Press

Strong exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds – Shell to acquire Next Kraftwerke

February 25, 2021

  • Shell is acquiring Next Kraftwerke to strengthen its position in the field of renewable energy trading
  • The Cologne-based start-up Next Kraftwerke GmbH will obtain the necessary resources to fuel further growth and the development of complex new commercial products 
  • High-Tech Gründerfonds has been an investor in the company since its foundation in 2010
  • The transaction remains subject to regulatory approval

Subject to regulatory approval, Shell* is to acquire 100% of the shares in Next Kraftwerke from VC investors including High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Neuhaus Partners GmbH as well as investors Dirk Freise and Martin Ostermayer. HTGF has been at the company’s side for over 10 years of development. The seed investor’s long-term investment focus is really paying off.

Next Kraftwerke GmbH is a spin-off founded by two PhD students from the Institute of Energy Economics (EWI) at the University of Cologne. Jochen Schwill and Hendrik Sämisch recognised at an early stage the challenge posed by the energy transition in terms of grid stability.  Their solution – to use a large number of decentralised power plants to generate electricity – aims to ensure the necessary stabilization of electricity grids. Their approach was seen as innovative and they received an EXIST Business Start-up Grant. The company then received seed funding from High-Tech Gründerfonds in 2010 as well as from former members of the HTGF Investment Committee, Gottfried Neuhaus (Neuhaus Partners GmbH) and Martin Ostermayer.  

Today, Next Kraftwerke is the market leader in Germany for integrating renewable energy into energy markets, operating one of the world’s largest virtual power plants with over 10,000 units. The company is also active in seven other European countries. Next Kraftwerke enables other energy companies to successfully integrate alternative energy resources into the electricity market. This is one of the prerequisites for implementing a fast and successful energy transition and achieving global climate targets. 

Next Kraftwerke is an impressive example of how a start-up can address key challenges of the energy transition quicker than large established companies and solve them with the help of technology. On the international stage, the company has set the standard for successfully establishing virtual power plants and implementing the energy transition. As investors, we had the privilege of being alongside founders Jochen Schwill and Hendrik Sämisch right from the start. Next Kraftwerke is a valuable addition for Shell on its path to becoming a leading provider of alternative energy sources. We’re delighted about this next stage of development for Next Kraftwerke and what is one of HTGF’s most successful exits to date.

Klaus Lehmann, Partner at HTGF

Hendrik Sämisch, Founder and CEO at Next Kraftwerke, also reflects positively on the company’s partnership with HTGF.

High-Tech Gründerfonds was a strong and reliable partner for our company’s development right from the start. Without their trust and personal commitment to our idea, we would not have achieved such great success over the last ten years. We’re now excited for this next chapter in our company’s development, working together with a global energy company to help drive the energy transition forward.

Hendrik Sämisch, Founder and CEO at Next Kraftwerke

Both parties have agreed not to disclose the specific details of the transaction. Click here to view the press release of Shell.

*Shell Overseas Investment B.V.

About Next Kraftwerke GmbH
Next Kraftwerke operates one of the biggest Virtual Power Plants in Europe. By utilizing the full potential of digitalization, the company networks thousands of energy-producing and energy-consuming units in the Virtual Power Plant “Next Pool”. Through its technology and trading, clients are able to produce and consume electricity when prices are best for them. By trading their aggregated power 24/7 on different energy spot markets the Virtual Power Plant also makes a substantial contribution to stabilizing the grid by smartly distributing the power generated and consumed by the individual units in times of peak load. https://www.next-kraftwerke.com/

Media Contact
Next Kraftwerke GmbH
Jan Aengenvoort, Unternehmenssprecher
Tel: +49 (0) 221 – 82 00 85 – 855
aengenvoort@next-kraftwerke.de

Royal Dutch Shell plc
Royal Dutch Shell plc is incorporated in England and Wales, has its headquarters in The Hague and is listed on the London, Amsterdam, and New York stock exchanges. Shell companies have operations in more than 70 countries and territories with businesses including oil and gas exploration and production; production and marketing of liquefied natural gas and gas to liquids; manufacturing, marketing and shipping of oil products and chemicals and renewable energy projects. For further information, visit www.shell.com.

