Mental health to combat the shortage of skilled workers

DearEmployee secures fresh capital in pre-Series A to further expand and strengthen market position

April 24, 2023

Potsdam, Germany – April 24, 2023 – DearEmployee, the innovation leader in HR tech, announces the closing of a pre-Series A round. In particular, the fresh capital from new and existing investors will be used to further expand the functionality of the software solution along customer needs and to build the processes and structures for further growth, including the future location in Potsdam.

Mental illnesses are the most common reason for loss of working capacity and contribute significantly to the shortage of skilled workers. DearEmployee’s B2B software helps companies to measure the mental stress of their employees in the workplace and to book suitable health and HR measures from third-party providers as needed. More than 300 companies already trust DearEmployee’s solution and have demonstrated success in creating a healthier work environment and reducing the risk of burnout with DearEmployee.

DearEmployee is more than a survey. Our vision is ‘Making work a better place.’ Our data shows that we are succeeding. The risk of burnout drops by over 30 percent among our clients, within the first year of working together.

Daniel Fodor, Co-founder of DearEmployee

The psychological risk assessment, for which DearEmployee is considered the innovation leader with its intelligent and scientific approach, is often in focus at the beginning of the cooperation with companies. Employee retention is now also becoming increasingly important.

HR managers in companies all have the same challenge: to provide employees with the best offers for their health. This is not possible with standard feedback tools – the path, from the often superficial analyses to suitable measures, is too complicated, and the requirements of the workforce are too diverse. DearEmployee solves these problems: based on a smart survey, HR managers can book specific offers from service providers to cover individual needs. With the planned expansion of functions that include an employee access to the software, the support services for employees will now be even easier to access and even more individualized – without any additional effort for HR managers.

The steadily increasing demand for solutions to measure and promote mental health in the market, results on the one hand from the obligation arising from the Occupational Health and Safety Act to conduct psychological risk assessments, and on the other hand from the sustainability strategy in corporate management. The target group of DearEmployee is therefore companies that want to improve the mental health of their employees, which results from an increasing workload and private issues. With DearEmployee, they can reduce the rising cost of sick pay and counteract the current wave of fluctuation in the shortage of skilled workers. Among the more than 300 companies with more than 60,000 employees that have already successfully used the innovative HR software “DearEmployee”, are many DAX companies.

In addition to existing investors High-Tech Gründerfonds and IMPACT51, new investors Brandenburg Kapital, MBG Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg GmbH, and business angels from encourageventures as well as from the HR and healthcare sectors are also part of this round.

The increasing demand for a software solution to reduce the mental stress of employees as well as the very good market positioning, have convinced us as an investor to support the further growth of the company and to participate in the company as part of this financing round. With the envisaged all-in-one approach, DearEmployee offers its customers a holistic solution by means of which companies can reduce sickness costs and verifiably increase productivity.

Sebastian Bertram, Senior Investment Manager at Brandenburg Kapital

Topics such as employer branding and employee loyalty are becoming increasingly important for companies, particularly due to the shortage of skilled workers. DearEmployee has developed an innovative solution that supports companies in this regard. We were convinced by the business model and are happy to support the company on its future course.

MBG Managing Director Dirk Buddensiek

DearEmployee Team
Team of DearEmployee (Picture: DearEmployee)

About DearEmployee
DearEmployee is a B2B HR software that helps companies improve the health, motivation and retention of their employees. DearEmployee’s smart, scientific survey tool quickly identifies individual employee needs and risks. However, DearEmployee is much more than a survey tool: Companies receive automated, needs-based recommendations for measures and can book offers for the health and further development of their employees directly via a platform for providers. The company was founded in 2017 by Dr. Amelie Wiedemann (Co-CEO), Daniel Fodor (Co-CEO) and Henning Jakob, has locations in Constance, Berlin and Brandenburg and more than 300 customers in the D-A-CH region, including numerous DAX companies. www.dearemployee.de

For press photos in high resolution, please visit https://www.dearemployee.de/presse/.

