Press

Embedded security startup Emproof secures €2m seed financing from European investor syndicate

July 12, 2022

Eindhoven/Bochum, July 12th, 2022 – Emproof B.V. successfully closed a € 2 million seed financing round, which enables the company to further develop its product range and serve customers in Europe and the USA. This financing round is led by the Dutch investment group TIIN Capital through its Dutch Security TechFund, alongside High-Tech Gründerfonds from Germany and the French venture capitalist Cyber Impact. Emproof has developed a unique technology which protects resource constrained (i)IoT and embedded devices against cyber threats and IP theft. Reduced overhead and straightforward integration in customers’ firmware development processes allow Emproof’s NYX suite to make a real difference for OEMs with vulnerable IoT devices in multiple sectors.


The economic drive to lower manufacturing costs results in most embedded and Industrial IoT devices having minimal memory and computing power meaning that there is little room to add security overhead. Existing firmware hardening solutions are therefore not suitable and these devices are left unprotected against attackers. As a result, embedded systems can be easily hacked in large numbers and used as botnets, for crypto mining, as an entry point into back-end systems or simply to extract and reverse-engineer the intellectual property or trade secrets the OEM has spent millions developing. The result: reduced competitive advantage, lower returns on investment in R&D, product liability claims and a damaged reputation.

To address these problems, Emproof has created its NYX software suite that prevents reverse engineering and firmware tampering for Arm and Intel Corporation architectures with RISC‑V International support coming shortly. Integration as a post-compiler step in any firmware development pipeline makes customer onboarding quick and frictionless. The ability to ‘retrofit’ security to field devices via an over-the-air update is extremely valuable too.

Over the next 12 months, the team will focus on roadmap features and Functional Safety certification to meet requirements in key markets such as aerospace, automotive or medical appliances.

from left to right: Philipp Koppe, Marc Fyrbiak and Tim Blazytko from Emproof (Picture: Emproof)

About Emproof B.V.
Emproof provides innovative security solutions for embedded systems that address multiple layers of the software security stack. The company’s automated solutions not only prevent cyber-attacks such as exploitation of software vulnerabilities, but also prevent product piracy and tampering. Emproof’s solutions start where conventional methods end, thus helping customers reduce costly risks associated with cyber-attacks and increase trust in IoT devices.
For more information: https://www.emproof.com

Contact
Brian Kelly
T.: +31(0)633299019 / +1(518)5382617
bkelly@emproof.com

About TIIN Capital – Dutch Security TechFund
TIIN Capital was founded in 1998. The sixth venture capital fund started at the beginning of 2019; Dutch Security TechFund. Dutch Security TechFund has a specific sector focus and approach: startups and scale-ups in cyber security and IoT Security. The fund’s strategy is to invest in strong and innovation-oriented teams. By collaborating with corporates and (semi) governments in Europe, amongst other things, TIIN Capital has created a unique ecosystem in which it collaborates with the Security Delta (HSD) in The Hague and the European Cyber ​​Security Organization (ECSO) in Brussels.
For more information: https://tiincapital.nl/dutch-security-techfund/

Contact
Maarten Derks / Reinout vander Meulen
T.: +31(0)30 225 12 21
derks@tiincapital.nl / vandermeulen@tiincapital.nl

About Cyber Impact
Launched in 2021, Cyber Impact Ventures is a French seed investment fund 100% dedicated to cyber startups. Initiated by cyber entrepreneurs and operated by Auriga Partners – a management company that has been pioneering VC in France – it leverages a network of more than 70 cyber specialists to deliver high value support to its portfolio. With a target size of 60M€, the fund is focused on French and European startups and aims at supporting the emergence of the future European cybersecurity champions.
For more information: https://cyberimpactventures.com

Contact
Geoffroy Rosset
rosset@aurigapartners.com

William Lecat
lecat@aurigapartners.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media contact
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing
T.: +49 (0)228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor contact
Dr. Nils Lang, Investment Manager
T.: +49 (0)228 82300 196
n.lang@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
Variolytics Team
7. December 2022

Variolytics receives seven-figure seed funding for climate-neutral wastewater treatment plants

Proprietary measurement technology and AI-based process control to avoid greenhouse gases in wastewater treatment. Seven-figure seed funding for patented measurement technology and AI-based process optimisation. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), FTTF and Dr Jörg Gebhardt as well as other angel investors are participating in the financing round. Key technology for wastewater treatment plants to meet their climate targets. Variolytics system (EmiCo - Emission Control) already imple
 
Press
5. December 2022

Successful end to the year 2022: NewSpace satellite manufacturer Reflex Aerospace receives seven million euros in seed financing round