Media Contact
Shell Deutschland Oil GmbH
Cornelia Wolber
T.: +49 (0) 40 –6324 – 5290
shellpresse@shell.com

About Neuhaus Partners
Neuhaus Partners GmbH, based in Hamburg, is an early stage venture capital company. Since its foundation in 1998, 59 investments have been made. In 49 of these investments, Neuhaus Partners joined as the lead investor. Track Record: two IPOs, thirty-five trade sales, eight buy backs, thirteen insolvencies.

Media Contact
Neuhaus Partners GmbH
Matthias Grychta
T.: +49 (0) 40 – 355 282 24
grychta@neuhauspartners.com

About Shortcut Ventures.
Dirk Freise and Martin Ostermayer are the founders of handy.de and blau.de (both successfully exited) and since more than 15 years they are investing in start-ups either as business angels or through their venture capital fund Shortcut Ventures. The most well-known investments in their portfolio are SumUp, tado, Stocard and Sdui.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected almost EUR 3 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,700 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 120 companies.

Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry For Economic Affairs and Energy, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, Drillisch AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

https://www.htgf.de/de/

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter
T.: +49228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Gregor Haidl, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 823 00 115
k.lehmann@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
7. July 2022

Cologne-based EdTech start-up DeepSkill receives seven-figure pre-seed financing, including from High-Tech Gründerfonds and Kienbaum

DeepSkill is the EdTech platform for emotional skills and holistic personnel development. The start-up uses an innovative content-building system, intelligent algorithms, and data-based knowledge transfer to develop employees in a targeted manner and achieve sustainable transformational success.The capital will be used for platform development and the expansion of the tech, sales, and content teams.With regard to the recent success, Thomas Leidinger, who played a crucial role in building the
 
Press
28. June 2022

Successful exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds: Raidboxes becomes part of the team.blue family

Bonn, 28 June 2022 - team.blue, a leading digital enabler for companies and entrepreneurs, announced that the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) portfolio company Raidboxes, a leading WordPress hosting provider, is joining its growing group of companies. HTGF is selling its stake after having closely supported the team led by Johannes Benz and Torben Simon Meier since 2016. team.blue supports local entrepreneurs and small businesses, enabling them to build, grow, and scale online. As a ma
 
Press
22. June 2022

TechVision Fonds I and High-Tech Gründerfonds invest in textile recycling startup EEDEN

Textile recycling rethought: Innovative process enables upcycling of old clothing Aachen, 22 June 2022 - TechVision Fonds I, together with High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and a business angel, are the first investors to invest in EEDEN. The startup from Moenchengladbach, Germany has developed an innovative process for the sustainable and environmentally friendly recycling of clothing and other textile products. With the financing, EEDEN plans to further expand their R&D-activities and

Presse

Starker Exit für den High-Tech Gründerfonds – Shell wird Next Kraftwerke übernehmen

25. Februar 2021

  • Shell erwirbt Next Kraftwerke, um seine Position im Handel mit erneuerbaren Energien zu stärken
  • Das Kölner Startup Next Kraftwerke GmbH erhält die notwendigen Ressourcen für weiteres Wachstum
    sowie für die Entwicklung neuer komplexer Vermarktungsprodukte  
  • Der High-Tech Gründerfonds ist seit der Gründung 2010 Investor des Unternehmens
  • Die Transaktion steht unter dem Vorbehalt der Zustimmung der Regulierungsbehörden

Vorbehaltlich der Zustimmung der Regulierungsbehörden wird Shell* 100 % der Anteile an Next Kraftwerke von den VC-Investoren – darunter der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Neuhaus Partners GmbH und die Investoren Dirk Freise und Martin Ostermayer, erwerben. Über 10 Jahre hat der HTGF das Unternehmen bei seiner Entwicklung begleitet. Die langfristige Orientierung in Bezug auf seine Investments zahlt sich für den Seedinvestor aus.