Press contact:
Dr. Amelie Wiedemann, Co-Founder & Co-CEO
E-Mail: amelie.wiedemann@dearemployee.de
Fon: +49 162 2063900

About Brandenburg Kapital/ILB
Brandenburg Kapital GmbH is a subsidiary of the Investitionsbank des Landes Brandenburg (ILB). Since 1993, the venture capital arm of ILB has been providing venture capital to companies located in Brandenburg. As a public venture capital company, experienced lead investor and active partner, Brandenburg Kapital ensures a strong equity base of start-ups and small and medium-sized companies in the State of Brandenburg based on a stable corporate environment. The Early-Stage and Growth Fund currently has around 100 million euros available for this purpose. The fund resources for the Brandenburg Kapital Fund, which was established on behalf of the Brandenburg Ministry of Economics, are currently provided by the European Fund for Regional Development and ILB’s own resources. To date, ILB’s investment activities have supported 252 companies on their growth course with around 290 million euros. In addition, private investors have so far invested more than 640 million euros in the companies.
For more information: www.brandenburg-kapital.de

Press contact
Ingrid Mattern
ingrid.mattern@ilb.de
Mobil: +49 171 7685894

About MBG
MBG is a private equity company investing in startups and entrepreneurs as lead and co-investor. With their promotional regional mandate their task is to improve the financing situation of start-ups and medium-sized enterprises in Baden-Württemberg.  This creates the basis for a solid company development and further growth. Its current portfolio consists of approximately 740 investments of a total volume of 224 million euros.  Although only active in Baden-Württemberg, MBG is Germany’s most frequently used private equity investor.

Press contact
Dunja Geisler
dunja.geisler@mbg.de
Tel. 0711-1645-703

About High-Tech Gründerfonds 
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de  

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
12. June 2024

New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies. The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required. Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub. HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its i
 
Press
6. June 2024

SmartLoC secures 1.8 million Euros seed funding to revolutionize international trade payments

Hamburg, Germany – 6 June 2024 – SmartLoC, a pioneering startup focused on developing a cutting-edge, fully digital B2B payment solution based on the monitoring of shipments and specifically tailored for international trade, today announces the successful closure of its seed round, raising a total of 1.8 million euros. The round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the leading seed investors in Europe. Other investors include Loggerhead -Ventures, an early stage climatech VC

Mit mentaler Gesundheit gegen den Fachkräftemangel

DearEmployee sichert sich frisches Kapital in pre-Series A zur weiteren Expansion und Ausbau der Marktstellung

24. April 2023

Potsdam – 24. April 2023 – DearEmployee, der Innovationsführer im HR Tech-Bereich, gibt den Abschluss einer pre-Series A Runde bekannt. Mit dem frischen Kapital von Neu- und Bestandsinvestoren sollen insbesondere die Funktionalität der Software-Lösung entlang den Kundenbedürfnissen weiter ausgebaut sowie die Prozesse und Strukturen für das weitere Wachstum unter anderem am zukünftigen Standort in Potsdam aufgebaut werden.

Psychische Erkrankungen sind der häufigste Grund für die Erwerbsminderung und tragen signifikant zum Fachkräftemangel bei. Die B2B Software von DearEmployee unterstützt Unternehmen dabei, die psychischen Belastungen ihrer Mitarbeitenden am Arbeitsplatz zu messen und bei Bedarf passende Gesundheits- und Personalmaßnahmen von Drittanbietern buchen zu können. Mehr als 300 Unternehmen vertrauen bereits der Lösung von DearEmployee und schaffen damit nachweislich ein gesundes Arbeitsumfeld und eine Reduktion des Burnout-Risikos.

DearEmployee ist mehr als ein Survey. Unsere Vision ist „Making work a better place“. Unsere Daten zeigen, dass es uns gelingt. Das Burnout-Risiko sinkt um über 30 Prozent bei unseren Kund:innen, schon im ersten Jahr der Zusammenarbeit.

