Press

€1.8 million seed funding for crypto investment start-up Coinpanion by High-Tech Gründerfonds, co-founders of Scalable Capital and CLARK

August 31, 2021

Vienna, 31 August 2021 – Coinpanion enables everyone, without any prior cryptocurrency experience, to benefit automatically from the cryptocurrency market. The fintech start-up provides a full end to end service, from entering the crypto market to automatic asset management. Within just a year, Coinpanion is already managing several million euros in cryptocurrency investments for its customers and is now receiving €1.8 million in seed investment from renowned investors in Germany and Austria.

The lead investor in the seed round is the German High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the most active venture capital funds in the European market. Patrick Pöschl, co-founder of the Munich-based robo-advisor Scalable Capital, which is now valued as a unicorn (over €1 billion valuation), and Christopher Oster, co-founder and CEO of the insurance manager CLARK, are also investing. In addition, Florian Gschwandtner, co-founder of the fitness app Runtastic and investor on Austria’s start-up TV show “2 minutes 2 millions”, Austria’s most famous start-up investor Johann “Hansi” Hansmann, who has accompanied Austria’s largest start-up exits (including Runtastic, Shpock and mySugr), as well as lead investor of the pre-seed round Frank Westermann, co-founder of the diabetes app mySugr, are joining in.

from left to right: Coinpanion co-founders Alexander Valtingojer (CEO), Matthias Zandanel (CTO), Saad J. Wohlgenannt (CMO), Aaron Penn (Lead Developer) © Olga Kretsch

Bitcoin and Ethereum have been on everyone’s lips for quite some time, while many people still don’t really know what to make out of terms like Cardano, Chainlink or EOS. This is exactly where Coinpanion jumps in.

Our goal is to simplify access to the cryptocurrency market for everyone. We are thrilled that we were able to convince some of the most successful entrepreneurs and investors in Germany and Austria of our vision. And the Coinpanion founding team has big plans: The €1.8 million investment will mainly flow into further growth. We want to further expand our strong user growth. We also plan to grow from 18 to 50 employees within a year.

Alexander Valtingojer, co-founder and CEO of Coinpanion

With Coinpanion, we finally have a start-up that is democratizing the non-transparent cryptocurrency market. Now anyone can become a crypto investor without any prior knowledge!

Kilian von Berlichingen, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Coinpanion makes cryptocurrency investing easy

Coinpanion offers a seamless and secure entry point into the complex world of crypto currencies. Users can choose from a range of smart portfolios with different risk levels that contain carefully pre-selected cryptocurrencies. Coinpanion automatically manages the cryptocurrency investment and offers the option of setting up savings plans. With the Coinpanion app and online access, users always have an overview of their investment. Each portfolio is protected with state-of-the-art security standards, and all cryptocurrencies are insured.

Coinpanion app on smartphone
© Coinpanion

Free download of the Coinpanion app:
iOS: https://tinyurl.com/3y8scm5w
Android: https://tinyurl.com/2m5zas9h

About Coinpanion
The crypto investment start-up Coinpanion was founded in Vienna in 2019 and entered private beta in August 2020. In the meantime, the platform is accessible to everyone and automatically manages several million euros in cryptocurrency investments for its customers. The four-member founding team has set itself the goal of making the highly complex cryptocurrency market accessible to the general public and thus simplifying investments. The rapidly growing fintech company currently employs 18 people.

www.coinpanion.com

Contact
Himmelhoch PR
Alexander Tschida
M +43 650 44 58 002
E alexander.tschida@himmelhoch.at

Coinpanion (SmartBytes GmbH)
Saad J. Wohlgenannt, CMO
Seidelgasse 21, 1030 Wien, Österreich
M +43 670 5556226
E saad@coinpanion.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,700 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 130 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry For Economic Affairs and Energy, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

www.htgf.de/en

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T +49 228 82300 – 188
E s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Kilian von Berlichingen, Investment Manager
T +49 30 4036648 – 27
E k.berlichingen@htgf.de

More Press posts

27. January 2022

Altavo completes Seed Financing Round for the Development of AI-based Voice Prosthetics

