Press

Successful exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds and Bayern Kapital –
Proteintech acquires ChromoTek

  • Proteintech, which is based in Chicago, Illinois, USA, is the benchmark in antibodies
  • Martinsried-based startup ChromoTek is a market leader in nanobodies
  • The acquisition enables Proteintech to expand its next-generation antibody tools
  • Bayern Kapital and HTGF arranged the seed financing in 2010
  • The transaction marks HTGF’s 10th successful exit during the coronavirus crisis

High-Tech Gründerfonds and Bayern Kapital have sold their shares in ChromoTek after having spent 10 years at the start-up’s side. ChromoTek is the market leader in nanobodies — high-performance recombinant reagents that are used for breakthrough research discoveries. The combined companies will better address the industry’s growing opportunities and challenges in single cell analysis, super resolution imaging, and multiplex assays.

Our fit-for-purpose nanobody-based tools perfectly complement the comprehensive antibody coverage of the proteome that Proteintech offers. It is exciting to be working together with a company that shares our values in reproducibility and quality for the benefit of research and beyond.

Dr. Marion Jung, CEO of ChromoTek

This new partnership will deliver considerable value to the market. With global manufacturing across three continents, not only will we serve the research market better, but we’ll also deeply impact translational science and therapeutic applications.

Dr. Jason Li, CEO of Proteintech

ChromoTek was founded in 2008 as a spin-off from the Ludwig Maximilian University (LMU) of Munich. It all began when researchers discovered the opportunities presented by alpaca single-domain antibodies also known as nanobodies. Researchers at LMU eventually succeeded in generating extremely efficient tools to bridge cell biology work with comprehensive proteomic analysis. The respective tools for immunoprecipitation were called Nano-Traps. The outstanding performance of the Nano-Traps and the high level of demand led to the company’s foundation.

ChromoTek’s single domain antibody platform offers unique advantages in high value applications where other antibody formats would reach their limits and gave rise to a portfolio of gold standard, ready to use reagents for immunoprecipitation, protein purification and high-resolution microscopy. The use of these products led to a plethora of new discoveries and is documented in over 2.700 scientific publications.

A big thank you for the real pleasure to work together for 10 years since our seed investment with an equally competent and dedicated founder and management team. All the best for the new future with the Proteintech Group.

Dr. Bernd Goergen, Partner with High-Tech Gründerfonds

About Bayern Kapital
Bayern Kapital GmbH, based in Landshut, was founded on the initiative of the Bavarian government in 1995. It is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Bavarian LfA Förderbank . As the venture capital organisation of the Land of Bavaria, Bayern Kapital provides equity capital financing for the founders of young innovative technology companies in Bavaria.
Presently Bayern Kapital manages thirteen investment funds with a total volume of around €500m. So far, it has invested roughly €330m in about 280 innovative companies in the fields of technology in various sectors including life science, software & IT, medical technology, materials and new materials, nanotechnology and environmental technology.
In this way, more than 7500 long-term jobs in sustainable companies have been created in Bavaria.
www.bayernkapital.de

Press Contact Bayern Kapital:
IWK Communication Partner
Andreas Klein / Dominik Neumüller
T.: +49 89 20003030
bayernkapital@iwk-cp.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge almost 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected over EUR 2.6 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,600 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 100 companies.

Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and 32 companies. Our Fund Investors
www.htgf.de/en

Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Bernd Goergen, Partner
T.: + 49 228 82300136
b.goergen@htgf.de

Presse

Erfolgreicher Exit für den High-Tech Gründerfonds and Bayern Kapital –
Proteintech übernimmt ChromoTek

  • Proteintech, mit Sitz in Chicago, Illinois, USA, ist ein führender Hersteller von Antikörpern
  • Das Startup ChromoTek aus Martinsried ist Marktführer für Forschungs-Nanobodies
  • Die Übernahme ermöglicht Proteintech sein Portfolio an Antikörper-Technologien der nächsten Generation zu erweitern
  • Bayern Kapital und HTGF arrangierten die Seed-Finanzierung im Jahr 2010
  • Für den HTGF ist es der 10. erfolgreiche Exit während der Corona-Krise

Der High-Tech Gründerfonds und Bayern Kapital haben ihre Anteile an ChromoTek nach 10 Jahren an der Seite des Start-ups veräußert. ChromoTek ist Marktführer für Forschungs-Nanobodies – hochleistungsfähige rekombinante Reagenzien, die für bahnbrechende Forschungsentdeckungen eingesetzt werden. Gemeinsam werden die beiden Unternehmen noch besser dem wachsenden Forschungsmarkt und Herausforderungen der Kunden gerecht, z.B. in den Applikationen Einzelzellanalyse, hochauflösende Mikroskopie und Multiplex-Assays.