Daniel Fodor, Mitgründer von DearEmployee

Die Gefährdungsbeurteilung psychischer Belastung, für die DearEmployee mit dem intelligenten und wissenschaftlichen Ansatz als Innovationsführer gilt, steht häufig am Beginn der Zusammenarbeit mit den Unternehmen. Immer wichtiger wird nun auch die Bindung von Beschäftigten.

Personalverantwortliche in Unternehmen haben alle die gleiche Herausforderung: Den Mitarbeiter:innen die besten Angebote für die Gesundheit zu machen. Mit den gängigen Feedback-Tools gelingt dies nicht – zu kompliziert ist der Weg von den oft oberflächlichen Analysen hin zu passenden Maßnahmen und zu vielfältig die Anforderungen der Belegschaft. Diese Probleme löst DearEmployee: Auf Basis eines smarten Surveys können die Personalverantwortlichen konkrete Angebote von Dienstleistern buchen, um die individuellen Bedarfe abzudecken. Mit der geplanten Funktionserweiterung um einen Mitarbeiter:innen-Zugang zur Software werden die Unterstützungsleistungen für die Beschäftigten nun noch leichter zugänglich und noch stärker individualisiert – ohne Mehraufwand für die Personaler:innen.

Die stetig steigende Nachfrage nach Lösungen zur Messung und Förderung der mentalen Gesundheit im Markt ergibt sich zum einen aus der Verpflichtung aus dem Arbeitsschutzgesetz zur Gefährdungsbeurteilung psychischer Belastung und zum anderen aus der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie in der Unternehmensführung. Zielgruppe von DearEmployee sind somit Unternehmen, welche die mentale Gesundheit der Beschäftigten verbessern wollen, die sich aus einer zunehmenden Arbeitsbelastung und privaten Themen ergibt. Mit DearEmployee können sie die steigenden Krankengeldkosten reduzieren und der aktuellen Fluktuationswelle im Fachkräftemangel entgegenwirken. Zu den über 300 Unternehmen mit mehr als 60.000 Beschäftigten, die die innovative HR Software „DearEmployee“ bereits erfolgreich genutzt haben, zählen zahlreiche DAX-Konzerne.

Neben den Bestandsinvestoren High-Tech Gründerfonds und IMPACT51 sind auch die Neuinvestoren Brandenburg Kapital, MBG Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg GmbH und Business Angels von encourageventures sowie aus dem HR- und Gesundheitsbereich Teil der Runde.

Der steigende Bedarf nach einer Softwarelösung zur Senkung der psychischen Belastungen von Beschäftigten sowie die sehr gute Marktpositionierung haben uns als Investor überzeugt, das weitere Wachstum der Gesellschaft zu unterstützen und uns im Rahmen der Finanzierungsrunde an dem Unternehmen zu beteiligen. Mit dem angestrebten All-in-one-Ansatz bietet DearEmployee seinen Kunden eine ganzheitliche Lösung, mittels derer Unternehmen die Krankheitskosten senken und die Produktivität nachweislich steigern.

Sebastian Bertram, Senior Investmentmanager bei Brandenburg Kapital

Themen wie Employer Branding und Mitarbeiterbindung werden für Unternehmen gerade aufgrund des Fachkräftemangels immer wichtiger. DearEmployee hat eine innovative Lösung entwickelt, die die Betriebe dabei unterstützt. Uns hat das Geschäftsmodell überzeugt und wir begleiten das Unternehmen gerne bei seinem Zukunftskurs.