Seed financing: First closing includes investments of approx. EUR 7 million. Bulent Altan (Investment Partner Alpine Space Ventures): “The number of satellites in space will skyrocket from 5,500 to 100,000 by 2030: this is Reflex Aerospace's demand environment.” Christian Ziach (Principal HTGF): “50% market growth to come from broadband satellites. Catch-up demand especially in Europe. Reflex Aerospace is perfectly positioned to leverage this market potential.” Walter
 
Press
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs closes a seven-figure seed investment round to build energy efficient lights designed for horticulture

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Crocus Labs' vision is to spark life into spaces. The team achieves this by producing the most energy-efficient full-light spectrum lighting solutions that enable a sustainable future for vertical farms and greenhouses. With the seven-figure investment round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Brandenburg Kapital, the company will focus on R&D and bring the next generation of luminaires to the market. The round is also supported by BACB Bet. GmbH, the invest

Presse

Embedded-Security-Startup Emproof sichert sich 2 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung von europäischem Investorenkonsortium

12. Juli 2022

Eindhoven/Bochum, 12. Juni 2022 – Emproof B.V. hat erfolgreich eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde über 2 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen, die es dem Unternehmen ermöglicht, seine Produktpalette weiter auszubauen und Kunden in Europa und den USA zu bedienen. Angeführt wird die Finanzierungsrunde von der niederländischen Investmentgesellschaft TIIN Capital über ihren Dutch Security TechFund, zusammen mit dem deutschen High-Tech Gründerfonds und dem französischen Venture-Capital-Fonds Cyber Impact.  Emproof hat eine einzigartige Technologie entwickelt, um ressourcenbeschränkte (I)IoT- und Embedded-Devices vor Cyber-Angriffen und IP-Entwendungen zu schützen. Dank eines reduzierten Aufwands und einfacher Integration in die Firmware-Entwicklungsprozesse der Kunden stellt die NYX Suite von Emproof einen signifikanten Unterschied für OEMs mit exponierten IoT-Geräten in verschiedenen Branchen dar.


Die meisten Embedded- und industriellen IoT-Geräte verfügen nur über eine minimale Speicher- und Rechenleistung, um ihre Herstellungskosten möglichst gering zu halten. Es gibt daher wenig Spielraum für zusätzliche Sicherheitsvorkehrungen. Bestehende Firmware-Hardening-Lösungen sind folglich nicht geeignet, was dazu führt, dass eben jene Geräte nicht gegen Angriffe von Hackern geschützt sind. Infolgedessen können Embedded Systems leicht und in großer Zahl gehackt und als Botnets, für Krypto-Mining, als Einstiegspunkt in Back-End-Systeme oder schlichtweg zum Extrahieren und Reverse-Engineering von geistigem Eigentum oder Geschäftsgeheimnissen verwendet werden, für deren Entwicklung OEMs Millionen ausgegeben haben. Das Ergebnis: verringerte Wettbewerbsvorteile, geringere Erträge aus Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung, Produkthaftungsansprüche und Reputationsschäden.

Um diese Probleme zu adressieren, hat Emproof die NYX Software Suite entwickelt, die Reverse-Engineering und Firmware-Manipulationen für Arm und Intel Corporation Architekturen verhindert, mit in Kürze folgender RISC V International Unterstützung. Die Integration als Post-Compiler-Schritt in jede Firmware-Entwicklungspipeline ermöglicht einen schnellen und reibungslosen Einstieg für den Kunden. Auch die Möglichkeit, die Sicherheit von Feldgeräten über ein Over-the-Air-Update nachzurüsten, ist äußerst wertvoll.

In den nächsten 12 Monaten wird sich das Team auf die Roadmap-Funktionen und die Zertifizierung der funktionalen Sicherheit konzentrieren, um die Anforderungen in Schlüsselmärkten wie der Luft- und Raumfahrt, der Automobilbranche oder bei medizinischen Geräten zu erfüllen.

v. l. n. r. Philipp Koppe, Marc Fyrbiak und Tim Blazytko von Emproof (Bild: Emproof)

Über emproof B.V.
Emproof bietet innovative Sicherheitslösungen für Embedded Systems, die mehrere Ebenen des Software-Sicherheits-Stacks adressieren. Die automatisierten Lösungen des Unternehmens verhindern nicht nur Cyber-Angriffe wie das Ausnutzen von Software-Schwachstellen, sondern auch Produktpiraterie und -manipulation. Emproofs Lösungen setzen dort an, wo herkömmliche Methoden versagen, und helfen Kunden so, kostspielige Risiken im Zusammenhang mit Cyber-Angriffen zu reduzieren und das Vertrauen in IoT-Geräte zu erhöhen.
Für weitere Informationen: https://www.emproof.com 