Unsere anwendungsoptimierten, auf Nanobodies basierenden Forschungsreagenzien, ergänzen perfekt die breite Abdeckung des Proteoms durch das Antikörperportfolio von Proteintech. Es ist sehr motivierend und inspirierend, mit einem Unternehmen zusammenzuarbeiten, das unsere Werte in Bezug auf Reproduzierbarkeit und Qualität zum Wohle der Forschung unserer Kunden und darüber hinaus teilt.

Dr. Marion Jung, CEO von ChromoTek

Diese neue Partnerschaft ist von großer Bedeutung für den Antikörpermarkt und wird einen beträchtlichen Wertbeitrag liefern. Mit globalen Produktionskapazitäten auf drei Kontinenten werden wir nicht nur den Forschungsmarkt besser bedienen, sondern auch die trans-lationale Wissenschaft sowie therapeutische Anwendungen nachhaltig beeinflussen.

Dr. Jason Li, CEO von Proteintech

ChromoTek wurde 2008 als Spin-off der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München gegründet, um Anwendungsfelder von Alpaka-Single-Domain-Antikörper, sogenannte Nanobodies, näher zu untersuchen. Den Forschern der LMU gelang es schließlich, äußerst effiziente Werkzeuge zu entwickeln, um zellbiologische Arbeiten mit umfassender Proteomanalyse zu verbinden. Die hervorragende Leistung der sogenannten Nano-Traps und die große Nachfrage führten zur Gründung des Unternehmens.

Die von ChromoTek entwickelte Single-Domain Antikörper Plattform bietet einzigartige Vorteile für anspruchsvolle Anwendungen bei denen herkömmliche Antikörper-Formate an ihre Grenzen stoßen. Das Portfolio von gebrauchsfertigen Reagenzien hat sich zum Gold-Standard für die Immunpräzipitation, Proteinreinigung und hochauflösende Mikroskopie entwickelt. Mehr als 2.700 wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und eine Vielzahl neuer Forschungsergebnisse dokumentieren die Nutzung der ChromoTek-Produkte.

Vielen Dank für die wirkliche Freude über 10 Jahre seit unserem Seedinvestment mit einem ebenso kompetenten wie engagierten Gründer- und Managementteam zusammenarbeiten zu dürfen. Alles Gute für die neue Zukunft mit der Proteintech Group.

Dr. Bernd Goergen, Partner beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Über Bayern Kapital
Die Bayern Kapital GmbH mit Sitz in Landshut wurde auf Initiative der Bayerischen Staatsregierung 1995 als 100-prozentige Tochtergesellschaft der LfA Förderbank Bayern gegründet. Bayern Kapital stellt als Venture-Capital-Gesellschaft des Freistaats Bayern den Gründern innovativer High-Tech-Unternehmen und jungen, innovativen Technologieunternehmen in Bayern Beteiligungskapital zur Verfügung. Bayern Kapital verwaltet derzeit dreizehn Beteiligungsfonds mit einem Beteiligungsvolumen von rund 500 Millionen Euro. Bislang hat Bayern Kapital rund 330 Millionen Euro Beteiligungskapital in rd. 280 innovative technologieorientierte Unternehmen aus verschiedensten Branchen investiert, darunter Life Sciences, Software & IT, Werkstoffe & Neue Materialien, Nanotechnologie sowie Umwelttechnologie. So sind in Bayern über 7.500 Arbeitsplätze dauerhaft in zukunftsfähigen Unternehmen entstanden. www.bayernkapital.de

Pressekontakt Bayern Kapital
IWK GmbH
Andreas Klein / Dominik Neumüller
T.: +49 89 20003030
bayernkapital@iwk-cp.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 fast 600 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Über 2,6 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.600 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 100 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die 32 Unternehmen. Die Fondsinvestoren
https://www.htgf.de/de/

Kontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Bernd Goergen, Partner
T.: + 49 228 82300136
b.goergen@htgf.de