Altavo GmbH, a speech technology and medical technology spin-off of TU Dresden, successfully completed its seed financing round in December 2021. A consortium led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is investing in the development of Altavo’s AI-based speech prosthesis. Altavo is developing a non-invasive prosthesis aimed at restoring an individual, natural-sounding voice for people who have lost their voice, for example, due to laryngectomy. The approach is based on non-invasive radar se
 
26. January 2022

UK-based health tech company bioniq acquires LOEWI

LOEWI is a scientific spin-off of the TU München, which provides tailor-made nutrients based on your blood work and lifestyleThe acquisition is a continuation of bioniq´s global expansion and accelerates the European market presenceHigh-Tech Gründerfonds invested in LOEWI´s seed round in 2020   London, January 26th – Through the acquisition to the UK-based health tech company bioniq, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) has sold its stake in LOEWI, a scientific spin-off of the TU
 
25. January 2022

HQS Quantum Simulations brings in 12 million euros in series A

Quantonation VC fund, specialising in quantum computing, is leading a financing round. Capital investors UVC Partners, btov Industrial Technologies and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), who already hold a stake in the company, are once again investing.As part of the Q-Exa consortium, HQS Quantum Simulations supplies software for the first quantum computer manufactured in Germany.With the new injection of capital, HQS Quantum Simulations is looking to enhance its HQS Quantum Assisted Design clo

Presse

1,8 Millionen Euro Seed-Finanzierung für Krypto-Investment-Start-up Coinpanion durch High-Tech Gründerfonds, Mitgründer von Scalable Capital und CLARK

31. August 2021

Wien, 31.08.2021 – Coinpanion ermöglicht jedem, ohne jegliches Vorwissen, automatisiert vom Kryptowährungsmarkt zu profitieren. Dabei kümmert sich das Start-up um alles, vom einfachen Markteinstieg bis hin zum automatischen Management der Kryptowährungen. Coinpanion verwaltet nach knapp einem Jahr bereits mehrere Millionen Euro für seine Kund*innen und erhält nun 1,8 Millionen Euro Seed-Investment von namhaften Investoren aus Deutschland und Österreich.

Lead-Investor der Runde ist der deutsche High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), einer der aktivsten Venture-Capital Fonds auf dem europäischen Markt. Zudem investieren Patrick Pöschl, Mitgründer des mittlerweile als Unicorn (über 1 Mrd. Euro Bewertung) bewerteten Münchner Robo-Advisors Scalable Capital, sowie Christopher Oster, CEO des Versicherungsmanagers CLARK. Auch mit an Bord sind Florian Gschwandtner, Gründer der Fitness-App Runtastic und Jurymitglied der Start-up-TV-Show „2 Minuten 2 Millionen“, Österreichs wohl bekanntester Start-up-Investor Johann „Hansi“ Hansmann, der die größten Start-up Exits Österreichs begleitet hat (u.a. Runtastic, Shpock, mySugr) und Lead-Investor der Pre-Seed-Runde Frank Westermann, Mitgründer der Diabetes-App mySugr.

v.l.n.r.: Coinpanion Gründer-Team Alexander Valtingojer (CEO), Matthias Zandanel (CTO), Saad J. Wohlgenannt (CMO), Aaron Penn (Lead Developer)
© Olga Kretsch

Bitcoin und Ethereum sind seit geraumer Zeit in aller Munde, während viele mit Begriffen wie Cardano, Chainlink oder EOS noch nicht wirklich etwas anzufangen wissen. Genau hier setzt Coinpanion an.

Unser Ziel ist es, den Zugang zum Kryptowährungsmarkt für die Allgemeinheit zu vereinfachen. Wir sind begeistert, dass wir einige der erfolgreichsten Unternehmer und Investoren in Deutschland und Österreich von unserer Vision überzeugen konnten. Und das Coinpanion Gründerteam hat große Pläne: Die 1,8 Millionen Euro Kapital sollen vor allem in das weitere Wachstum fließen. Wir wollen unser starkes Nutzer*innen-Wachstum weiter ausbauen. Außerdem planen wir, innerhalb eines Jahres von 18 auf 50 Mitarbeiter zu wachsen.

Alexander Valtingojer, Mitgründer und CEO von Coinpanion

Mit Coinpanion demokratisiert endlich ein Start-up den undurchsichtigen Kryptowährungsmarkt. Nun kann wirklich jeder ohne Vorkenntnisse zum Krypto-Investor werden!

