Seed Finanzierung um Männergesundheit zu revolutionieren

Kranus Health, die Plattform für digitale Männergesundheit, hat heute eine siebenstellige Seed Finanzierung bekannt gegeben. Die Kapitalgeber HTGF, A Round Capital, Venture Basecamp sowie Dr. Ralph Müller steigen neu bei Kranus Health mit ein. Neben den neuen Investoren haben sich auch bestehende Business Angels, u.a. Konstantin Mehl (Gründer Foodora + Kaia Health), erneut an der Seed Runde beteiligt. Mit dem frischen Kapital wird Kranus Health ihre Plattform für Männergesundheit weiter ausbauen und als nächsten Schritt eine erstattbare digitale Therapie als nachhaltige Lösung für Erektionsstörungen auf den Markt bringen. Auch das bestehende Expertennetzwerk aus urologischen Fachärzten soll weiter ausgebaut werden, um so noch mehr Männer mit den Lösungen von Kranus Health zu erreichen.

Das Digital Health Unternehmen Kranus Health wurde 2020 von Jens Nörtershäuser, Thilo Kleinschmidt, Nikolay Dimolarov und Professor Kurt Miller gegründet. Ziel ist, die Gesundheitsversorgung von Männern neu zu denken und mithilfe digitaler Lösungen zu verbessern. Nach wie vor liegt die Lebenserwartung von Männern bis zu 6 Jahre hinter der Lebenserwartung von Frauen zurück, tausende Männer weltweit sterben zu früh an ungesundem Lebensstil und mangelnder Vorsorge sowie Prävention – es fehlt an Gesundheitsbewusstsein.

Kranus Health hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, dies zu ändern. Digitale und dadurch einfach zugängliche Patientenreisen senken die Hemmschwelle von Männern, einen Arzt für ihre Probleme zu konsultieren und unterstützen nachhaltig einen gesunden Lebensstil, weil Nutzer unkompliziert und häufig mit dem digitalen Angebot interagieren. Als erstes Angebot wird eine erstattbare digitale Therapie für Erektionsstörungen (DiGA als “App auf Rezept”) entwickelt. Bei diesem Krankheitsbild besteht ein enger Zusammenhang mit schwerwiegenden kardiovaskulären Erkrankungen wie z.B. Herzinfarkten, deren Risikofaktoren durch die Kranus Health Therapie ebenfalls reduziert werden sollen. Das Startup arbeitet dabei eng mit Fachärzten zusammen und hat bereits ein breites Expertennetzwerk aus deutschen Urologen aufgebaut.

Kranus Health hat auf Basis wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse ein Angebot entwickelt, das Urologen ganz neue und vor allem grundursachen-orientierte Möglichkeiten in der Behandlung ihrer Patienten bietet.

Professor Kurt Miller, Chief Medical Officer bei Kranus Health

Mit dem frischen Kapital und dem Netzwerk der Investoren soll die digitale Therapie dieses Jahr weiterentwickelt werden und als erstattbares Produkt auf den Markt kommen, außerdem soll die digitale Plattform für Männergesundheit mit weiteren Angeboten ausgebaut werden.

Bei dem Krankheitsbild Erektionsstörung zielen aktuelle Angebote wie Medikamente auf eine Linderung der Symptome, nicht aber auf die Ursachen ab. Mit ihrer digitalen Lösung hilft Kranus langfristig und zielorientiert, die Lebensqualität einer Vielzahl von Männern zu erhöhen.

Louis Heinz, Investment Manager beim HTGF

Über Kranus Health
Kranus Health will Männern durch einen einfachen und unkomplizierten Zugang zu neuester medizinischer Versorgung ein gesünderes und längeres Leben ermöglichen. Die Gründer Thilo Kleinschmidt und Jens Nörtershäuser kennen sich schon seit vielen Jahren über ihre gemeinsame Zeit bei McKinsey & Company, beide haben sich seit Jahren für die Möglichkeiten der digitalen Transformation begeistert. Beide hatten aber auch ein großes Interesse am Gesundheitssektor. Jens ist ursprünglich Bio-Ingenieur und hat jahrelange Berufserfahrung im Pharma-Bereich. Thilo kommt aus einer Medizinerfamilie, der Vater ist Urologe. Die Idee zur Gründung von Kranus zu Beginn des Jahres 2020 lag also nahe und erfolgte auch vor dem Hintergrund regulatorischer Änderungen, insbesondere des Digitalen Versorgungsgesetzes (DVG). Seither ist es in Deutschland möglich, die Gesundheitsversorgung durch digitale Therapien signifikant zu verbessern. Professor Kurt Miller, ehemaliger Chefarzt der Urologie an der Charité Berlin, und CTO Nikolay Dimolarov (u.a. Celonis) komplementieren das Gründerteam, um gemeinsam die Vision von Kranus umzusetzen. Hierfür entwickelt Kranus Health digitale Therapien auf Basis aktueller wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse unterstützt durch telemedizinische Betreuung von Fachärzten. Das Leistungsspektrum reicht hierbei von Therapien für den Bereich von tabuisierten Erkrankungen wie Erektionsstörungen bis hin zu Früherkennung und Prävention (z.B. Herz-Kreislauferkrankungen).

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 600 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Fast 3 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.700 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 120 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, Drillisch AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter
T.: +49228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Louis Heinz, Investment Manager
T.: +49 2288 2300 128
L.Heinz@htgf.de