Kontakt
Brian Kelly
T.: +31(0)633299019 / +1(518)5382617
bkelly@emproof.com

Über TIIN Capital – Dutch Security TechFund
TIIN Capital wurde 1998 gegründet. Anfang 2019 wurde der sechste Venture-Capital-Fonds, der Dutch Security TechFund aufgelegt. Der Dutch Security TechFund hat einen spezifischen Branchenfokus und -ansatz: Start-ups und Scale-ups in den Bereichen Cybersecurity und IoT-Sicherheit. Die Strategie des Fonds ist es, in starke und innovationsorientierte Teams zu investieren. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen und (halb-) staatlichen Stellen in Europa hat TIIN Capital ein einzigartiges Ökosystem geschaffen, in dem es unter anderem mit dem Security Delta (HSD) in Den Haag und der European Cyber Security Organization (ECSO) in Brüssel zusammenarbeitet. Für weitere Informationen: https://tiincapital.nl/dutch-security-techfund/ 

Kontakt
Maarten Derks / Reinout vander Meulen
T.: +31(0)30 225 12 21
derks@tiincapital.nl / vandermeulen@tiincapital.nl

Über Cyber Impact
Cyber Impact Ventures wurde 2021 gegründet und ist ein französischer Seed-Investmentfonds, der sich zu 100% auf Cyber-Startups konzentriert. Er wurde von Cyber-Unternehmern initiiert und wird von Auriga Partners verwaltet – einer Managementgesellschaft, die in Frankreich Pionierarbeit im VC-Bereich geleistet hat – und nutzt ein Netzwerk von mehr als 70 Cyber-Spezialisten, um seinem Portfolio hochwertige Unterstützung zu bieten. Mit einer Zielgröße von 60 Mio. € konzentriert sich der Fonds auf französische und europäische Startups und zielt darauf ab, die Entstehung der zukünftigen europäischen Cybersecurity-Champions zu unterstützen.
Für weitere Informationen: https://cyberimpactventures.com

Kontakt
Geoffroy Rosset
rosset@aurigapartners.com

William Lecat
lecat@aurigapartners.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 670 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing
T.: +49 (0)228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investorenkontakt
Dr. Nils Lang, Investment Manager
T.: +49 (0)228 82300 196
n.lang@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
Variolytics Team
7. Dezember 2022

Variolytics erhält siebenstellige Seed-Finanzierung für klimaneutrale Kläranlagen

Patentierte Messtechnik und KI-basierte Prozesssteuerung zur Vermeidung von Treibhausgasen in der Abwasseraufbereitung an Kläranlagen. Siebenstellige Seed-Finanzierung für patentierte Messtechnik und KI-basierte Prozessoptimierung High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), FTTF und Dr. Jörg Gebhardt, sowie weitere Angel Investoren sind Teil der Finanzierungsrunde Schlüsseltechnologie für Kläranlagen zur Erreichung ihrer Klimaziele Variolytics System (EmiCo - Emission Control) bereits
 
Presse
5. Dezember 2022

Erfolgreicher Jahresabschluss 2022: NewSpace Satelliten-Hersteller Reflex Aerospace erhält 7 Millionen Euro in Seed-Finanzierungsrunde

Seed-Finanzierung: First Closing umfasst Investitionen über rund EUR 7 Mio. Bulent Altan (Investment Partner Alpine Space Ventures): „Bis 2030 Wachstum von 5.500 auf 100.000 Satelliten im All: Das ist das Nachfrageumfeld von Reflex Aerospace.“ Christian Ziach (Principal HTGF): „50% Marktwachstum aus Breitbandsatelliten. Nachholbedarf gerade in Europa. Reflex Aerospace hervorragend positioniert, um dieses Marktpotential zu heben.“ Walter Ballheimer (CEO Reflex Aerospa
 
Presse
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde ab, um energieeffiziente Leuchten für den Gartenbau zu entwickeln

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Spark life into spaces lautet die Vision von Crocus Labs. Das Team erreicht dies, indem es höchst energieeffiziente Vollspektrum-Beleuchtungslösungen entwickelt, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für vertikale Farmen und Gewächshäuser eröffnen. Mit der vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Brandenburg Kapital angeführten Finanzierungsrunde kann sich das Unternehmen auf Forschung und Entwicklung konzentrieren und die nächste Generation von Beleuchtungslösungen auf de