Kilian von Berlichingen, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Coinpanion macht Kryptowährungs-Investments einfach

Coinpanion ermöglicht einen einfachen und sicheren Einstieg in die komplexe Welt der Kryptowährungen. Nutzer*innen können aus unterschiedlichen smarten Portfolios mit verschiedenen Risikostufen wählen, die sorgfältig vorselektierte Kryptowährungen beinhalten. Coinpanion verwaltet das Kryptowährungs-Investment danach automatisiert und bietet zusätzlich die Möglichkeit, Sparpläne abzuschließen. Mit der Coinpanion-App und dem Online-Zugang behalten Nutzer*innen immer und überall den Überblick über ihre Anlage. Jedes Portfolio ist mit modernsten Sicherheitsstandards geschützt, alle Kryptowährungen sind versichert.

Coinpanion-App am Smartphone
© Coinpanion

Kostenloser Download der Coinpanion-App:
iOS: https://tinyurl.com/rhev9sh2
Android: https://tinyurl.com/2m5zas9h

Über Coinpanion
Das Krypto-Investment-Start-up Coinpanion wurde 2019 in Wien gegründet und startete im August 2020 in die Private Beta. Mittlerweile ist die Plattform für jeden zugänglich und verwaltet automatisiert mehrere Millionen Euro an Krypto-Investments für seine Kundinnen. Das vierköpfige Gründerteam hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den höchst komplexen Kryptowährungs-Markt für die Allgemeinheit zugänglich zu machen und dadurch Investitionen zu vereinfachen. Das rasch wachsende Fintech-Unternehmen beschäftigt aktuell 18 Mitarbeiterinnen.

www.coinpanion.com

Kontakt
Himmelhoch PR
Alexander Tschida
M +43 650 44 58 002
E alexander.tschida@himmelhoch.at

Coinpanion (SmartBytes GmbH)
Saad J. Wohlgenannt, CMO
Seidelgasse 21, 1030 Wien, Österreich
M +43 670 5556226
E saad@coinpanion.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 600 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.700 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 130 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T +49 228 82300 – 188
E s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investoren
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Kilian von Berlichingen, Investment Manager
T +49 30 4036648 – 27
E k.berlichingen@htgf.de

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

26. November 2021

ZE ENERGY sammelt 40 Millionen Euro in einer neuen Finanzierungsrunde ein

Paris, Frankreich, 26 November 2021 - Weniger als zwei Jahre nach ihrer Gründung und nach Abschluss einer ersten Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 5,2 Mio. Euro gibt ZE ENERGY, ein unabhängiger französischer Hersteller von erneuerbaren Energien, der hybride Solarkraftwerke (Photovoltaik und Speicherung) betreibt, den Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 40 Mio. Euro bekannt. Neben den Altinvestoren DEMETER, HTGF, EverWatt und Ze Way Invest kann das Unternehmen nun
 
24. November 2021

Kapital für Quantenkühlung – kiutra schließt weitere Finanzierungsrunde ab

München, 24. November 2021 - Komplexe Probleme viel schneller zu berechnen als es heute mit den besten Supercomputern möglich ist, Information abhörsicher auszutauschen und physikalische Größen wie Druck, Zeit, Position, Geschwindigkeit und magnetische Felder mit nie dagewesener Genauigkeit zu bestimmen. Das und mehr versprechen Quantentechnologien der zweiten Generation – und bieten damit zugleich ein riesiges wirtschaftliches Potenzial. Weil für ihre technische Nutzung fast imm
 
18. November 2021

Operaize erhält 1,5 Millionen Euro Seed-Finanzierung zur Steigerung der Produktionseffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit durch den Einsatz von KI

Köln, 18. November 2021 - Das Kölner Start-up Operaize hat erfolgreich eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde mit drei Investoren abgeschlossen: Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), der Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) und die NRW.BANK investieren insgesamt 1,5 Millionen Euro in Operaize, um die Entwicklung des KI-basierten Produkts zu beschleunigen, die Marktfähigkeit des Produkts voranzutreiben und neue Kunden zu gewinnen. Operaize bietet eine KI-basierte Produktionsplanung an, die