MBG-Geschäftsführer Dirk Buddensiek

DearEmployee Team
Team von DearEmployee (Bild: DearEmployee)

Über DearEmployee
DearEmployee ist eine B2B HR-Software, die Unternehmen unterstützt, die Gesundheit, Motivation und Bindung ihrer Mitarbeiter:innen zu verbessern. Durch die smarten, wissenschaftlichen Befragungen von DearEmployee werden individuelle Bedürfnisse und Risiken der Mitarbeiter:innen schnell erkannt. DearEmployee ist aber weitaus mehr als ein Survey-Tool: Unternehmen erhalten automatisiert bedarfsgerechte Maßnahmenempfehlungen und können Angebote für die Gesundheit und Weiterentwicklung von Beschäftigten direkt über eine Plattform für Anbieter buchen. Das Unternehmen wurde 2017 von Dr. Amelie Wiedemann (Co-CEO), Daniel Fodor (Co-CEO) und Henning Jakob gegründet, hat Standorte in Konstanz, Berlin und Brandenburg und mehr als 300 Kundinnen in der D-A-CH-Region, darunter zahlreiche DAX-Unternehmen. www.dearemployee.de

Für Pressefotos in hoher Auflösung besuchen Sie bitte https://www.dearemployee.de/presse/.

Pressekontakt
Dr. Amelie Wiedemann, Co-Founder & Co-CEO
E-Mail: amelie.wiedemann@dearemployee.de
Mobil: +49 162 2063900

Über Brandenburg Kapital/ILB
Die Brandenburg Kapital GmbH ist eine Tochtergesellschaft der Investitionsbank des Landes Brandenburg (ILB). Seit 1993 unterstützt sie als Venture Capital-Arm der ILB Brandenburger Unternehmen durch die Übernahme von Beteiligungen und beteiligungsähnlichen Investitionen. Als öffentliche Venture Capital Gesellschaft, erfahrener Lead-Investor und aktiver Partner sorgt die Brandenburg Kapital auf Basis eines stabilen Konzernumfelds für eine starke Eigenkapitalbasis von Startups sowie kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen im Land Brandenburg. Dafür steht der Frühphasen- und Wachstumsfonds in Höhe von aktuell rund 100 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung. Die Fondsmittel für den im Auftrag des Brandenburger Wirtschaftsministeriums errichteten Fonds der Brandenburg Kapital werden aktuell aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung und aus Eigenmitteln der ILB bereitgestellt. Durch die Beteiligungsaktivitäten der ILB wurden bisher 252 Unternehmen mit rund 290 Millionen Euro auf ihrem Wachstumskurs begleitet. Zusätzlich investierten Privat-Investoren bisher mehr als 640 Millionen Euro in die Unternehmen. Weitere Informationen unter: www.brandenburg-kapital.de

Pressekontakt
Ingrid Mattern
ingrid.mattern@ilb.de
Mobil: +49 171 7685894

Über MBG
Die MBG Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg GmbH gehört zu den großen Beteiligungskapitalgebern in Deutschland. Sie investiert im öffentlichen Interesse und ist Partner des Mittelstands. Aktuell stellt sie knapp 740 kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen in Baden-Württemberg über 224 Millionen Euro Beteiligungskapital zur Verfügung. Die MBG unterstützt Wachstums- und Innovationsguthaben, Unternehmensnachfolgen und Existenzgründungen überwiegend mit Mezzaninkapital in Form von stillen Beteiligungen. Venture Capital orientierte Startups begleitet die MBG auch mit offenen Beteiligungen. Gesellschafter der MBG sind Kammern, Verbände und die Kreditwirtschaft. www.mbg.de

Pressekontakt
Dunja Geisler, dunja.geisler@mbg.de, Tel. 0711-1645-703

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds  
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. 

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de  

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
16. Mai 2024

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit. Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital v
 
Presse
7. Mai 2024

Automatisierte Beratung für erneuerbare Energien: Greentech-Startup everyone energy schließt Seed-Finanzierung ab

Berlin, 7. Mai 2024 – Das Berliner Greentech-Startup everyone energy gibt den erfolgreichen Abschluss seiner siebenstelligen Seed-Finanzierung bekannt. Die Runde wurde vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), einem der führenden Seed-Investoren in Europa und dem Kölner Frühphasen-VC neoteq ventures angeführt. Gegründet im August 2021 von Céline Göhlich, Fabian Reetz und Florian Gmeiner, hat sich everyone energy schnell als führender Anbieter von White-Label-Software für maßgeschnei