Die Next Kraftwerke GmbH ist eine Ausgründung zweier Doktoranden aus dem Energiewirtschaftlichen Institut der Universität Köln. Die Gründer Jochen Schwill und Hendrik Sämisch haben früh erkannt, welche Herausforderung die Energiewende für die Stabilität der Stromnetze bedeutet.  Ihre Lösung, eine große Anzahl von dezentralen Erzeugungsanlagen sollte für die notwendige Stabilisierung der Stromnetze eingesetzt werden. Der Ansatz überzeugte und sie erhielten ein Exist-Gründerstipendium. Die Seed-Finanzierung kam dann 2010 vom High-Tech Gründerfonds sowie den damaligen Mitgliedern des HTGF- Investment Komitees, Gottfried Neuhaus (Neuhaus Partners GmbH) und Martin Ostermayer.  

Heute ist Next Kraftwerke in Deutschland Marktführer für die Integration von Erneuerbaren Energien in die Energiemärkte und betreibt eines der weltweit größten virtuellen Kraftwerke mit über 10.000 Anlagen. Das Unternehmen ist in sieben weiteren europäischen Ländern aktiv. Next Kraftwerke ermöglicht es anderen Unternehmen aus der Energiewirtschaft, erfolgreich alternative Energien in den Strommarkt zu integrieren. Dies ist eine der Voraussetzungen für eine schnelle und erfolgreiche Energiewende und trägt zur Erreichung der globalen Klimaziele bei. 

Wir sehen in Next Kraftwerke ein beeindruckendes Beispiel für die Fähigkeit eines Start-ups, zentrale Herausforderungen der Energiewende schneller als etablierte Großunternehmen zu adressieren und mit Technologien zu lösen. Das Unternehmen ist international eine Referenz für den erfolgreichen Aufbau virtueller Kraftwerke und die Umsetzung der Energiewende. Als Investor hatten wir das Privileg die Gründer Jochen Schwill und Hendrik Sämisch von Anfang an zu begleiten. Next Kraftwerke ist für Shell eine wertvolle Ergänzung auf dem Weg zu einem führenden Anbieter alternativer Energien. Wir freuen uns auf die weitere Entwicklung der Next Kraftwerke und einen der erfolgreichsten Exits des HTGF.

Klaus Lehmann, Partner beim HTGF

Hendrik Sämisch, Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Next Kraftwerke, blickt ebenfalls positiv auf die Zusammenarbeit zurück.

Der High-Tech Gründerfonds war von Anfang an ein verlässlicher und starker Partner für den Aufbau unseres Unternehmens, ohne dessen Vertrauen und persönliche Zuwendung in unsere Idee wir nicht den großen Erfolg der letzten zehn Jahre erzielt hätten. Nun sind wir gespannt auf das nächste Kapitel in unserer Unternehmensentwicklung, bei dem wir mit einem global agierenden Energiekonzern kooperieren, um die Energiewende weiter voranzutreiben.

Hendrik Sämisch, Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Next Kraftwerke

Über Details der Transaktion wurde Stillschweigen vereinbart. Hier geht es zu der Pressemitteilung von Shell.

*Shell Overseas Investment B.V.

Über Next Kraftwerke GmbH
Next Kraftwerke betreibt als digitaler Versorger eines der größten Virtuellen Kraftwerke in Europa. Im Next Pool sind tausende dezentrale Stromerzeuger und -verbraucher über eine Plattform vernetzt und somit über das eigens entwickelte Leitsystem steuerbar. Mit der vernetzten Erzeugungsleistung trägt Next Kraftwerke zum Ausgleich von Frequenzschwankungen im Netz bei. Zusätzlich optimiert das Kölner Unternehmen Stromproduktion und -verbrauch der vernetzten Kunden anhand von Preissignalen und handelt über den eigenen 24/7-Stromhandel deren Strom an verschiedenen europäischen Börsen (z.B. EPEX und EEX). https://www.next-kraftwerke.de/

Medienkontakt
Next Kraftwerke GmbH
Jan Aengenvoort, Unternehmenssprecher
Tel: +49 (0) 221 – 82 00 85 – 855
aengenvoort@next-kraftwerke.de

Über Shell New Energies
Shell hat im Jahr 2016 seinen Geschäftsbereich “New Energies” gegründet. Shell New Energies konzentriert sich auf zwei Hauptbereiche: auf neue Kraftstoffe für den Verkehr – wie moderne Biokraftstoffe und Wasserstoff – sowie auf Strom – von der Stromerzeugung über den Kauf und Verkauf bis hin zur direkten Versorgung der Kunden. Shell ist bestrebt, das Stromgeschäft zu einem signifikanten Geschäftsfeld auszubauen. Shell New Energies baut auf die Stärken des Unternehmens und nutzt diese in schnell wachsenden, gewerblichen Teilen der Energiewirtschaft. Dafür sollen bis 2020 im Durchschnitt jährlich1 bis 2 Milliarden Dollar in entsprechende Projekte investiert werden.   

http://www.shell.de/energie-und-innovation

Medienkontakt
Shell Deutschland Oil GmbH
Cornelia Wolber
T.: +49 (0) 40 –6324 – 5290
shellpresse@shell.com

Über Neuhaus Partners
Neuhaus Partners GmbH mit Sitz in Hamburg ist eine early stage Venture-Capital-Gesellschaft. Seit der Gründung in 1998 wurden 59 Beteiligungen eingegangen – bei 49 ist Neuhaus Partners als Lead-Investor eingestiegen. Track Record: zwei IPOs, fünfunddreißig Trade Sales, acht Buy Backs, dreizehn Insolvenzen.

Medienkontakt
Neuhaus Partners GmbH
Matthias Grychta
T.: +49 (0) 40 – 355 282 24
grychta@neuhauspartners.com

Über Shortcut Ventures
Dirk Freise und Martin Ostermayer sind die Gründer von handy.de und blau.de (beide erfolgreich verkauft) und seit 15 Jahren investieren sie als Business Angels oder über ihren Venture Capital Fonds Shortcut Ventures in Startups. Zu den bekanntesten Investments in ihrem Portfolio zählen SumUp, tado, Stocard und Sdui.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 600 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Fast 3 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.700 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 120 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, Drillisch AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter
T.: +49228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Gregor Haidl, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 823 00 115
k.lehmenn@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
9. August 2022

Mobile Learning Start-up doinstruct erhält siebenstellige Finanzierung vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und Born2Grow

Mitarbeiterschulung, Integration und Kommunikation neu gedacht: doinstruct entwickelt eine niedrigschwellige, mehrsprachige, mobile Schulungslösung für Frontlineworker. Die Software ermöglicht es Unternehmen, ihre Mitarbeitenden sowie Dienstleister lieferkettenübergreifend und ortsunabhängig auf dem Smartphone zu schulen. Mit den neuen, starken Partnern möchte doinstruct die Mitarbeiterschulung in Unternehmen revolutionieren und die Produktentwicklung sowie die Expansion des Unternehme
 
Presse
27. Juli 2022

Energiewende-Startup node.energy erhält 7 Mio. Euro in Series-A-Finanzierung

Insgesamt vier neue Investoren steigen in das Unternehmen ein und auch Bestandsinvestoren wie der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und renommierte Business Angels bringen erneut frisches Kapital ein. Die Auswahl der vier neuen Investoren der Series-A erfolgte dabei ganz bewusst. So wird die Finanzierungsrunde angeführt vom Kölner VC BitStone Capital, dem führenden PropTech Fund mit starker Expertise in der Immobilienbranche. Als Co-Investoren bringen die 10x Founders umfassende Erfahrung
 
Presse
12. Juli 2022

Embedded-Security-Startup Emproof sichert sich 2 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung von europäischem Investorenkonsortium

Eindhoven/Bochum, 12. Juni 2022 – Emproof B.V. hat erfolgreich eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde über 2 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen, die es dem Unternehmen ermöglicht, seine Produktpalette weiter auszubauen und Kunden in Europa und den USA zu bedienen. Angeführt wird die Finanzierungsrunde von der niederländischen Investmentgesellschaft TIIN Capital über ihren Dutch Security TechFund, zusammen mit dem deutschen High-Tech Gründerfonds und dem französischen Venture-Capital-Fonds Cyber Imp